We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast and nice rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rus to your Saves list
Hotel Rus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Hospitalna Street, Kiev 252023, Ukraine   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 114 Hotels in Kiev
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great breakfast and nice rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in the summertime and it was clean and tidy with a very good breakfast, as much as yuou could eat and British style too if you wanted it. It overlooked a small sport stadium and was set back from the main street so it was nice and quiet.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the sport stadium although the view is not spectacular but better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusAccordHotel, Manager at Hotel Rus, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking out time and writing a review on TripAdvisor. It's overwhelming to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you'll consider visiting us again whenever you are around and we'll be more than happy to have you as our guest some times in future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    188
    139
    29
    12
See reviews for
23
75
89
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The welcome was professional and friendly. One clerk took the suitcase as he saw me coming outside and helped with explaining everything. I gave him a 10 Hrifna tip which was commented with "ah one EUR", meaning "not enough". Btw. an average salary there is around 350 USD per month.

The room for 100 USD per night including breakfast was small but ok. No noise, everything worked well. The breakfast buffet was very good, wide selection of food. Everybody will find something there. Good quality. Espresso machines.

Room Tip: I was there only one night, single rooms are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusAccordHotel, Manager at Hotel Rus, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive comments and compliments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our breakfasts very good and staff professional. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
859 reviews 859 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
1,139 helpful votes 1,139 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This Soviet-era high rise hotel is among the worst I have EVER stayed at. The major problem was that the window latch in my room was broken and so all night long the wind howled right through the room since the one window in the room could not be closed. Since I was only there for one night I toughed it out, but if I had been there longer I definitely would have asked for a different room or just checked out. The room size, cleanliness and breakfast were OK, but I got very little sleep and shivered all night long, since the temperature outside was in the 50's F and the temperature in the room wasn't much better. Don't take a chance that your window latch will work--go elsewhere.

Room Tip: I can't suggest anything other than choosing a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusAccordHotel, Manager at Hotel Rus, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences you had to experience.. We would be grateful if you could write us more details of your stay in our hotel (pr@hotelrus.kiev.ua). Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bredene, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

No compains about this hotel. Old, yes, but nicely refurbished. I had a room with an entrance, a seperate living room and a bathroom. Breakfast was served well, with alot of choice. Staff and security were friendly. The view on the stadium was also nice, especially during evening when lights are on. I was lucky to be there during Euro2012 (for work)

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with extra livingroom!!! Some collegues didn't have such a room and they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusAccordHotel, Manager at Hotel Rus, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for very positive comment, we are glad to see that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us. It's very pleasant to know that you enjoyed our breakfasts and our staff. We look forward to seeing you in the nearest future at our hotel!

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hove
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a really average hotel. For £65/ night I was expecting a little more for my money such as for a steam room or a sauna located somewhere within the hotel as for the Ukraine this is not cheap. The rooms and bathroom were cleaned everyday. Hotel room was on the small side. The hotel staff were helpful enough. The bar in the lobby area has nice enough sushi which I had for dinner everynight and the bar ladies were also nice. The breakfasts were yuk, avoid any meats and fish. The pastries seemed like a couple of days old. There's no excuse for bad pastries and coffee anywhere. The lifts are annoying because they stop on almost every single floor in the mornings as people are calling them which isn't good if you are high up like I was so it took longer than expected to get to the lobby. You can only fit about 4 people in the lifts also. The hotel was all a bit boring and nothing much happening. The atmosphere wasn't there!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusAccordHotel, Manager at Hotel Rus, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your opinion with us. We apologize for the inconveniences with lifts you had to experience - one of our elevators is under technical maintenance now. We were rather disappointed with your review about our breakfasts. It is extremely not typical for our restaurant and we would be grateful if you could write us more details of your stay in our hotel (pr@hotelrus.kiev.ua). I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rus Accord Hotel.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Hotel Rus is a nice hotel situated in Kiev near the Sports Park. The hotel itself is an older hotel obviously built during the communist days. However, they have done a decent job at transforming it into a more mainline hotel. The rooms are a bit small compared to western standards, and some of the furniture is dated, but the room is clean and comfortable. The hotel lobby, bar and sushi restaurant are all very nice. The Hotel staff is very friendly. The breakfast buffet was very ample...lots to choose from: eggs, meats, cheeses, pastries, breads, fruits, vegetables, coffee and juices. If you leave the breakfast buffet hungry it is either you are very picky or you don't like breakfast. There is a bank in the hotel lobby if you need to exchange money...as well as there are several ATM's to get out local cash...it is very convenient! There is a small gift shop...but the prices are slightly high...if you have time you can go to the area around Saint Andrews Cathedral and find lots of souvenirs for a much lower price. Over all the Hotel Rus is a nice hotel. I would definitely stay here again if I ever return to Kiev.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusAccordHotel, Manager at Hotel Rus, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for very positive comment, we are glad to see that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us. It's very pleasant to know that you enjoyed our breakfasts and our staff. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you in the nearest future at our hotel!

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I was lucky enough to stay in a 'Superior' room, but I really worry what the basic room is like as mine was far from superior! It is dated and tired. The rooms are small and everything smells smoky.

The breakfast Buffett consisted of food in varying quality. However, there was a lot of it and certainly tried to cater to all nationalities; from croissants and fruit to eggs and chicken soup!

My warning is not to be ripped off by the in-house taxi service! I was charged 200 UAH for a journey that should have cost no more than 50 UAH. Do not trust them just because they are in the hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RusAccordHotel, Manager at Hotel Rus, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rus

Address: 4 Hospitalna Street, Kiev 252023, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rus 3*
Number of rooms: 451
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rus Hotel Kiev

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.