We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of hype for an okay restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Los Cebollines

Los Cebollines
Los Heroes | Urbanizacion San Ernesto, San Salvador 2260-2771, El Salvador
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 147 restaurants in San Salvador
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Unites States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A lot of hype for an okay restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I would give this place 3.5 stars if I could. Being from El Salvador I know first-hand that "Los Cebollines" is a very popular restaurant that a lot of people will recommend. The atmosphere is very fun and casual. However, I feel that although the service is usually excellent, and prices are okay, the food is nothing to write home about. There are a lot more authentic mexican restaurants out there than this place .

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    29
    23
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Go for breakfast on Saturdays and Sunday's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

The food is good and on Saturdays and Sunday's they have buffet style and the ambiance is fun!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“OK Mexican food, reasonable prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This restaurant has a lot of hype. One of our group, who is from El Salvador, suggested this. The highlight was the Mexican Flag salsa, made table side. The cook crushed the roasted tomatoes in a large mortar, and added the other spices and herbs, then topped it with cilantro on one side and onions down the middle, leaving the other side red. It was delicious. The food was so-so. I had the chicken with poblano mole. I have had better brown mole sauce. This seemed a little too sweet. Carol's grilled chicken was overcooked. One of our group really enjoyed the Enchiladas Suizas. Tender chicken and a tasty cream sauce. We sat at an outside table, as the heat of the day had calmed down and it was nice to eat outside in the cooling air.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Noisy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The shrimp dish I had featured 8 large shrimp wrapped in bacon and was delicious. I could only eat 4 so had some to share with friends around me. The live music, although nice, was so loud that we were all happy when their performance ended for the night. That's the only thing that keeps Los Cebollines from getting at least 4 stars from me. We've been there several times, and the food is always great.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mexican Denny's in El Salvador”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The beer selection/price was great. If you have been backpacking for the past month, eat here for a very casual environment (plastic booths) and cheap beer (by the yard)

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Cebollines also viewed

San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 

Been to Los Cebollines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Cebollines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.