We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old Opera House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Opera House of Ukraine

National Opera House of Ukraine
Volodymyrska 50, Kiev, Ukraine
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 501 things to do in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Knoxville
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great old Opera House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I saw a Ukrainian Opera there. Beautiful old wood building. Didn't understand a word but had a fantastic time. Cost was reasonable. I think seats upfront were around $25.
They had solid brass numbered coat checks. If it wasn't sold cold I would have left the coat and kept the coat check.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    48
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went there in Oct 13 to see the firebird of Stravinsky. Fantastic!!!
The building is beautiful, we also enjoyed a nice exhibition of opera's costumes.
2 adults and 1 child: price was 30 euros for a prime location seats
The kiev orchestra is super professional and excellent
Book on internet and go there if you are in Kiev

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful theater, excellent troupe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a chance to see Sleeping Beauty ballet at the National Opera House. The building itself is lovely inside and out. The seats in loges are not the most comfortable, go for the front rows in those if you can. But the performance - from the orchestra to the dancers was excellent. Compared to St. Petersburg, Moscow and New York the dancers as a whole can hold their own with two of the male dancers being as good as we have seen in a long while. The chorus dancers for this ballet were a mix of younger and older ones, and it showed. Still, we are beyond happy to have gone.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best place in Ukraine for an opera or ballet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

There is not much to say indeed, it is the best quality high class entertainment you can find.
All the performers are super pro, and the orchestra is beyond praise.
The buffet though is pricey and without much to choose from.
But they have recently opened a restaurant on the ground floor which may just compensate for that.
This place is worth visiting!
And the price for a ticket varies from 5 to 30 Euros, not bad as for me.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Both the exterior and interior are amazing. It is a huge building. The inside is like a museum. We watched the swan lake and really recomend it

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Opera House of Ukraine also viewed

 

Been to National Opera House of Ukraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Opera House of Ukraine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.