We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dream House to your Saves list
Dream House
2D Andriyivskyy Uzviz, Kiev 04070, Ukraine   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Kiev
Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Dream house is a clean, simple, cheap accommodation in the heart of Kyiv's touristic quarter. It is actually located in Andrey's descent, walking distance from interesting, beautiful places.
I stayed in a private room with a bathroom en-suit. Everything was working ok and clean.
Do note: the private rooms are in the fourth floor without elevator.
Downstairs there is a small cafe/restaurant which is pleasant, but requires you to reserve place for the evening, as it is popular.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Front Office Manager at Dream House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Dream House! We will be glad to welcome you again. Now our cafe has a lovely summer terrace, you would definitely like it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    27
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
20
58
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Located in the historic part of Kyiv (Andriivskiy uzviz - one of the oldest streets in the city) near Kontraktova Square (Metro Station: Kontraktova), Dream House Hostel is the largest and most modern hostel in the capital city. The hostel can accommodate more than 100 guests due to the state-of-the -art facilities on offer. One interesting fact about this hostel is that it is the only hostel in Kyiv that has its own bar - Druzi Cafe. The mutli-lingual staff are always more than willing to help out a traveller in need (the staff at the hostel speak Ukrainian, Russian and English). Furthermore, the staff are able to organise fun parties and events for you so you will not feel alone. This is one of the best hostels in the region.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor rooms in order to escape the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Front Office Manager at Dream House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for such a great feedback! It's really pleasant to know that we met your expectations! Hope to see you again in the nearest future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The best hostel I have ever stayed in.

The staff or 'Dream Girls' are fantastic and really seem to enjoy their work. They are knowledgable about Kiev and other cities in the Ukraine and are willing to offer advice and tips on where to go and what to do, however if you just fancy a chat to pass some time, they will also accommodate you.

The rooms are spacious, well equipped with individual lamps/plug sockets for every bed and free lockers. Fresh, clean sheets are provided as are towels, the later for a small deposit. The beds are extremely comfortable and despite mine being against the wall of an adjoining room, there was little to no noise transfer between rooms. All in all a good nights sleep.

The hostel it's self has been newly renovated to a high standared and is well looked after by maintainence and cleaning staff who appear to always be doing something. It is well equipped with a cafe/bar, I did not sample the offerings, however it was always busy and I heard no complaints. There is ample communal space to relaxed in with music played throughout the hostel giving it a relaxed, yet but fun vibe. There is fast free wifi available throughout, laptops with Internet access are also free along with a nice foosball table.

The many bathrooms and showers are kept very clean and stocked with paper, not common in all hostels, sometimes it's the small things that count.

The kitchen is well equipped, though the addition of an oven would be nice. There are, however a couple of microwaves, hobs, fridge/freezer, a toaster and kettle as well as ample storage, a large table for 10+, an LCD with loads of channels and large bean bags to hang out on. Free tea is also available on request,

If I had to be picky I would say the addition of hand towels, paper towels or an eco dryer in the toilets would be nice, a foosball that is actually round would also make me smile.

The location is great, 5 minutes walk from a metro station, which in turn is just two stops from independance square and at the bottom of the historical Andrew's descent, what more could you ask for?

Finally the price was great, I stayed here with my girlfriend, 3 nights in a 6 bed dorm cost us £45 total. It is possible to find cheaper, but not much and you certainly will not find better. They also offer discounts on long term stays for those language teachers out there.

In other words, If Carlsberg made hostels, Dream house would be it.

Room Tip: Pick what you like, no matter how many beds in the dorm they are spacious enough not to feel overcro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Front Office Manager at Dream House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the time on writing such a detailed and pleasant review! Your constructive suggestion about towels or dryers is very useful for us, thank you! We are looking forward tp welcoming you back in our hostel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend Enis spend 11 nights in Dream House Hostel in Kiev. Everything was absolutely spectacular. It is superbly clean and safe place with new interior. No doubt,hostel has a really friendly atmosphere inside like a family. Girls at reception help every guest with their needs. They are pretty experienced,knowledgeable and amazingly energetic. They respond you in any subject at anytime that you would like to know and discover.

Location of hostel just at the heart of Kiev with no more than few minutes walking distance to metro stop,main attractions,24-hour open shop and exchange office. Moreover,you have Druzi Cafe(extremely a cozy ambience) where you can have snacks,various beverages and unfortunately limited main courses which is not highly important who stay in short time period.

I am really thankful to Marina-Manager of Hostel who had created such an extraordinary team and atmosphere in a professional way.You are doing good work girls. Keep it up! I will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Front Office Manager at Dream House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Emre,
thanks for such nice words. All the girls are saying you hi! Hope to see you soon and your friend should definitely teach us belly dancing!=))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The staff all went out their way to make sure I had a great time in the hostel as well as during my stay in Kyiv. The beds were comfortable with warm duvets and the bathrooms were clean. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

just look at the pictures on the website, they don't lie......and the staff were great too with excellent service...going back in march, hope i can book dream hostel again, thank you.
the hostel is situated right in the city center and very close to pretty much everything including the cable car which you must go on, its only a short ride but cheap and typicaly soviet.
anyway to conclude, if you're going to kiev this is the place to stay...real homely

Room Tip: i went for the en suite though the shared showers look good too
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Well, to be totally honest.. We've read allot of reviews of different places to go, and we chose Dream House... When we arrived we were treated like Gold... I'm not joking, everyone was super friendly, the whole place was extremely tidy and the food... Holy Hell!! The food was AMAZING!!! Everyone who worked there was super friendly, helped us all the time with everything we needed.. This was for sure the best hostel I have ever lived in, and I have travelled the world... Be sure to go stay here.. it was AMAZING!! Thank you Dream House!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream House

Address: 2D Andriyivskyy Uzviz, Kiev 04070, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dream House Hostel and Bar! The atmosphere of happiness and life satisfaction, home warmness and positive emotions, kindness and hospitality - all that proceeds from our young, and suoer-friendly staff who are always ready to share with you their good mood!Perfect location of our hostel will allow you to be at the center of all the standing of your attention events. We are located in the historical part of Kiev - one of the oldest streets in the city. By five minutes walk - Kontraktova square and metro station. Around us there are lots of opportunities to spend time, both: cultural and nightlife. Detached building built in the 19th century and completely renovated in 2012, has all the necessary communications and modern new furniture.In Dream House we have 28 rooms which can accommodate 106 people. Rooms are presented in the following categories: 8 Bed Dorms(both mixed and room only for women), 6 and 4 Bed Mixed Dorms, Triple and Double Private Rooms (Superior Double Bed Privates have shower and toilet in the room), Single rooms. All guests can use the equiped kitchen of the hostel , where everyone can cook his/her own breakfast, lunch or dinner. For an additional fee you can enjoy breakfast in our Druzi cafe on the ground floor.We make stay in Dream House enjoyable and intense. Here you will learn how to combine the cultural program with crazy nightlife! Hotel guest computers are installed, as well as free Wi-Fi network all over the hostel. Our team will do everything to make your stay in Kiev passed under the sign "at home" and the minutes were spent with us became bright impressions, and a reason to return to Dream House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Dream House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.