We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Why Not? Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Why Not? Hostel to your Saves list
Why Not? Hostel
30/3 Saksahanskoho Street, Kiev 01033, Ukraine   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Kiev
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I planed to stay at the Hostel only for a couple of nights....long story short I ended up staying for over a week. The staff is super friendly, the location is awesome...close to big supermarket and bars and clubs of course as well, it's clean and the beds are quite comfy. There is always something going on in the hostel but it doesn't get to loud if you want to sleep.
I can definitely recommend this place to anyone who is planning on staying in Kiev!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be nice....but I would recommend the 8 bed dorm (that's where I stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I would not consider myself to be a "normal" tourist in that hostel, because I've spent so much time there, that it already feels a bit like home. Now it's high time to write a review :) I stayed at Why not? more than 7 months over the last 1,5 years (studies and holidays). I know all the rooms and can recommend all of them. The beds are cozy, the sheets clean, they also provide towels for everyone. Even when the hostel is full the 3 toilets and showers were enough, no waiting in line (e.g. during EURO 2012, Christmas holidays)!! The kitchen is equipped with EVERYTHING you need, I especially love their common shelf (everyone can leave food they don't need anymore or take something from there). They have different kind of coffee makers which is very important for me :) Coffee, tea and sugar are for free - GREAT. Also they have breakfast included. The hostel-cinema in the basement is wonderful for rainy days (which are rare in summer!) or cold winter evenings. What I like most is the warm atmosphere and the colourful common aeras. You get in touch with other people (tourists or staff) really quickly - even if you are travelling alone, you don't feel seperated there. I love, that the hostel is always in progress, they really invest a lot of time to improve things, paint the walls, decorate the rooms and so on. They react to people's reviews and opinions, which is very creditable (one of the latest improvements: they sell drinks at the reception, in case you want a beer and are too lazy to walk to the shop around the corner). Everyone in Why not? wants their guests to have a great stay!! Thank you so much for everything, guys!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I would never stay anywhere else in Kyiv! Perfect location, very clean, comfortable, colorful, friendly, well-organized, charming and the best asset is their staff! They know everyone and everything in Kyiv and do not hesitate to share all their valuable knowledge about the city with you. With the help of their motto "impossible is nothing" you will spend some unforgettable days in this amazing city!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Why not to write some about this hostel:) Amazing staff, lovely atmosphere make why not hostel my number one! II really like their style of running business.. There no stress around, everything here work smooth:) If ever there ask to show you cinema room and watch something there!!! Thank you guys for everything!

Room Tip: Industrial room:)
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is second why not hostel i have visited during my trip. Everything here is well organized, as proper hostel should be. Staff is more than friendly, fun and always willing to help you, prepared nice breakfast every morning for free!. If youare solo traveller and wnat to feel like at home there is no better place to be, especially now, when outside below freezing point and snowing! Inside great atmosphere made by long and short term guests, there is always somebody to talk to, play cards or watch movie downstairs (cinema room in the basement is what you need during long winter evening) really loved this place, cheers guys and thank you for everything!

Room Tip: you will spend a lot of time in the common room, this is for sure:)
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had intended to only spend two nights here, we ended up spending a week. And a while later I went back to Kiev to spend a month at Why Not?. It was so much fun, the staff is helpful, friendly, awesome, and fun. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the facilities are great, the hostel is in a great location and, whether you're there in the coldest winter or the hottest summer (like I was), you'll have an amazing time, thanks in no small part to the staff of Why Not. They will take you on pub crawls, show you the sights, and make you feel like you're part of a family while you're traveling. So do what I did. Go for two days, stay for a week and, if you're lucky, you'll get back to Kiev to see the whole gang all over again!

Room Tip: One bed in the 8-room dorm is right under the A/C, so if you get that you might be cold. But a heavy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

What is the best about this hostel is staff! They are very helpful, ready to talk to you and give a lot of advices about Kiev and traveling around Ukraine. I think in this price it is one of the best choice in Kiev. The Hostel itself is very nice, rooms are clean and content comfortable beds. Lockers make stay secure. Atmosphere during my stay (4 days) was great. There were a lot of backpackers, even guys who walks on foot!!! from England to Australia!! Thanks guys for great stay! I will come back next summer for sure:)

Room Tip: I stayed in the double "rocket" and industrial room, both nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Why Not? Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Why Not? Hostel

Address: 30/3 Saksahanskoho Street, Kiev 01033, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Kiev
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Why Not? Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Why Not? Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.