We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short visit but a long satisfaction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison Hotel de la Escalon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Morrison Hotel de la Escalon to your Saves list
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Nueva 1 #3889 | Colonia Escalon, San Salvador 1101, El Salvador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Coffee 24 hours
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in San Salvador
1 review
“A short visit but a long satisfaction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a very clean hotel. Ambiance feels like you were at home. Food was delicious, the service and kindness of employees, especially the receptionist Dori was outstanding, and the hotel location was walking distance to a shopping mall.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
16
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

This is a nice budget hotel in good location of San Salvador. The hotel is very neat and clean. It provides all the basic requirements that one needs when staying away from the comfort of home. The staff in the front desk are really very helpful and cooperative. Even though they do not understand English, but they will try their best to understand your needs. One lady, named Ms Cecilia Molina, is really very very helpful. She speaks fluent English -- so if you come across to her, you will be fine. They helped me getting my airport transfer both ways. Also they helped me in arranging my trip to "Santa Ana de Volcan, Cerro Verde National Park". The hotel also provides breakfast of your choice from four different options.

Room Tip: Get room in the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

The hotel used to be a private property, and all the interior decorations make you feel like you are in someone's home, which is a great experience. The owner and the staff are all very friendly and helpful, they treat each other like families and they take great care of their customers. I got two free rides from the owner during my two nights stay.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We had a very comfortable two individual nights here (separated by visit to Quirigua, Guatemala
and Copan, Honduras). The room is very comfortable (we stayed on main floor so no view at all! but safe and secure). The air conditioner worked but as we're not ac loving people, we did not do well with the lowest setting as the ac noisily cycled off and on all night. On our return visit, we asked for a fan and the front desk was very helpful in getting us one: problem solved!
There is a very nice public living room/sitting area with magazines and a computer for guests to use. The included breakfast was very nice and served in a pleasant courtyard by the outdoor pool. While we didn't have time to try the pool, it looked inviting, although it was not large!
We walked one night the block to the supermarket and the man at the front desk watched out
for us to make sure that we made it there and back! Staff was very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

This place is very quaint. The staff are extremely helpful and service minded at all times. From opening doors, room service, holding an umbrella out for us when it was raining to assisting us to back up our car during high traffic hours. Its was very easygoing. Once you are in your room you feel right at home. I will comeback to the hotel.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I do not rate the hotel 5 stars simply becuase it has no real restuarant for dinner, but beside that inconvenience of not having a place to dine the rest of the hotel is very cosy and clean but most important secure and real quite at night..it was very covience for us to move around the city by private taxi..what makes this hotel special is the people working. .They are just wonderful and go out of their way to help, can not say enough about them..big mall is only a 3 blocka away and super market is just a block away..they provide us with a private taxi and taxi man was very polite and trustworthy. Everything work at the hotel WiFi the hot water and the A/C..I would defently stay here again!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Cannot imagine why anyone would want to search further than the Morrison Hotel. My husband and I recently spent 10 days at this wonderful hotel while helping our son relocate to San Salvador. We speak no Spanish but because of Gretchen, the hotel's manager, who speaks fluent English and Spanish, we were able to navigate through the city. Our son needed identification documents (which can be a difficult process in El Salvador) and Gretchen not only sent us to the right places, but copied and emailed a multitude of documents for our son to facilitate working thru this process. Gretchen's suggestion of taxi service turned out to be our salvation, as our driver Manuel (bi-lingual) was with us for almost the full ten days and assisted us in every way possible. Gretchen's restaurant suggestions were also great-one we frequented four times since it was only a few blocks from the hotel. Hotel Morrison was our first introduction to the sweetness and helpfulness of the people of El Salvador. The hotel staff (every one of them) went out of their way to assist us and to make us feel at home, and the hotel became our home away from home. The hotel is a former home, complete with beautiful furnishings. A highlight of our stay was the morning breakfast- we dined outdoors at their patio/pool area. The food was great-the menu with its photos (for those of us who do not speak Spanish!) was large and the start of every day was so positive and friendly. We also had food delivered two nights , as we were too tired to go out. Once again, the hotel staff helped us with the necessaries and cleanup. The "can do" attitude was so refreshing! If safety is a concern, you need not worry. The hotel is secured 24 hours a day and located in a safe and comfortable neighborhood. When I come back to San Salvador to visit my son, I may stay with him (and if so I will miss EVERYONE at the hotel), but I recommend Hotel Morrison without qualification.. This is a WONDERFUL place!

Janelle Pasch
Madison, WI, USA

Room Tip: Each room(about 16) is different-a great variety to chose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Morrison Hotel de la Escalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison Hotel de la Escalon

Address: Calle Nueva 1 #3889 | Colonia Escalon, San Salvador 1101, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Salvador
#9 Family Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morrison Hotel de la Escalon 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Salvador's Zona Rosa district, this hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, free Wi-Fi and free onsite parking. It offers air-conditioned accommodation with free breakfast, and an airport shuttle service is available.All rooms at Morrison Hotel de la Escalon feature a simple, contemporary decor with tiled floors. Each includes cable TV and a telephone with free local calls. The private bathroom has a selection of toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Morrison Hotel de la Escalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel De La Escalon El Salvador/San Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison Hotel de la Escalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.