We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style, comfort, location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa ILB il Bongustaio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa ILB il Bongustaio to your Saves list
Casa ILB il Bongustaio
Boulevar Del Hipodromo #605, Colonia San Benito, San Salvador, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in San Salvador
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Style, comfort, location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

WHAT A DELIGHT!! It was the perfect way to finish our two week vacation in El Salvador. Casa ILB, our third and final stop. They were able to accomodate us last minute. From the moment we drove into the large circular courtyard we knew we were in for a pleasant experience.
As we walked into the lobby we were directed to double doors that lead to the boutique hotel living room area which is separated from the restaurant. We arrived a couple of hours before check in and were feeling alittle bit hungry and needed to relax. Roberto, the owner warmly welcomed us and invited us to have some lunch in his restaurant Buongustaio while they finished preparing our room. While having lunch, Roberto thoughtfully gave us our room keys and said, "this is so that you have the idea that your room is ready" It sounded better in spanish! What a charming man! Immediately, thereafter his staff advised us that our room was ready.

Buongustaio Restaurant:
The restaurant sits in the inner space of the open air area overlooking a lush green garden. Desiring a light lunch we ordered a refreshing italian bocconcini salad, tiramisu and Americano coffee as we enjoyed the breezy view of the well maintained tropical garden. We observed that the restaurant was always filled with well to do local Salvadoreans.
We regret not being able to enjoy a full course meal at Buongustaio, However, when our family and friends came to visit us one evening they were warmly welcomed by the staff and we entertained them with drinks at the restaurant bar. If you enjoy gin and tonic be prepared for a variety of flavoured gins and garnishes. A delight for me since it is one of my all time favourite drinks. Thank you Roberto and Rodolfo! In the mornings, in the separate hotel living room area, a small buffett of breakfast was laid out which consisted of croissants, cold cuts, muffins, toast, marmalade, as well, they prepared fresh ommelletes or eggs any style. Coffee, tea, Espresso, cappuccino's. My husband was at home! We ate our breakfast in the outdoor patio in the hotel area overlooking a peaceful garden. Too they had a perfect playlist every day. Excellent ambiance!!

Our room Suite 5: Sophistication! A vision of minimalism, colour and design! Ample room , walk-in organized closet, separate enclosed shower with rain shower head and privy. Wonderfully soft frette bed linens conveyed the feeling of home. We got a sneak view of some of the rooms and quite frankly, travellers will be quite content in any room. For Canadians and Americans who are used to paying $140.00 pn. for a standard room hotel stay, their rate is quite acceptable! You will not be disappointed. Keep in mind prices could be subject to change.

We would like to thank Rodolfo, hotel manager. Also, a charming, kind man. Most of all we would like to thank Roberto for an absolute wonderfull gift (Gran Regalazo) of " San Salvador, El esplendor de una gran ciudad ." We look forward to having dinner at Buongustaio during our next visit to this marvelous country. This property is close to all major shopping centres, restaurants, sights. The hotel will arrange for reliable, safe, taxi service.

Best Regards

Room Tip: Any room at Casa Ilb will satisfy the needs of any traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
14
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent our first night after landing in el Salvador here. Very quiet and peaceful. Huge modern clean all white rooms. Management very friendly. The restaurant at the hotel we heard from a number of sources is supposed to be fantastic. We landed too late to try it out but it looked very busy and it was filled with rich local people all looking like they were extremely satisfied with things. My only hesitation was that the price of the room in relation to the other hotels in el Salvador seemed a bit expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

With only 5 room ilB is very quiet and peaceful. The hotel is separated from the restaurant by the lobby so it feels completely separated. I stayed in room 1 which I believe is the largest and it was perhaps the larges hotel room I've ever had. Very nice furnishings and bathroom. In the middle of the public area is a sitting area with comfortable chairs and couches. The terrace is off the sitting area with 24 hr espresso. The yard is nice to look at with lush green grass. The restaurant also has a yard, but they are not connected. Continental breakfast was very good and the wifi worked perfectly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Skip the big hotel chains and book this home that was converted into an upscale boutique hotel. It has a quiet garden and elegant design that help you relax. Use this hotel and San Salvador as a base to travel around the country on day trips.

Booking
It's not easy to book this place. Find the email address and email Linda. It's worth it and they're reliable.

Location
It's in the zona rosa which is an upscale section of town. It's about a 15 minute drive to the old city. It's hard to find so print out a map or bring your gps. There is a door with a small sign. Knock on the door and it will open a quiet world of comfort.

Entry
The doorman opens the door and can help you with your luggage, but they're pretty relaxed. There's parking to the side and taxis are easy to get -- they call for you. There's no check in desk so the doormen can get someone if you need to ask a question.

Public Areas
There's a small but artful lobby. Then you entry a large lounge area that opens into a courtyard seating area.

Rooms
There are six or so rooms along a hallway. Rooms are very large with a living room, large bathroom and an king size bed. There's a 50-60 inch big screen TV and aircon.

Breakfast
It's included. Continental breakfast on the courtyard. It's a selection of pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee, etc. Nice to relax in a green, quiet space.

Dinner
The Italian restaurant connected to the hotel is one of the best restaurants in El Salvador. Great food and you don't have to drive.

Service
Excellent. Everyone took care of us from housekeeping to the doormen to the waiters. Special thanks to Tita for arranging everything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is such a great boutique hotel, with all the comfort you will need. Yes, it does not have a Gym nor swimming pool, which you will not miss. Due to the fact that the Rest. il Bongustaío is the main part of this complex, you will have the best italian food in central america, promissed! The italian chef Roberto will guarantee for that, trust me. The whole staff furthermore is very client orientated and will make your stay as comfortable as it can be.

Room Tip: Boutique Hotel only has 5 rooms, and all of them are great and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel two nights and I'm 100% convinced that no hotel in San Salvador can match the level of service, excellent food, beautiful rooms and quiet atmosphere of this Casa ilB. I'm coming back next time I'm going to San Salvador.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

I has to make a sudden reservation and I'm glad they recommended Il Bongustaio. A boutique hotel with the best acomodations in El Salvador at a very affordable price. The bar and restaurant are also incredible. I had an amazing experience with my wife and the owner, Roberto, definitely makes you feel like home. I am definitely staying there next time I visit El Salvador.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa ILB il Bongustaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa ILB il Bongustaio

Address: Boulevar Del Hipodromo #605, Colonia San Benito, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
#3 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#7 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa ILB il Bongustaio, located in the most vivid area of San Salvador, has a very modern and minimalistic, yet cozy, look. We offer our visitors a personalized and unique service, that makes them live an exclusive experience full of exquisite food, and comfortable suites. Relax is our favorite word, and we want you to enjoy it, by staying in our place, your place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa ILB il Bongustaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa ILB Il Bongustaio El Salvador/San Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa ILB il Bongustaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.