We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good quality food at very good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Krym

Krym
1 Shevchenka lane, Kiev, Ukraine
+38 044 451 74 18
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #202 of 869 Restaurants in Kiev
Cuisines: Eastern European
Restaurant details
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good quality food at very good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I visited several times this restaurant and could not stay away from it while I was in Kiev this week.As it says in Lonely Planet guide you can enjoy a good quality meal at dirt cheap prices.Meat stew/soup(Laghman) , Solyanka(soup) and Shashliki(Barbeque) were very good and you can have a nice break after long warm sunny day in Kiev right next to Maydan Nezaleshnosti square. I did not want to go to the basement with nicely created garden atmosphere but stayed outside area to enjoy the view while having my beer.Typical Crieman-Tatar Ukranian food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Different taste of Ukraine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Very good authentic cuisine. It's so different from Ukrainian national. that's what Ukrainians and guests are eating in Crimea during summer vacations.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and drink and stay on budget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Ate here twice during Euro cup 2012 and was dirt cheap and good. The Ukrainian/Russian menu has more than the English so if you can read thats a bonus.
The crispy Tatar salad, manti, cheburek,soups, lula kebab, and tatar pasteries are choice. Get some Crimean wine or cognac with that!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
778 helpful votes 778 helpful votes
“Worst lunch in years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Krym was the place we used to drop in when in need of a very quick lunch. It’s conveniently located and its food used to be tastier than in other cafes in the area. Not any longer

Bakla Shorbasi mutton soup that I know from our Crimea trips as delicious was nothing but water with strong mutton smell and a few pieces of potato, pepper and beans and a small piece of meat that we didn’t even risk to try. Avoid! My favourite pilaff was dry and lacked meat. And togerek-yantyk (non-fermented dough pancakes) with cheese was impossible to bite so hard it was, although supposed to be fresh-cooked.

No good place in Kyiv keeps up as good for too long. Krym has just proved this axiom. I haven’t been there since April and hardly will ever come back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

spending a week in Kiev, food is overall disappointing. