We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style - right on the edge of town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfavito Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alfavito Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alfavito Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35D, Predslavinskaya Street, Kiev 03680, Ukraine (Formerly Autograph Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 3 NIGHTS - SAVE 15 %
Ranked #16 of 113 hotels in Kiev
England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Style - right on the edge of town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I am currently 'in' the hotel and can only concur with all the good things stated by previous guests. That is:

1) It's quiet and stylish elegance
2) Efficiency and friendliness of all staff
3) Great location and base for our current business dealings - quite central for EMEA region, with imagination!!:)
4) Ease of connection, both from the airport and also to get 'into' the city
5) A very reasonable rate for such facilities with the bonus of an excellent free wifi system in all areas (even outside on the patios, in the sunshine)
6) Immaculately clean throughout

I would choose the Alfavito time and again for business, which I feel is unashamedly their 'niche' and 'target', although I did see some flightdeck crew last night, so clearly the word is spreading! It would be a 'given' if my team, Southampton FC, were ever drawn against Dynamo Kiev (I wish!) - as their new home, the impressive Olympic Stadium, is just 15-20 mins walk away - perfect!:)

For those 'holidaying', I would say "bring some taxi money" (£6 / €7 / $9 into town). We walked it - once, for dinner. Then taxied back!!:) The metro/tube is only a block away too!

We will not hesitate to book the Alfavito for our next business trip to Kiev. And, no, I'm not a relative of the GM!!! LoL:)

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oleg_Nesvirskyy, Manager at Alfavito Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are truly impressed with such a deep and positive review! The advantages mentioned (interior, location, cleanness, friendliness of staff, good rates) and good advice of yours make this place popular among travelers. We do hope your team gets to play Dynamo Kyiv one day and you have a chance to experience the amazing Olympic Stadium atmosphere to the full! Thank you for taking time to express your impressions of Alfavito Hotel and recommending it to the Trip Advisor community!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    35
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
20
10
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I booked the Alfavito hotel as an alternative to one hotel where I had to deliver my seminar training but which was too far away from any infrastructure in my opinion. So, money was an issue and I didn't want to spend much more money on the room than it would have been in a 3-4 star hotel somewhere 30 km outside Kiev.
The Alfavita hotel is situated around 2 km south of the centre of Kiev, but just a few minutes walk to the Station "Palace Ukraina", which makes it quite comfortable to choose Metro, taxi or walking for your ways.
The style of the hotel reminds mie to the 1920's, especially in the restaurant. This makes the hotel somehow stylish but not too cold like some so-called style-hotels, where they sell cheap IKEA furniture as minimalistic and cool.
The staff is very friendly and flexible. Also payment issues are extremely relaxed, especially if you consider the country.
Breakfast buffet is not too big, but the quality of the food is high. Strange: Sparkling wine is available for free, but if you'd like to have an espresso you need to pay extra.
What makes me sad is that the hotel bar doesn't serve any local beer and the bar is more playground of a few hookers who seem to dominate the potential upcoming mood. Also some music would help to make it a bit more cozy.
Conclusion: Take it if you want a four star hotel that offers some good deals, where everything works, where you have good access to the public means of transport and where you can enjoy the flair of an international hotel. Don't take it if you expect sauna or pool, want a 'whole town in the hotel' experience or want to be in the inner city centre.

Room Tip: X22, X24 are the bigger rooms in each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oleg_Nesvirskyy, Manager at Alfavito Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Alfavito hotel and giving us a thorough review! It is indeed a good deal money, location and service wise either for business travelers or tourists. We take pride in the design of the hotel since it is unique and creates a relaxing atmosphere. We take all of our guests’ suggestions seriously so your restaurant preferences will be considered and discussed. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we are awaiting you the next time you visit Kyiv!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A quirky kind of hotel in Kiev, Good location, Nice rooms and excellent conference facility's. Terrible service in the restaurant and rip off prices in the bar! The conference and corporate team are great, no fuss and direct. Reception staff are great also, I really recommend this hotel when in Kiev, I have used most hotels in Kiev as I have business here for over 15 years and this hotel will make you happy!

Room Tip: Rip off prices in the bar! I mean 6 Euro for a beer in the bar and half that in the restaurant.....a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oleg_Nesvirskyy, Manager at Alfavito Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear JackLondon35,
Thank you for staying at Alfavito and using its facilities for meetings and conferences! We definitely take quirky as a compliment and are proud of that characteristic. Alfavito is unique, artful and different from other hotels in a positive way. Your concern about prices and service will be given serious attention. Though, we hope you enjoyed the quality of the food and beverages. Your positive impressions inspire us to always put in 110% effort when welcoming you and every other guest. Thank you again for recommending us to the TripAdvisor community!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at Alfavito in June 2013 for about a week, and would recommend it for either tourists or business travelers. The hotel's staff is professional, friendly, and understands the importance of customer service. It is a clean, new hotel, and the housekeeping did an impeccable job at keeping our room clean every day. The TV is flat screen, and has the usual sports and news channels, such as CNN.

If you forgot to pack something or have an issue with your room ask the hotel staff; they'll either provide you with the item or help you get it. In our experience, the hotel was very western, and customer oriented. We would definitely stay at this location again especially at such prices. (One suggestion to the hotel: add the Borshch to the restaurant menu.)

