We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison Hotel de la Escalon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Morrison Hotel de la Escalon to your Saves list
Morrison Hotel de la Escalon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Nueva 1 #3889 | Colonia Escalon, San Salvador 1101, El Salvador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Coffee 24 hours
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in San Salvador
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Like staying with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is humble but nice.

Pros:
-Breakfast: delicious & authentic, also FREE (included)
-Location: close to a lot of attractions and restaurants
-Friendliness of the staff, especially the security guards - they do everything
-Clean
-They secure your car and help you with places to park
- Making local calls was no problem
- Free wifi with 3 connection options, loved that!

Cons:
-No hairdryer
-Keys were bulky
-No shelves in the shower
-No in-room safe with a lock

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor. There seems to be no elevators but that wasn't a problem for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonHotel D, Manager at Morrison Hotel de la Escalon, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. The pros and cons are very helpful for potential customers and for us as well, to make improvements. We appreciate your review and that you chose to stay with us. Hope to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
16
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This place was great and from the beggining, I felt right at home. The staff were friendly, funny, and humble. The breakfast in the morning is amazing. Twice I had my clothes washed and they would fold everything nicely and have it ready for me in no time. The security guard was great and was always looking to help and answer any questions. When I come back to El Salvador, this is where I will stay!- Eli Flores

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonHotel D, Manager at Morrison Hotel de la Escalon, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Home away from home..that's the name of our game. Thank you so much for your review. We enjoy making our customers happy. Hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I am totally satisfied with this hotel, De la Escalon. What stuck out the most was definitely the service. The employees were very friendly and accommodating. My hotel room was very clean and well-arranged. The hotel is in a perfect setting and within walking distance of a lot of sites in San Salvador, so I could easily access to like everywhere such as restaurants, shopping centers, and so. I wish to go this hotel again and again. Thanks for providing me the great service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonHotel D, Manager at Morrison Hotel de la Escalon, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for the very nice review. We take pride in our hotel, especially service and cleanliness. Hope to see you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reseda, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Thanks to Gretchen, Dora, and all other staff members, my stay at the Morrison Hotel felt like I never left home. I was impressed by the friendliness and excellent custormer service. The staff was helpful in hiring a driver and making recommendations to make my trip a huge success. I plan on staying there every time I go back there. It is located in a great neighborhood close to restaurants, shopping centers, and othr places of interest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonHotel D, Manager at Morrison Hotel de la Escalon, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Your sweetness was appreciated throughout our hotel. We enjoyed serving you and look forward to your return visit! Thank you very much for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Thank you to the previous reviewers, you are the reason I selected this hotel and you didn't steer me wrong. The Hotel de la Escalon is small, and very friendly. It seems to be close to just about everything. What makes it really special for me is how they go above and beyond for the guests. I got to have a personally guided tour of the volcano by Gretchen and her daughter Anna and it was wonderful. Camilo (hope I spelled that correctly) and Gretchen love what they do, and it's reflected in how you're treated at their hotel. Two thumbs up from me

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonHotel D, Manager at Morrison Hotel de la Escalon, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We enjoyed seeing the boqueron with you. Hope all is well for you, and see ya on your next trip down!...G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

I like this little bed & breakfast. It is centrally located in San Salvador. The staff goes above and beyond and are always friendly, with a smile on the face. The room I had is a single, and i'll admit that it is small, but cozy and clean. The hotel has a pool, but it's more for cooling off than swimming as it is quite small, and there is a hot tub attached. They give you multiple breakfast choices and it's quite good. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisonHotel D, Manager at Morrison Hotel de la Escalon, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
What an excellent and informative review. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I felt really good visitng El Salvador and stayed at this hotel ! that I guess is visited for a lot of people of Guatemala because it´s nice and am glad to tell everyone the same things. Thank you very much for you hospitality ! ! !

Sweeet

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELDELAESCALON, Manager at Morrison Hotel de la Escalon, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Great people !! We love what we do!!!!!! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Morrison Hotel de la Escalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison Hotel de la Escalon

Address: Calle Nueva 1 #3889 | Colonia Escalon, San Salvador 1101, El Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Salvador
#9 Family Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morrison Hotel de la Escalon 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Salvador's Zona Rosa district, this hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, free Wi-Fi and free onsite parking. It offers air-conditioned accommodation with free breakfast, and an airport shuttle service is available.All rooms at Morrison Hotel de la Escalon feature a simple, contemporary decor with tiled floors. Each includes cable TV and a telephone with free local calls. The private bathroom has a selection of toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Morrison Hotel de la Escalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel De La Escalon El Salvador/San Salvador

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison Hotel de la Escalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.