We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tequilas Bar & Botanas

Tequilas Bar & Botanas
Boulevard de Los Heroes & Avenida Sisimiles, San Salvador 0544, El Salvador
503-2211-3333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 160 Restaurants in San Salvador
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Excellent Mexican Cuisine and more than 60 kinds of tequila. A fun environment accompanied with live music. Restaurant is located inside of hotel Real InterContinental San Salvador
Restaurant details
Description: Excellent Mexican Cuisine and more than 60 kinds of tequila. A fun environment accompanied with live music. Restaurant is located inside of hotel Real InterContinental San Salvador
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had a late night dinner on a Sunday and it was pretty good. Service was great and drinks well prepared. Understand this restaurant has regularly lunch specials weekdays. Will try that next time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Gerente at Tequilas Bar & Botanas, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Cruz, un placer saludarle en este inicio de año, esperando que esté lleno de muchos éxitos y bendiciones. Le agradecemos el tiempo invertido en hacernos llegar su comentario de su reciente visita a nuestro restaurante Tequilas Bar & Botanas. Nos complace mucho el haber hecho placentera su visita y esperamos poder tenerle con nosotros nuevamente.
Saludos Cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“They do not know what an Enchilada is here and overuse red beans to the extreme. What is this place really? Not Mexican.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Ate at this place on Christmas Eve. Ordered the Enchiladas and was presented a fried flauta type meal that was not even close to being an Enchilada. Refused the entree.

My wife ordered a all you can eat plate that was impossible to tell what it was supposed to be as it was stuffed with red beans with a side of red beans. Poor dish and even poorer explanation of what they are serving which seems to be some type of Salvadoran version of what they think is Mexican food. I will never eat here again and intend to tell all 500 or so of my friends living in San Salvador about my experience.

This was maybe the worse Mexican food (or interpretation of it) I have eaten in my life. I have lived in Mexico and Central America as well as LA and San Diego for my entire adult life and I know Mexican food when I see it.

Please tell me this is Salvadoran Fussion Mexican or something else. Not a Mexican place at all.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nice food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Not what I expected given the location and the prices, it was good mexican food but nothing too special. The staff was very professional

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Tequilas Bar & Botanas, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear emma10800, thank you for your review! We are grateful that you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We are working hard to offer great quality food. Thank you and please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Salvador
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

This place has good food at an affordable price. The live music on thursdays and fridays is great. It is a great relaxing and fun atmosphere to be in.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real-IC, Manager at Tequilas Bar & Botanas, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear SSHK, thank you for your review! We are delighted with your comments, please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tequilas Bar & Botanas also viewed

San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 

Been to Tequilas Bar & Botanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tequilas Bar & Botanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.