Transportation. We used the metro to go between the hotel (Palats Ukrainy Station) and downtown Kyiv (only three stations to Maidan Nezalezhnosti Station). At 2 hryvnyas (25 US cents) a ride, it's a good deal though expect to face the crowds at normal rush hour times. Trains run every 3 minutes during the day. Every 7m late at night.

For cabs, either have the hotel call you a cab OR order one yourself from Elite Taxi or Sky Taxi; these give you the rate before you travel so you know what you have to pay. (Getting a local SIM car will come handy if you want to call the cab.) Most international flights depart from Terminal D of Boryspil's airport, but make sure to confirm your details before you get in the cab.

Ukrainian beers: try 1715 or any other Lviv produced beers, Obolon "oksamytove" (amber color), or Chernihivske (which is everywhere).

Ukrainian food: varenyky, salo (sliced pork lard) plate ideally with a variety of flavors such as smoked, paprika, black pepper, etc, with a mandatory shot (or 2) of horilka (vodka). Suggested restaurants: Taras Bulba and Mitla though there are many more to choose from.

Have a good time.

Room Tip: All rooms are good; tip the housekeeping well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oleg_Nesvirskyy, Manager at Alfavito Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear wrldcnnssr,
We would like to thank you for such a detailed and thorough review of our hotel! Our staff is always excited by such reviews and always aims to deliver exceptional service. The rooms are designed for the upmost comfort and luxury. We always take reviews into consideration when making any changes and these changes are directed only for the betterment of the guest. Thank you again for recommending ALFAVITO to other travelers. We wish you a great day and hope to have you as a guest again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have spent 8 nights at this hotel in May. This hotel got great facilities, conference rooms have good designs and great audio and video equipments, guest rooms are modern, well done and spacious. I love high sealing in guest rooms too. Hotel staff is what mainly makes it a distinguished hotel in Kiev, everyone is genuinely friendly,helpful, speaks good English or Russian. My stay was comfortable because of all those factors. Restaurant has great food, menu is somewhat limited in my view but everything on it tastes great. I love their selection of teas at the lobby bar. Breakfast buffet is good too. In my opinion, it is good value for the money paid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oleg_Nesvirskyy, Manager at Alfavito Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Elena,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Alfavito hotel!
We are grateful to you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience with ALFAVITO. Our team is pleased to read that you have enjoyed the design of our hotel, facilities and most importantly the level of service provided. It’s lovely to read that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with a warm, pleasant and comfortable stay.
It was our pleasure to provide you with a relaxing stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great, clean room, everything worked! Reception staff could not have been more helpful, good breakfast, modern, comfortable bar. Spa was welcoming and professional, convenient for town, yet seperated from the hustle and bustle. Nothing negative to say at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oleg_Nesvirskyy, Manager at Alfavito Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Iain,
Personnel of Alfavito hotel would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to read that you have wonderful and delightful memories after your stay in our hotel. We are also happy that you found the reception staff very helpful and professional. Thank you one more time for your kind words. Our team is looking forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hotels are essentially places to sleep, wash and sometimes eat...
Well the shower was ok. Sleep was shortened by the fact that the thin curtains didn't meet in the centre and I was woken each morning by sun streaming in at 5.30am. Breakfast was pretty poor for this level of hotel and the breakfast room like most of the hotel was dark and austere. On the plus point I did have a nice soup for lunch outside on the patio so not all bad. Internet service was fine..
Business stay so no choice but I hope not to be returning...

Room Tip: Check the curtains!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oleg_Nesvirskyy, Manager at Alfavito Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Jon,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience and showing us how we can improve and develop our service. Our team would like the opportunity to assure you that we will take all remarks into consideration. We really hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with outstanding service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alfavito Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfavito Hotel

Address: 35D, Predslavinskaya Street, Kiev 03680, Ukraine (Formerly Autograph Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 113 hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfavito Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Элегантныи 4-звездочныи отель <> был открыт в 2012 году. Он расположен в одном из деловых раионов центра Киева, рядом со станциеи метро Дворец Украина. 251 Уютныи и просторныи номер оборудован бесплатным высокоскоростным Wi-Fi, ЖК-телевизором со спутниковыми каналами, индивидуальнои системои кондиционирования воздуха, широкими кроватями, удобнои рабочеи зонои, телефоном, электронным сеифом и мини-баром. Изысканные блюда интернациональнои кухни и местные деликатесы подаются в ресторане <>, где также сервируется завтрак <<шведская линия>>. Гости могут насладиться разнообразием средиземноморскои кухни в кафе-баре <>, попробовать гриль-меню в летнее время в кафе <> или отдохнуть в лобби-баре с чашкои настоящего венского кофе. В отеле: ресторан <> с живои музыкои, кафе-бар <>, лобби-бар, кондитерская, летняя терраса, кафе <>, 7 залов для проведения конференции и деловых встреч, вместимостью от 10 до 150 человек, бизнес-центр, служба консьержеи, картинная галерея, тренажерныи зал с бесплатным круглосуточным доступом и салон красоты. Отель находится всего в 15 минутах ходьбы от НСК <<Олимпиискии>> и предлагает 68 бесплатных парковочных мест на территории отеля. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Alfavito Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfavito Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.