We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and simple” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meson de Maria

Hotel Meson de Maria
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Meson de Maria to your Saves list
Hotel Meson de Maria
Boulevard del hipodromo No 301, Colonia San Benito, San Salvador, El Salvador, San Salvador 503, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in San Salvador
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good and simple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed in this hotel while on my way to Nicaragua from Guatemala. The bus dropped me off in the front door and after confirming the next morning's bus to Nicaragua, dropped my backpack off and realxed a bit. There is a small restaurant area, though I didn't eat there. The place is nice, clean overall, though the room where I stayed in was a little cramped. The door would barely open because the twin beds in it were too close to it.

Room Tip: If travelling with Ticabus, stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
2
9
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is incredibly convenient if you are traveling via TICA bus, and the quality was better than I had expected. I thought since it was such easy business for them it wouldn't be very nice, but was happy to see the rooms were clean, showers had hot water, and there was free WIFI. There are probably cheaper places to stay, but this is a great option in a safe neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed here for one night on our trip from Nicaragua to Guatemala. If you are travelling with Tica bus this hotel is a good option as the bus stops right outside it, and there is a Tica bus office at the ground level. The rooms are large, have wifi, and the standard is ok considering the price (USD 32 for an "executive rooom" if you are a Tica passenger). There are restaurants in the area such as Wendy's and Pizza Hut, probably som nicer restaurants as well. Few in the staff speaks english.

Would not have stayed here if I were to stay in San Salvadore for more than the night in relation to travelling with Tica, then I would have chosen a nicer hotel closer to shopping etc, especially as the staff told us that it was not safe to just get a taxi of the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Hotel de Maria was where we stayed during our few days in San Salvador. The hotel is in situated in an excellent location (Zona Rosa), very safe, walking distance to many restaurants and other hotels. It is also right by the Tica Bus (Central America transportation) ticket terminal. The facility is very clean, staff is very friendly, our room was towards the back so very quiet, the room size is good, has AC and free wi-fi. There is a very nice patio that is used as a dining area, but in between our excursions we used to sit there and relax with a drink. We stayed there the first two nights, then returned for the last night before we left the country.
It was refreshing to stay in an unassuming place where you actually can get to meet the locals and stay away from big hotel chains. If you are looking for luxury, this place is not for you. But if you want good value, a clean place, friendly staff and something a bit low key, this hotel definitely won't disappoint.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

very nice hotel, very clean, the staff is very friendly. the location is excellent and safe. excellent price for passenger bus!

Room Tip: good price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Overpriced and basic.
staff don't seem to know anything nor are very helpful.
Too much easy business from Ticabus I suspect
Only worth staying I would say if you are two or more people wanting a room together and are travelling on with Tica. For that, it is undeniably convenient and the easiest best option.
otherwise, single travellers, try Hostel Australiano down 500m down the road near plaza beethoven

Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Magnolias
Hotel Las Magnolias
#6 of 50 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
#11 of 50 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Suites Las Palmas
Clarion Suites Las Palmas
#8 of 50 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Posada Del Angel
Hotel La Posada Del Angel
#10 of 50 in San Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
2.4 mi away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
#13 of 50 in San Salvador
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meson de Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson de Maria

Address: Boulevard del hipodromo No 301, Colonia San Benito, San Salvador, El Salvador, San Salvador 503, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Meson de Maria is the answer to the continuing search for low-cost hotel options in an atmosphere, comfortable, hygienic and safe facilities to make you feel right at home. Run by friendly and qualified staff. It has restaurant services, bar and cafe, laundry service, taxis international transportation, car rental etc ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Meson de Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Meson De Maria El Salvador/San Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meson de Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.