We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with some downsides” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bakkara Art-Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bakkara Art-Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bakkara Art-Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Venice Island, 1 | Hydropark Subway Station, Kiev 02660, Ukraine   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 113 hotels in Kiev
CLEETHORPES
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel with some downsides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in this hotel at the beginning of November 2013. Paid extra for a nicely sized riverview room (the hotel is in a floating "barge") on a bed & breakfast basis. My room had a balcony accessed by French windows although you were advised not to open these due to the air conditioning (what's the point in having an accessible balcony when you're not allowed on it).
The bathroom was rather on the small side but was clean, as was the bedroom and hotel in general. Breakfast was a typical continental help yourself buffet, with plenty of cold choices and also some hot options (although these were generally lukewarm). There was only 1 rather slow coffee machine which meant there was quite often a small queue for coffee. Didn't have any other meals in the hotel so can't comment on these. There is a night club in the basement but as my room was on the 3rd floor I wasn't disturbed by this. But you should be aware the sound insulation between bedrooms is not too good and one night I was kept awake for a few hours by the antics of the guests in the adjacent bedrooms.............
The hotel is situated a few minutes walk through a lightly wooded park from Hydropark metro station which is only a few stops from the city centre. The hotel does provide a free minibus to and from the metro station which I imagine would be useful on dark evenings as the park is possibly not the safest of places at night.
Be aware that if you do use the metro, most of the stations in the centre of Kiev are deep underground and can only be accessed by very long & relatively fast moving escalators; if like me you don't like escalators then that could cause problems. Hydropark metro station is above ground and is easily accessible by a few steps.

Room Tip: I had a river view room looking towards the centre of Kiev; the park view rooms (unless you have a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaBasarab, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Bakkara Art-Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank You, for such a good and detailed review about Your staying with us. I want to comment a few positions: we use the cards with advising not to open the window only for letting You know that the air-conditioner is working better with the balcony being closed, but it doesn’t mean that You cannot open it at all. Thank You for Your remark about coffee machine, it was passed to the restaurant management. Unfortunately, because of specific of building, the soundproof is not our strong point. But You can always ask the room without neighbors. Always ready to help You with Your the new reservation.
Kind regards,
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    78
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
15
39
16
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel last Saturday for one night with my daughter and son. Got metro from town out and there was a mini bus waiting to collect people and bring them bags and all to hotel, which by the way, without bags is an easy walk. Arrived at hotel to be faced with a lot so steps but as quick as lightening there was this young man in a uniform coming up the steps to carry our bags. Checked in by very nice staff who spoke English and bags taken to room by same young man. Oh my God the room was fantastic. A huge bed, pullout bed and massive space. Balcony looking over river and across to Kiev city. The lights were lovely at night. The bathroom was so clean and the extra bits such as slippers, bathrooms, toothbrushes and tooth paste, shaving kit, etc. were excellent. Not a sound to be heard once you closed the door to balcony. Didn't have breakfast but dining room looked lovely. Travelled to another Ukrainian city that evening and the stored our bags so we had a fantastic few hours exploring Kiev. When we returned to collect bags the rang taxi for us to take us to the railway station. Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to any traveller. Very easy get in and out of Kiev using metro.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaBasarab, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Bakkara Art-Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank You for finding time to leave such a warm review about staying at our hotel. On behalf of the entire team I want to thank You for Your kind comments about our staff. The Guests’ pleasant experience is an integral part of the service we want to deliver and it is extremely important for the team to know that our Guest had an enjoyable time with us. It is great to hear that our shuttle bus was useful for You and You were pleasantly surprised with extra bits in the room. It is necessary to admit that our motto is “we care about details” so I’m happy, that You felt it. I want to assure You that You and Your family are always welcomed back to Bakkara.
Kind regards,
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I must admit, this is the first hotel I've stayed in with a strip club built in (and advertised throughout)! Apart from the wafts of cigarette smoke from the basement, though, and scantily-dressed girls handing out flyers at dinner, the rest of the boat seemed well insulated. If at all possible, and your budget allows, it's well worth going for a 4th-floor river-view suite. Really decent size room and wonderful views from the balcony. Sadly, I was in a 'park' view suite with no view to speak of. Friendly and helpful staff but the restaurant was very disappointing at breakfast and dinner. Not a bad location near the metro and a 25-min walk from the International Exhibition Centre.

