We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for Ukrainian and Russian cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Katyusha

Katyusha
Saksahanskoho St, 38, Kiev, Ukraine
(044) 287-41-66
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 869 Restaurants in Kiev
Cuisines: Russian, Ukrainian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great spot for Ukrainian and Russian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visited two Katyusha locations: across from the opera house and at the Pecherska metro station. The mushroom pelmeni were very tasty--I had them both times--and the borscht was also lovely. In both cases, the waitstaff was friendly and attentive. I'll be glad to visit again soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    39
    13
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Great cafe facing the opera house”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Patio seating puts you right across the street from the opera house. It's a busy street with lots of action and people to watch.

The food is good to very good. Some Ukrainian favourites like borscht and verenikies. Great pot au feux with either veggies or meat. Some Russian favourites. The menu is medium large with enough choice for everyone. Lots of seafood and vegetarian choices.

The wine list is small but good. Some superior Georgian wines a very reasonable prices.

Desserts are good. A nice Napoleon and lots of fresh fruit choices.

Service is young and friendly. Not everyone speaks English but everyone tries to be understood.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great genuine Ukrainian cousine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

They offer a wide variety of Russian and Ukrainian food.
The atmosphere was great, the food really delicious. And the bill was fair.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The very worst of USSR”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Came at about midday and it was almost empty. I ordered fried bred (which turned out to be a dry toast) with liver pate and a latte. My husband ordered pancakes with chicken and mushrooms and a bottle of lemonade. Considering that it was not a busy time we expected to have our meals served quicker than it was. In fact had to wait about 45 min. My husband's pancakes were tasty but so so tiny(( later I received my order and it turned out to be a few slices of dry toast and an old pate....was quite hard and wasn't spreadable at all( Latte that I asked to be served with it didn't come for another 15 min. Asked for a bill.....another 15 min to get it sorted. The last line on the bill - complimentary chewing gum - 0.02 uah.....WTF? The change was 1uah less than it should have been. When asked - the answer was - it's a complimentary chewing gum.....I did not order any gums....can I have a right change? - no answer....was given 0.98uah))) well....this place is a right joke. At least my hubby has got an idea of what it was like for the ordinary soviet people))) Won't go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Homemade taste/chip/nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We were in Katusha near the Opera Theatre - the food is simple, traditional and feels like homemade. Borsh was ok and pelmeni with mushrooms in pot were so goooood!!! The tea is ok may be its better to order mors. And it's not expensive at all, I like it)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katyusha also viewed

 

Been to Katyusha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katyusha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.