We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cosmopolite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cosmopolite Hotel to your Saves list
Cosmopolite Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vadima Hetmana Street 6, Kiev 03057, Ukraine   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Seasonal Discount
Ranked #12 of 114 Hotels in Kiev
Ergolding, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very nice Hotel with high quality furnishing.
Friendly staff.
Location is next to a large mall with some restaurants and supermarkets around.
Very good for business stays.
The "Bavarian" Restaurant next door offers food for reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room towards the side street. Main street is pretty busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    77
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
29
16
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a great stay at this ultra modern, brand new soviet style hotel. The rooms were very modern with contemporary style. The staff is very friendly. Has a decent breakfast and comes with German, French restaurants. There's a huge mall and department store rich across this hotel where you can find many other restaurants and store. There's a decent gym where you can get some good workout.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, General Manager at Cosmopolite Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear My_Bos_explorer,
Thks a lot for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed the modern and hi-tech theme of our new hotel! The Soviet angle is to honor 5 famous Ukrainian based artists of the Soviet era whose art is displayed on each of the 5 residential floors. I am glad you enjoyed it as it does give the hotel a unique feel combined with the very modern facilities for both the leisure and business traveler!
Your comments about the friendly and helpful staff we will definitely pass on as your comments are indeed important to us in this regard.
Thks again. David Page – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The lovely hotel staff did everything they could to facilitate our ever changing schedules.
Nice clean rooms, and the restaurant next door provided us with some great meals.
10 mins walk to extremely cheap tube station, 10 more minutes to Kiev's stunning centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had visited this hotel on business and can say it leaved controversial impression on me. It is really new good 4-star hotel with perfect and attentive staff. Opposite the hotel is large shopping mall and car-parking, probably free. But that are almost all advantages. “Cosmopolite” hotel is situated at industrial-like area and it takes ca. half an hour to take to the city center. Because of location it`s impossible to find a good window view from any room, and space around the hotel doesn`t encourage to go out for a walk there, especially late evenings or nights. There is a subway station in walking distance, but it also is not very convenient. So, the best way to explore Kiev from this hotel is to catch a cab. Better ask receptionist to call taxi - because of shopping mall there is almost no place for taxi stand. Prices for taxi called by receptionist of the hotel are quite good for Kiev.
Another challenge of the hotel is design. As I have stayed usually at hotels with Scandinavian light and cost-effective style I was surprised with total darkness of all spaces inside the hotel from rooms to the breakfast hall. It is very dark inside and looks like great headache for owners to pay the bills for electricity as it must be very difficult to maintain good quality of light in such dark designed inside spaces. And it was really cold in September inside the hotel. Together with sculptures in the main hall, design of this hotel reminds me a lot Kafka`s museum in Prague, very decadency. Entrance zone is not convenient neither for cars/buses nor pedestrians as there were used different types of stones: some are too greasy, some – too founderous, so my heels were in danger :). I found food there of ordinary average quality and presentation, but ice cream was like homemade and tasty. I believe this hotel is especially good for business travellers (meeting facilities are good), tourist groups (bus can take them from/to hotel) and shoppers (great shopping mall opposite).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, General Manager at Cosmopolite Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear SyNaNic,
Thks a lot for your post! We do appreciate you taking the time. As you said "especially good for business travelers, tourist groups and shoppers" which does in fact sum up the positives of the Cosmopolite. We are a little bit outside the historical city center but various options for transportation are available nearby including the metro Shuliavska red line station a short walk way.
The area around the hotel is in fact now a pleasant residential zone and is quite fine for walking around although as you stated there are still a couple of former factories in the area.
We have taken note of your comments regarding the hotel design and do appreciate them.
Looking forward to having you back on your next visit to Kiev.
David Page – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It's not a very center of the city so the district has no historical charm. The hotel itself is very stylish. Quite comfortable rooms, good service, good breakfast, several restaurants, shopping mall 30 meters opposite, free wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Hotel located in 10 minutes from Zhulyany airport and next to city mall Bolshevik. I found it quite frindly with good 4 star service. Each floor starting from 6 to 10 has mini exhibition of modern soviet artisit: Malevich, Kandinskiy and other. Room is nicely furiture in same style - modern. Should be good restaurants. One of the drawbacks is not central location which makes it awkward to visit main city amenities.

Room Tip: Try to ask for rooms with numbers from X01 to X10. These rooms located in far end from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The first impression of the hotel is a good one and considering hard facts only it is not bad at all. New rooms with a modern interior, big flat screen TVs and free wifi; also the staff is nice and friendly. So why would I be so scarce with the distribution of the points?

1. Although outside temperatures were between 5-10°C the heating was not on, room temperature therefore somewhat chilly. I have to admit that after my complain someone appeared to install a portable electric heater within seconds (obviously the problem is not unknown).
2. There is a noisy 6-lane road running by in front of the hotel; the so called soundproofed windows are not soundproofed at all, street noise is the same regardless of open or closed windows - very noisy
3. Standard rooms are very small, hardly a space for your suitcase
4. Although suites are big enough there is no dedicated working space. There is a small table though but no table light and no "office chair" and after half an hour of work you have to quit for the sake of your aching back.
5. None of the incoming telephone calls reached me as callers were put of at the reception with the excuse that nobody is in the room which should mask the inability to connect a call to a room.
6. Breakfast was quite good but served in an extremly uncomfortable restaurant with very loud jazz-music playing. By the way I love Jazz but (besides that many people don't) I really would appreciate a quiter atmosphere in the morning!
7. Last but not least the hotel is situated in an appalling area way off from the centre. Except from the huge shopping mall adjacent to the hotel there is nothing, nothing at all. Needless to say that even for dinner in a decent restaurant you will have to go by taxi. I wouldn't like walking around in this area during night anyway...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, General Manager at Cosmopolite Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear globusat,
Really appreciate the detailed comments on your recent stay with us and that the staff you encountered were helpful and friendly.
Cooler weather has come early this year and central heating has been activated - glad to hear that we responded rapidly to provide a temporary solution for you.
We would be more than happy, on your next visit to us to locate you in a quieter room and will make a note in your file to that affect.
Our apologies for the telephone calls not received, I have passed on this comments to our Front Office Manager for investigation.
Thks again for the feedback which we particular appreciate from such a well-travelled guest. Hope to be able to welcome you back to Cosmopolite on a future trip.
Bye for now. David - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cosmopolite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolite Hotel

Address: Vadima Hetmana Street 6, Kiev 03057, Ukraine
Phone Number:
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 114 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolite Hotel is a new contemporary 4 star hotel located just a short ride away from Kiev’s city centre and is part of the vibrant Bolshevik Shopping and Entertainment Centre. The hotel is within easy access from all relevant business and leisure facilities. Just a few minutes walk to the direct road connection to the city centre and only 2 metro stops to Kiev Expo Plaza as well as fast and easy connection (10 minutes by car) to the secondary Kiev Zhuliany (IEV) International Airport and about 40 minutes by car to Kiev’s main Boryspil (KBP) International Airport.Contemporary designed rooms are appointed with all modern facilities including complimentary Wi-Fi Internet connection and individually controlled air conditioning and heating. Cosmopolite Hotel is a Smoke Free facility however smoking cabins are available on the floors.The Cosmopolite Hotel’s two restaurants provide their guests with a wide variety of fine French or distinctive German cuisine with several exclusive domestic beers brewed in our own brewery that have gained great popularity in Kiev. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cosmopolite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosmopolite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.