We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in Kiev” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bontiak Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bontiak Hotel to your Saves list
Bontiak Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Irininskaya Street 5/24 Block B, Kiev 01034, Ukraine   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 114 Hotels in Kiev
Trondheim Municipality, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A good choice in Kiev”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed in this hotel several times and it is my preferable place to stay in Kiev. Rooms are in a good size, beds are comfortable and you have a sofa and a chair in the room as well.
The price are nice for Kiev and the quality you get. The hotel do has one big improvement to do. I wish to give the hotel manager one good advise. Humans do mistakes and it is allowed. When it happens for the 4th time it is not a mistake anymore. Every time I have needed to complain about the bill from hotel, Every time they have added goods from minibar to my bill. It should be unecessary to complain every time abut this. It does seem like a bad habbit there. I will stay in hotel next time but I will not accept it to happen again.

Room Tip: Book room for two people as single rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    37
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
31
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent almost a week at the hotel. We asked for airport transfer and the taxi was there on time. The staff were helpful, speaking good English. Margarita was the best, she was very helpful with everything. It's a pity they don't have in-house kitchen and more selection for breakfast. The minibar though is loaded for emergency. The check in-check out was easy and fast. Upon leaving we were a bit fooled with the taxi, they charged airport transfer but called only a regular taxi (should be the third of the price). At least we know for the next visit. The overall is that I would recommend them for short stay.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let's make it clear: it is a good hotel with a good service. BUT what hit me not positively were two things: the breakfast cost quite a lot (but you can order basically anything in any amount) and the photo of the hotel is not the hotel but the building with apartments for rent, which is a lot more attractive than the hotel itself. Said that, the quality is as expected, the room is confortable, we didn't hear noise, the bathroom could be bigger but it is still good enough.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 4 nights in this boutique hotel for the 2nd time in early December. The hotel is difficult for taxi drivers to find as there are supposedly two places with same name in the city. The rooms are new and modern. The wifi is good. One annoying detail is that they are really cheap with toilet paper - and during both my stays I have embarassingly had to request another roll - its a detail, but an annoying one. Breakfast is good. The receptionists could try a little bigger smile, but after all Kiev is a city in a former soviet state. First time I stayed in the cheaper rooms and 2nd time in a more expensive one. Does not really matter a great deal what you choose.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I'm not really agree with those who said that that location is good.
Actualy Irininskaya it is one way street , and there is always a lot of cars parked along the street. Not imagine how you will access this hotel in winter days with snow and ice on the road.
But hotel itself it’s OK. Quiet and modern.
They have some problems with payments in USD or EUR currency ( only Ukrainian Grivna accepted )

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I really liked this small hotel. The room was just as pictured, it was spacious enough with a small table and chairs, plus a small desk, the bed was very good, the shower (no bath) was excellent, and it was spotlessly clean. The closet was adequate with both shelf-space and room for hanging clothing. All transactions with the staff could not have been smoother -- including those via email. They respond very quickly, all speak English, and are very happy to help you out with recommendations, directions, etc. I especially liked Administrator Margaryta. As other reviewers have noted, this is a wonderful, central location within an easy walk of St. Sophia Cathedral, St. Michael Monastery, Maidan square and more. It is indeed hard to find -- my taxi driver had to go around the block more than once. Signage is almost non-existent and it is not in the building you might think it's in -- or maybe it's more accurate to say it's in the back of that building down a small alley. For the money spent it's a good value and for both the helpful English-speaking staff and the excellent central location, it's easy to recommend very highly. The one warning, it's not a luxury hotel. Nothing like turn-down service at night, no sumptuous lobby, no on-site restaurant, etc. But if you don't need luxury features, this is a great place.

Room Tip: Because of the location, all rooms should be nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Great location an advantage, also kind reception staff

I had a tiny single room, cold and dark, not far from the reception area, often rather noisy, wify was patchy, and the breakfast arrangement is strange (no breakfast room just a small selection delivered to the room).

All in all perfectly average, and considering the high prices (80-100 EUR per night) you may consider other options before going to Bontiak

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bontiak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bontiak Hotel

Address: Irininskaya Street 5/24 Block B, Kiev 01034, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 114 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bontiak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bontiak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bontiak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.