We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Experience...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alfavito Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alfavito Hotel to your Saves list
Alfavito Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Predslavinskaya Street., 35D, Kiev 03150, Ukraine (Formerly Autograph Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 114 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Booked a room for 3 adults on short notice via Expedia during the Euro 2012 Finals in Poland & Ukraine. This cost around $1000 for 2 nights. On our arrival we were informed that we would have to pay a further 200 Euros for a bed for the 3rd person (in addition to the double). We complained as the Expedia website said that this was a room that can sleep 3 adults. The Manageress of the Hotel was not understanding at all and just wanted more of our money for the bed for the 3rd adult , which we refused to pay as we had already paid them $1000 for the room itself!! She was very rude and not at all friendly and even looked at us in disgust, which ruined our stay in Kiev. The hotel blamed it on Expedia and said that they are obviously advertising incorrectly. This did not help us at all and is their own problem and not ours, but she still requested the 200 Euros for the room. We decided to cut our losses and use the sofa in the bedroom as a make-do bed, which after a 12 hour train journey wasn't an ideal situation. Whilst we were in our room we turned on the air con which proceeded to leak and a constant dripping started coming from the edge of the air con unit in the ceiling by the door. This occurred at midnight. Rather than moving us to a different room straightaway (seeing as it was midnight and we were tired) we had to wait for over an hour whilst the maintenance men fixed the leak. After this was fixed they left and we were left with a very wet floor! It was only the following morning, after being kept up until the early hours with a wet floor and a make do hard sofa for a bed that the hotel actually said that we can move rooms next door due to the inconvenience. A bit late don't you think!! We ended up moving rooms and they also gave us the sofa bed for free due to the inconvenience, which we should have had from the start anyway! Overall a nightmare of a stay and will not be going back to this poorly run hotel. New Managers apply within,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    53
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
30
21
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I like this hotel - I have stayed in most of the smart hotels in Minsk and yes it is 2 stops on the metro to the centre and not all taxi drivers know it (then again they don't know most places). I enjoyed my stay and will go again. Having only stayed in 5 star hotels in kiev before the most pleasant surprise was the price. the service is good, they don't push their own taxi service, the rooms are comfortable. wifi was a bit hit an miss from what I remember but it is a good place to stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I only stayed in this hotel one night but found it to be of a reasonable standard of accomodation, being a newly built hotel and if I was going to Kiev on business this would be a suitable hotel to use. All the staff spoke very good English, rooms were comfortable and our room was quite big.
The only downsides of this hotel we found was the bar/resturant in the court yard where the service was really poor, and the price we paid, which was hugely inflated due to the fact that we were there during Euro 2012 but normal room rate is around 125 euros.

The location of this hotel is not great but then again it is only a few minutes taxi ride from the centre of the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

It is a hidden big hotel in center.Nearby there are not a lot of touristic places.It is a quiet place.Rooms are not very big but big enough.Hotel was very clean and internet is fast/free.
Price per night was 175 Euro when I stayed.Quite high for it.If you find a rate up to 125 Euro , I would suggest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kocaeli
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Exactly 5 stars,esspecialy stuff of hotel was profesional.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Finding accommodation in Kiev can be kind of a nightmare. You're often stuck between $400/night international 5-stars and dingy Soviet-era business hotels that haven't been renovated since. There are lots of serviced apartments, but after several shady bait and switch dealings from sketchy owners, we decided to go with a hotel for our long weekend in Kiev. $400/night was out of my budget and I just couldn't stand to cough up $120+ a night for a 70s-style business hotel that didn't even provide breakfast. The Autograph is by no means a bargain, and I've recently stayed in similar 4-star hotels in Madrid and Bratislava for 1/2 the price, but compared with the other options at this price point (and the handful of alternatives below it), you get a lot more bang for your buck.

The Autograph is brand new, and it shows. Everything is in wonderful condition and it's sparkling clean. The staff all speak excellent English and they've clearly received thorough training. Our room was totally silent and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The wifi worked without a hitch, with a strong signal everywhere. The breakfast buffet was delicious with a lot of variety. The only slight negative might be its location. It's not right in the center, but it's only 3 metro stops to the heart of downtown, and the metro station is a quick 5-minute walk from the hotel. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Traditionally I don't expect too much from Ukrainian hotels, but this one is really good. Brand new with English speaking friendly staff, more American than European. Large, clean rooms. Huge bathroom. Rich breakfast. A little bit out of center, but the underground is close and it takes 3 stops to get the heart of Kiev. Be careful with the early check in (extra charge) and the check out on time. Your magnetic room key will not work after 12am. But they fixed it immediately. Really nothing to complain.

Room Tip: They have SPA, so bring swimsuit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alfavito Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfavito Hotel

Address: Predslavinskaya Street., 35D, Kiev 03150, Ukraine (Formerly Autograph Hotel)
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 114 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfavito Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant 4-star ALFAVITO Hotel is located in one of the business districts of central Kiev next to the Palats Ukraina Underground Station. It is within 15 minutes' walk from the central main street, Khreschatyk and Maidan Nezalezhnosti and only 10 minutes' walk from Olimpiysky Stadium. The hotel offers 251 comfortable guest rooms, including rooms of Standard and Superior categories, and VIP category - Deluxe, Suites and Apartments. The 251 cozy and spacious rooms are equipped with free high-speed Wi-Fi, LCD screen satellite TV, telephone, individual air conditioning system, wide beds, comfortable working space, an electronic safe and a mini-bar. Gourmet international dishes and local specialties are served at the PIANO Restaurant, where a buffet breakfast is also provided. Guest can enjoy a variety of Mediterranean meals in the FORTE Cafe-bar, test grill menu in the summertime on Double Decker cafe, or relax in the lobby bar with a cup of genuine Viennese coffee. The Hotel facilities also include 7 conference-halls which capacity starts from 10 till 150 persons, a business center, a concierge service, an art gallery, a gym with free access around the clock, Elixir CLUB by YURIY TSAROV and 68 free private parking spaces on site. ALFAVITO - one of the few hotels in Kiev city center with its small park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Alfavito Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfavito Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.