We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard to your Saves list
Ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taras Shevchenko Boulevard 25, Kiev 01032, Ukraine   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 114 Hotels in Kiev
Destin, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The room was huge and clean. The bed was ok.
The view was to an apartment complex.
My room was close to the elevator, so did not like the noise.
It was not close to a lot of restaurants. The breakfast was ok, dinner ended early. No mini-bar

Staff was polite, not super friendly.
I was there for business so it served the purpose.
I had an early flight out and while waiting for my cab, a guest was trying to go up with his "lady friend from the night" but the front desk did now allow him to go up without registering his guest.
It seemed to be a good security measure.

Room Tip: My room was larger than the rooms my friends had but it was also near the elevator. If you are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, Manager at Ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Jade,
Thanks for taking your time and leaving you feedback about ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard experience.
We take special care about what we promise to our guests and what we fulfill, that’s why your feedback is very important for us, as well as the security and comfort of our guests.
Mini-bar in the room is against the standard of all ibis hotels along the world. Standards is what we can’t change or neglect.
Thanks again for your comments.
We will be glad to welcome you again.

Eugenia Shilnikova
PA to the GM
ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    276
    72
    16
    5
See reviews for
36
103
87
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel is new. Service in the hotel was excellent. Hotel is located at the walking distance from the main tram station and from the Kiev center. Breakfast was very good. Hotel staff is very friendly. I think that anybody who will stay in this hotel will enjoy staying in this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, Manager at Ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Boris,

We are very grateful for your comments on ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard. It is always a pleasure to receive pleasant feedback from your guests.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Eugenia Shilnikova
PA to the GM
ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

There was nothing that was second rate about this hotel. The standard was excellent. Reception staff were very helpful, the steak on the dinner menu was extremely good. We only ate there once.
We took taxi from airport which was charged at the set rate of 150 UAH which is roughly £12 on today's exchange rate.
The opera house was worth a visit and very reasonable. We paid 100 UAH each and actually had a box all to ourselves, although it could seat 6

The metro was very cheap at only 2 UAH per journey and very frequent. All signage available in English.

Freezing rain on our visit made the sidewalks treacherous with ice. Extreme care needed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, Manager at Ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanks for sharing your view regarding your stay at ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard and the city of Kiev. At ibis we aspire to give the highest level of service to each of our guests; therefore your feedback is very important for us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and will be happy to welcome you again in ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard.

Eugenia Shilnikova
PA to the GM
ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel is about a 20-minute walk from the main train station. I flew into Boryspil airport and took the airport express bus (about 40 min). When you get off at the train station enter the back entrance and walk through to other side and out the main entrance. You'll have to circle around and then go straight ahead. The hotel is about a 25-minute walk from Khreshchatyk Street, which is closed off to cars on the weekends and is the center of the city. I did the Lonely Planet walking tour and one of the sights is about ten minutes from the hotel. My room was spacious, but fairly simple, no carpet, Ikea-style furniture, meager selection of TV channels. Breakfast was average, not a huge selection but better than many 3-star hotels in eastern Europe. The wifi worked well. The front desk staff were friendly. The only negative thing I have to mention is the misleading pricing on the Ibis Website. It gave me a price of around 133 euros for two nights and then as I clicked to the next page, the amount changed to hryvnia. I googled the exchange rate and found out that it was more like around 140 euros, which is what I was charged on my credit card, in addition to the foreign conversion fee, listed separately on my bill. I think that compared to other hotels in Kiev it was still good value for money and will probably stay here in the future. I was there in October. I'm sure it's much nicer in the summer with long days and very short skirts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Director of Sales at Ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

We appreciate very much your nice and informative feedback about stay in our hotel!
Thank you very much for all mentioned details which could be useful for the other travellers and our future guests!
Concerning our currency exchange rate I would like to clarify some points for your future reservations.
The price in EUR on our web sites is mentioned as indicative and could not be real. The price in EUR that will be finally withdrawn from your card is the one related to your bank currency exchange at the moment of transaction + your bank could apply some fees for the transaction.
Also - very important thing - our prices are fixed in UAH. And when your credit card is charged, it is charged in UAH according to the current currency exchange rate.

So I hope I clarified for you this point. But if you have any further issues or questions, you can contact to me directly.

Thank you again for the time you spent to write a review,

With the best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Clean hotel to the usual basic but functional Ibis standard. Simple room, well heated, TV, good bathroom. Quiet room with no interruptions or noise from other guests.

Reception staff spoke good English and were always friendly, welcoming and happy to assist with any questions we had.

Location is about 25 mins walk from town centre but this is OK, considering the price paid.

Breakfast was not particularly good with a limited selection on offer which wasn't of great quality. Service in restaurant was non-existant with the staff just standing around chatting to themselves instead of being interested in any guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, Manager at Ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for leaving your feedback concerning your stay at ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
Eugenia Shilnikova
PA to the GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Ibis is a nice place to stay for sure. Close to shopping and there lots of places to eat within a 10 min walk. Rooms are nice. Staff is very good and speak English. They're polite and eficient. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, Manager at Ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear friend,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard.

At ibis we try to demonstrate every day the highest level of courteous and efficient service; therefore every feedback from the guest is very important for us.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Eugenia Shilnikova
PA to the GM
ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very nice and helpful stuff,nice and clean rooms,the Ibis stands under Accor chain hotel standart. good breakfast little bit expensive, compared to options in neighbor area. Good location . its my 3't visit in lest year,i will be back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, PA to the GM at Ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks for taking your tima and giving feed back about your stay at ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard.
At ibis we strive to provide superior quality to all of our guests and we tend to approve all the time.
I hope your next visit will be more pleasant than the previous one.
Will be happy to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard

Address: Taras Shevchenko Boulevard 25, Kiev 01032, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 114 Hotels in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard hotel was open in August 2011. It is located in the center of Kiev, close to Khreschatik street, main shopping and historic avenue from where you can get easily to: St. Vladimir Cathedral, St. Sofia's Cathedral, Dnieper River view, National Circus and other points of interest. Nearest metro stations: Univesitet, Vokzalnaya.The hotel features 212 new generation Ibis rooms with air conditioning, flat-screen TV, satellite, free Wi-Fi internet connection. Bar is opened 24/7 for snacks and Oopen restaurant works till 23:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Kiev Shevchenko Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.