Room Tip: Go for the fourth floor, river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaBasarab, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Bakkara Art-Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank You for Your kind review. It is very nice to hear that You liked Your room and that our stuff was helpful for You. I agree with You that our rooms on the 4th floor are really special, with beautiful river view and romantic atmosphere. I’m glad that You found our location good and comfortable. Always happy to see You in our hotel.
Kind regards
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storm Lake, Iowa, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel room was of a descent size and was clean, the hotel was built into a barge that is floating on the river. and it had a great view of the Kiev skyline across the river. the people at the reception desk spoke English, and were willing an able to help you get a taxi. the staff at the breakfast didn't know English but they got some one that did.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaBasarab, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Bakkara Art-Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Eric,
We appreciate very much, that You found time to share Your impressions about staying at Bakkara. Iit is very pleasant to know that You enjoyed Your room (especially river view) and our stuff was helpful for You. We have taken a note about Your remark of restaurant staff. Thank You once more for shoving us the way to make our service better. You are always welcomed back.

Kind regards,
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

It is hard to evaluate this hotel as now it is worse than it was year ago. What has not changed - is the location - the room with a view on a river is just wonderful!!! And it is a perfect choice for romantic weekend. But if you are on a business trip and want to relax after business meetings please remember that there is night club on -1 floor which excludes your possibility to rest. The staff was quite slow to solve any problems I had during my recent 3-day stay. Also there appeared black flies - in my room, in lobby, even at restaurant. It is very annoying. But the cuisine at Piano Bar is good as always. Also furnishing of the rooms is very pleasant.

Room Tip: River view room highly recommended!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaBasarab, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Bakkara Art-Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank You for finding time to share Your impressions with us. First of all I want to apologize for all inconveniences You faced with during Your staying with us. All critical comments were passed to the department managers and we would work on it to improve the level of our service. I really hope You will give us a chance to change Your mind and to show You real hospitality of Bakkara hotel. I’m always ready to help You with the reservation for the next visit.

Kind regards,
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
191 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Rerouted here from a complacently hugely over booked Rus.

Not prepared for our arrival but given a spacious room at the back of the hotel, which is a boat.

The bathroom rather small with a messy shower arrangement.

Service in the restaurant was slow, the bar better. There is a basement club/karaoke/girlie meeting place didn’t go there.

Young lady concierge helpful with Business Services and taxi bookings them booking meant the price in non metered cars agreed and competitive, for foreigners at least. Also drivers knew where you want to go.

Nice river setting but a bit out of it, quire than the city though, I have stayed there before. Complimentary bus to Hydropark Metro. 3 or 4 stops to centre

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaBasarab, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Bakkara Art-Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest,
I remember Your check in time, it was really unpredictable situation. But even with those conditions, we tried to show You only the best service. It is great to know, that in spite of this we succeeded. I will pass Your words to our concierge, I'm sure she will be happy. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience with shower in Your room and restaurant service. We will do our best to amend it. Your review is the best motivation for our team to make our service better. Waiting for Your next visit!

Kind regards,
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Rus to be told they were overbooked and we would be transfered to another Accord hotel called Bakkara which is a little bit out of town. After the initial annoyance we realised that we would have to just accept it.

The free transfer bus took us across the Dnipro river and I was thinking oh hell we are miles away but straight over the bridge we were at the hotel and bemused that it was a boat on the river. We enterted the hotel joking about gang planks to find a very attractive hotel with a great location. We were put into a room with a river view which was superb not massive but adequate.
The following day after a decent buffet breakfast we walked to the Hydropark metro which is actually a small complex of bars/restaurants with various activities.

The metro is 5 mins walk and costs about 20 pence.

The hotel turned out to be excellent with a couple of bars and a reasonable restaurant.

So if you are told you are being moved from the Rus to the Bakkara don't be too disappointed as it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaBasarab, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Bakkara Art-Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank You, for such a positive and warm review about Your staying in Bakkara Accord hotel. It is really great to hear that You were pleasantly surprised with our service and high standards. All our team tries to make Your staying with us only enjoyable and with a good emotions. Be sure to know that You are always welcomed here in the future!

Kind regards,
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bakkara Art-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakkara Art-Hotel

Address: Venice Island, 1 | Hydropark Subway Station, Kiev 02660, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kiev
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kiev
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kiev
#24 Business Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bakkara Art-Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bakkara Art-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakkara Art Hotel Kiev

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakkara Art-Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.