We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing like it in North America” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Aviation Museum

State Aviation Museum
1 Medova Str., Kiev, Ukraine
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 500 things to do in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nothing like it in North America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A full array of Russian aircraft including a cruise missile. My husband could have stayed there for days. You can also climb onboard several of the aircraft and pretend you're a pilot.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    24
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting visit worth the trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a great museum with many interesting aircraft of many types. Civilian and military fixed wing and helicopters of many different kinds and years are on display. It is a little out there, but a taxi ride was no problem. Getting back to the hotel was a little more difficult, and we walked quite a way before finding a taxi, but it was worth it. Cheap admission also a plus.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best aviation museums in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Huge museum with lots of important aircraft built in Soviet Union, both military and civil. It is an open-air museum and you can visit cabins of Ilyushin IL-62 and Tupolev 154. All were very well maintained on their displays, it is a very nice program for the whole family, of especial interest for children and aviation enthusiasts. It had snow all over, which added beauty to it, I spent 3 hours there but could easily stayed more, will come back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namsos, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must if you are interested in airplanes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We took the metro to Demiivska and jumped in a taxi there. He promtly drove us to the Aeroport Kyiv Zhuliany instead of the museum, but it was only 1,5 km away so we walked there in a couple of minutes. I suggest you use the adress listed above if taking a taxi..

The museum is cheap and massive, sporting 90+ airplanes, both civilian and military. Some you can pay a few UAH's to step inside. Only the huge UN cargo helicopter (sadly the cockpit is a mockup, but you can sit in the pilot seat) and a commercial airliner (where the pilot seats where closed of) where available to enter.

The souvenir shop was a small air traffic tower, but sadly only had plastic model sets and a few pricey framed pictures

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“How to get to the State Aviation Museum by public transport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Further to Jaerl’s review below here is my experience of how to get to this great museum which is well worth the trip (we were there in May 2013).

Following a bit of online research we figured we could get there by metro and bus (no. 220). We were staying at a hotel close to Palats Ukraina metro station, we took the metro two stops south to Demiiskva (2 UAH each, on way). From the metro station we walked down the hill (north) and used the underpass to cross the road. We then looked for the stop for the 220 bus but it was not apparent, then the 220 marshrukta arrived and somewhat impulsively we got on that figuring it must follow the same route; being our first time on a marshrukta we had no idea what to do but after quickly observing the locals it was apparent, politley tap the person in front of you, give them the fare (3 UAH each, one way, the fare was displayed at the front of the bus) and they pass it to the driver (couldn’t see this working in the UK...). The 220 marshrukta’s terminal stop is right at the museum gate.

In all it was a fairly easy journey and well worth it. In some cases the aircraft are not fenced in so you can get up close to them (Tu - 95, Tu - 22M, Su - 25) we also paid a small fee to get a look around the inside of a huge Mi - 26 'Halo' helicopter.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Aviation Museum also viewed

 

Been to State Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Aviation Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.