We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kitschy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chernobyl National Museum

Chernobyl National Museum
Kharyvyj Pereulok,1, Kiev, Ukraine
+380 44 417 5422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 323 Attractions in Kiev
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“kitschy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

just not convinced of the whole set. doesn´t cost much, but didn´t impress me much either. I didn´t have an audio guide though. so maybe with it´s beter.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    35
    18
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
127 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Very educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This museum is dedicated to explaining the events that led to one of the world's worse nuclear disasters in 1986 when one of the reactors at the power station blew up. A good number of the exhibits are in English, although I would have taken an organised tour if I had had time. I overheard one taking place and the guide was extremely knowledgeable. There are also a number of computer screens, with interactive displays, and many, many photographs of the victims - both dead and those who continue to live with the effects of radiation poisoning. So it is not a museum to go to if you want a happy hour, but it is very thought-provocking and it only costs about £1.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Must be visited, especially in case you plan a Chernobyl tour.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A museum worthy to visit especially for those who plan a tour to Chernobyl. Have visited the museum 2-3 days before my Chernobyl tour and would suggest getting an audio guide.
The museum is not far from the metro station - have took the metro blue line and got off at Kontraktova Plosha and followed the tourist signs.
Following the audio guide steps, it was shocking to see an eight-legged pig while you feel sorry looking at the thousands of photos of children, victims of the Chernobyl disaster.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Thought provoking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great museum - entrance fee was definitely worth it. I would suggest getting an audio guide though, my friend and I got a little confused with the exhibits at the beginning. It's not far from the metro station either, so it's not hard to find.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina di Carrara
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Chernobyl Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I visited the museum the day before my tour to Chernobyl. Take the metro blue line and get off at Kontraktova Plosha .I can't remember which exit I took, but I found, looking at me the tourist sign indicating the way to the museum. Cheap entry fee and very interesting and well done .
If anyone is interested in going to Chernobyl I went with this operator : tour2chernobyl.ua. paid 130 € we where in 7 good number.
Pity that nor at the museum nor at Chernobyl there is the possibility to buy photos of the before and after or books, DVD ecc. I downloaded my info from Internet.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chernobyl National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Chernobyl National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chernobyl National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.