We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa ILB il Bongustaio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa ILB il Bongustaio to your Saves list
Casa ILB il Bongustaio
Boulevar Del Hipodromo #605, Colonia San Benito, San Salvador, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in San Salvador
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“First class small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

With only 5 room ilB is very quiet and peaceful. The hotel is separated from the restaurant by the lobby so it feels completely separated. I stayed in room 1 which I believe is the largest and it was perhaps the larges hotel room I've ever had. Very nice furnishings and bathroom. In the middle of the public area is a sitting area with comfortable chairs and couches. The terrace is off the sitting area with 24 hr espresso. The yard is nice to look at with lush green grass. The restaurant also has a yard, but they are not connected. Continental breakfast was very good and the wifi worked perfectly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
14
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Skip the big hotel chains and book this home that was converted into an upscale boutique hotel. It has a quiet garden and elegant design that help you relax. Use this hotel and San Salvador as a base to travel around the country on day trips.

Booking
It's not easy to book this place. Find the email address and email Linda. It's worth it and they're reliable.

Location
It's in the zona rosa which is an upscale section of town. It's about a 15 minute drive to the old city. It's hard to find so print out a map or bring your gps. There is a door with a small sign. Knock on the door and it will open a quiet world of comfort.

Entry
The doorman opens the door and can help you with your luggage, but they're pretty relaxed. There's parking to the side and taxis are easy to get -- they call for you. There's no check in desk so the doormen can get someone if you need to ask a question.

Public Areas
There's a small but artful lobby. Then you entry a large lounge area that opens into a courtyard seating area.

Rooms
There are six or so rooms along a hallway. Rooms are very large with a living room, large bathroom and an king size bed. There's a 50-60 inch big screen TV and aircon.

Breakfast
It's included. Continental breakfast on the courtyard. It's a selection of pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee, etc. Nice to relax in a green, quiet space.

Dinner
The Italian restaurant connected to the hotel is one of the best restaurants in El Salvador. Great food and you don't have to drive.

Service
Excellent. Everyone took care of us from housekeeping to the doormen to the waiters. Special thanks to Tita for arranging everything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is such a great boutique hotel, with all the comfort you will need. Yes, it does not have a Gym nor swimming pool, which you will not miss. Due to the fact that the Rest. il Bongustaío is the main part of this complex, you will have the best italian food in central america, promissed! The italian chef Roberto will guarantee for that, trust me. The whole staff furthermore is very client orientated and will make your stay as comfortable as it can be.

Room Tip: Boutique Hotel only has 5 rooms, and all of them are great and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel two nights and I'm 100% convinced that no hotel in San Salvador can match the level of service, excellent food, beautiful rooms and quiet atmosphere of this Casa ilB. I'm coming back next time I'm going to San Salvador.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

I has to make a sudden reservation and I'm glad they recommended Il Bongustaio. A boutique hotel with the best acomodations in El Salvador at a very affordable price. The bar and restaurant are also incredible. I had an amazing experience with my wife and the owner, Roberto, definitely makes you feel like home. I am definitely staying there next time I visit El Salvador.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed at the Bongustaio during a conference that took place in San Salvador in June. It is an elegant boutique hotel with only a few rooms that offers a cozy, home-like atmosphere. The service was fantastic, the rooms huge, tastefully chic and comfortable. I must say the beds were probably among the most comfortable I have had the chance to sleep in. Cristina, who managed the hotel when I was there was extremely helpful and friendly. Altogether, I would recommend Il Bongustaio to anyone seeking a hotel in San Salvador. Oh, and lest I forget, the food in the Italian restaurant of the same name is delicious.

Andres Salazar-

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

It was really pleasant and relaxing experience to stay at this hotel. After noisy and crowdy Intercontinental it was like oasis. I wouldn't even call it hotel in its standard meaning, it is a big villa, built in 70s, but it has been fully renovated receintly and equiped with stylish design furniture, etc. Hotel has only five rooms (all suites), which are stylish and very, very spaciuos. Territory of this boutique hotel is big, hotel has own garden, courtyard, spacious lounge zone. Hotel located in very quit and safe zone of the city- Zona Rosa. If you have to go to hotel by taxi, please have accurate adress, because hotel is new, and not all drivers know it. Hotel accomodates stylish italian cuisine restaurant, which I think is one of the best in the city, you can see it by people, who visit it:) It is really high level. And of course, not to forget to say special thanks to hotel owner, who was very friendly and helpful. So, this hotel itself is a reason to visit San Salvador city. I travel a lot, and only few hotels made me think like that:)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa ILB il Bongustaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa ILB il Bongustaio

Address: Boulevar Del Hipodromo #605, Colonia San Benito, San Salvador, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
#3 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#7 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa ILB il Bongustaio, located in the most vivid area of San Salvador, has a very modern and minimalistic, yet cozy, look. We offer our visitors a personalized and unique service, that makes them live an exclusive experience full of exquisite food, and comfortable suites. Relax is our favorite word, and we want you to enjoy it, by staying in our place, your place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa ILB il Bongustaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa ILB Il Bongustaio El Salvador/San Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa ILB il Bongustaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.