We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Angel Hotel to your Saves list
Villa del Angel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 Avenida norte #219, colonia Escalon, San Salvador 00106-8000, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Feels like home :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is by far one of the best places I have ever stayed. Daniel and Grace offer such a lovely and warm welcome, will help you with anything and are always a joy to have around. Perfect location and super clean! Excellent rooms and staff. It just feels like home...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    39
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
55
38
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honduras
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I recently stayed in Villa del Angel and I'm a very picky hotel guest. This hotel is a jewel, is cozy and the staff is the most amicable I have found so far of all hotels I've stayed in the world. The hotel is relatively new and is very well maintained. It is a perfect fit for business travelers that do not spend too much time inside the hotel. I would say the best part of it would be the service and how attentive and dedicated the staff are. Food, internet connection and overall infrastructure is very nice. Thanks a lot for a nice stay, I will most likely come back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were so glad we stayed here and had more of a Salvadoran experience than we would have had at a big, sterile international chain hotel. The service was impeccable here, with owners Daniel and Grace living on site and willing to help with whatever we needed. We basically planned our entire trip's itinerary with just a few e-mails back and forth with Grace, who set up our airport transfer and tours (which were great, by the way) with ease.
The rooms were really nice and clean, and at a third of the price of the big-name hotels in town, we got a bargain. The air conditioner worked very well, and the flat-screen TV had a mix of English, German, Italian, and Spanish channels.
Breakfast each morning was cooked to order and delicious.
The neighborhood was very safe; we walked around each night without any problem. And should you need any supplies, there are two supermarkets within walking distance. Also, the mall across the street has high-end international-brand shops, and there are international chain restaurants everywhere (which we avoided, but if that's your thing, you'll have plenty of options).
We stayed here for three days and used it as a launching point to see the rest of the country. I definitely would stay here again if I needed to be in San Salvador. But if I were planning a trip to see the entire country, I would stay here for the part of the trip around San Salvador and then maybe stay in a beach town and a mountain town for other nights of the trip.
Overall, we were greatly satisfied and thankful to have stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Daniel, Grace, Danielito, Carlos, Lucy, Mercedes and Carlos are all honest and give great service.
Second stay this year. I woundn,t stay anywhere else in this area. Great location near Galerias Mall.
Prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

This was my first of many trips to San Salvador and I was very lucky to discover Villa Del Angel via the Trip Advisor network. Grace and Daniel are deserving of their many excellent ratings. The location is centralized and perfect. The hotel is pristine, the wireless internet worked perfectly, and the hot breakfast provided is outstanding. The staff will even cook to order a fantastic custom dinner if you desire. Everyone bends over backwards to make sure your needs are met. Security is no problem; a guard is on duty 24/7. Grace arranged for a taxi to the airport. Note: If you are visiting San Salvador for the first time, the airport is actually in the next town, about 30-35 miles away. For my future visits to San Salvador, I will undoubtedly stay at Villa Del Angel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Four of us were backpacking and decided to splurge and stay in a nice hotel. This place definitely met our expectations. Dan and Grace are amazing hosts and help you with everything you need. Make sure to ask Dan to take you for Italian Hamburgers!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We recently spent a whole week with the great people at Villa del Angel. I used to live in El Salvador and decided to bring my wife down for a visit. I decided to give this hotel a try based on the great reviews it had and because of its location. This hotel is located in a great area in the capital. It is in lower Colonia Escalon. Although many of the areas in the capital look the same to the untrained eye, they are not created equal. The area high up in Escalon seems quite nice because of all the other large hotels, but it tends to be a hotspot for thieves because of all the tourists. The Villa del Angel is in a very decent part of the city, without sticking out like a target. It is also only a block from Las Galerias mall and within walking distance of a huge number of restaurants and shops.
It is a smaller hotel (about 10 rooms), but is extremely clean and comfortable. It comes with the usual amenities: A/C, large flat screen, hot water, Wi-fi, secure parking, and 24 hour guard service. It also comes with delicious home made breakfasts. This is definitely not a crumby continental breakfast. Each breakfast is cooked to order (practically anytime you want) by the great staff here.
I would say the one thing that really sets this hotel apart from any other is the hospitality. The staff is very friendly, and will do anything necessary to make your stay comfortable. We ended up renting a car from the hotel, and they we kind enough to come pick us up at the airport. They also washed, dried, and ironed some clothing we had. The cook was kind enough to make us breakfast whenever we were ready for it, and would have it set up for us whether we wanted to eat in the dining room, on the patio, or in our room. It seemed like they were always excited to help. They were all very friendly and I enjoyed visiting with everyone here and getting to know them. You don't feel like you are in a hotel, but rather a guest in someone's home. I am not really sure if the staff speaks english. I prefer to only speak in spanish when in El Salvador, but I wouldn't be surprised if at least some of them were bilingual. They all seem quite educated and intelligent.
We had a few friends over to the hotel who were also visiting from the states, but staying in other local hotels. All of them came to the same conclusion we did. Don't waste your time or money anywhere else. Stay at the Villa del Angel Hotel, and it will be the highlight of your trip.

Room Tip: Just be sure to let them know how many are in your party. There is a broad selection of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Angel Hotel

Address: 71 Avenida norte #219, colonia Escalon, San Salvador 00106-8000, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Salvador
#6 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#8 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa del Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new and modern hotel, located in one of the most important area of San Salvador (Colonia Escalón). In Villa del Angel we offer a personalized attention, comfortable rooms and all our help to make your business or pleasure trip the best that you ever have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa del Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Angel Hotel El Salvador/San Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Angel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.