We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saw a ballet here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Opera House of Ukraine

National Opera House of Ukraine
Volodymyrska 50, Kiev, Ukraine
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 323 Attractions in Kiev
Attraction details
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Saw a ballet here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a wonderful old building with spectacular acoustics reminicent of Carnegie Hall in New York. There are no bad seats. We watched a ballet based on Gogol's "Night Before Christma". Beautiful dancing but I found the musical score rather dioscordant. Just to be in this beautiful venue is wiorth the price of admission.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    48
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A bit of Kulture in Kiev!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were fortunate enough to get tickets for Madam Butterfly - it appeared to be a fairly full house but we managed to book in advance. Performance was in Italian with Ukrainian subtitles, sets backdrop and costumes were superb and the quality of the performers was excellent. A pleasant interlude between acts is to have a glass of bubbles and some smoked salmon plus time to stroll around to view the interior of the opera house. Great value for money and nice to see the locals enjoying it too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Swan Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Never having been to the ballet before I was unsure what to expect. It was fab, I loved every minute of it. The bar facilities were a bit basic and your drink was served in a plastic cup which surprised me, however the overall experince was brilliant

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great Opera House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It is a must see in Kiev, but I must admit that the one in Odessa is more impressive. Still, it needs to be on your list of attractions

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
146 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
“Lovely, a work of art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I went with my family to view two shows: Romeo and Juliette and Eugene Onegin. Both were superbly presented with amazing talent and lovely costumes and sets. The building itself is well maintained and a work of art in itself. I definitely recommend going and seeing one of the productions there.

I would caution the unknowing tourist about the service people in this opera house. They tend to be snappy and rude, which is unfortunately a part of left over Soviet culture. The toilets didn't have toilet paper and soap on one of the evenings, which is indicative of the corruption endemic in this country.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Opera House of Ukraine also viewed

 

Been to National Opera House of Ukraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Opera House of Ukraine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.