We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Angel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Angel Hotel to your Saves list
Villa del Angel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Avenida norte #219, colonia Escalon, San Salvador 00106-8000, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in San Salvador
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Value, comfort, security, cleanliness ... Villa del Angel has it all.

I had a confirmation for months at one of the "chain" hotels, and based solely on TripAdvisor reviews, I changed to Villa del Angel just one week prior to my arrival. Thank you to all previous reviewers for influencing my decision. What a fantastic little hotel. Spotlessly clean, very comfortable, safe & secure, and a delicious breakfast (included).

Special mention and huge thanks to Jessica for arranging my airport pick up, tour with guide & driver, and return to the airport. All were right on time, and the tour was phenomenal (ask them to request Alfredo - a wonderful guide).

If you're travelling to San Salvador, stay at Villa del Angel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    33
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
51
34
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is not a large chain hotel and the prices reflect this. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and fairly basic. We felt very safe while we stayed here and we walked to restaurants and to the supermarket about 5 minutes away.
Jessica, Daniel and Grace are wonderful and did so much to make our stay enjoyable. My husband developed a nasty stomach bug while in El Salvador and Grace arranged for electrolytes to be given to him on the day we checked out because we were travelling.
Jessica arranged for us to take a tour to the Flowers Route and we had a great day out.
If you dont like staying in big hotels (and we don't) then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I can't write enough good things about this place--the location, the staff, the amenities. Daniel, Grace, William, and Jessica and the rest of the staff are extremely attentive to their guests. I've had the pleasure of staying here on two separate trips (October 2012 & January 2013), and I will be staying here each time I return to El Salvador. I would describe the rooms as modern, simple, comfortable, and tasteful. A nice feature is that you can control the temperature of the water in the showers. Many hotels in El Salvador only offer cold or luke-warm water, so if you're traveling from Europe or North America, this small detail will probably matter to you! Breakfast is included in the price of the room. The breakfasts are nicely portioned and a great way to start your day. Another perk of this place is that you can rent a car directly through the owner. This is hugely convenient. I rented a car on both trips and I've never had any issues with the rentals. The hotel is located close to Galerias Mall and nearby restaurants and other shops. They will also provide you transportation to and from the airport if you let them know in advance that you need it. My thanks to Daniel & Grace and the entire staff for truly making me feel special and important each time I stay. See you in April! Sincerely, Chrade Y.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here after arriving in San Salvador. The location was great for getting our bearings and feeling safe. The hotel has a nice vibe and friendly staff, some of which speak English. I would say the rooms are fairly priced- but you get what you pay for..the rooms are quite basic and the bathroom a bit on the small side, but I knew I wasn't staying at the Four Seasons (or paying that room rate). We really enjoyed the beakfast. A good choice of Western or El Salvadorian food.
As an added bonus, we were able to rent a car directly from the hotel owner, avoiding what I've heard can be a lengthy and sometimes dissapointing experience at one of the big rental companies. This worked out really well for us and probably made our trip to El Salvador! (Thanks Daniel).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Having read the reviews on trip advisor I expected this hotel to be really good. I was disappointed. The room is very small and the bathroom extremely small. The shower is electric and has low pressure and the thermostat fluctuates meaning you get extremely hot water sometimes. The soap dish was broken when we arrived and fixed on our last night (we stayed 3 nights). The receptionist (who I later found out was a very recent employee) was not very helpful when I had a complaint about a tour I had organised with the hotel. It was only when I got assertive with her that she agreed to phone the tour operator to try and sort my problem out.

The breakfast is adequate - the location extremely safe next to a big shopping mall .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I loved my stay at this hotel. Everything about the hotel was good. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was good including the service. The hotel is near a mall that includes many fine stores and a Starbucks. Daniel and Grace will help you with your travel and where you want to go. You will be safe in this area. Go and enjoy yourself for work or business. I was there solo.

Room Tip: Used American dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preverenges
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Staff was very nice and helpful, good deal and good location, I can recommend you to stay there. The place is also very cosy and it changes from big hotels, at Villa del Angel you will be a guest as if you were a close friend. I liked it a lot.

Room Tip: All rooms are good I guess, not very big but good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Angel Hotel

Address: 71 Avenida norte #219, colonia Escalon, San Salvador 00106-8000, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Salvador
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
#5 Family Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa del Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new and modern hotel, located in one of the most important area of San Salvador (Colonia Escalón). In Villa del Angel we offer a personalized attention, comfortable rooms and all our help to make your business or pleasure trip the best that you ever have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa del Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Angel Hotel El Salvador/San Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Angel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.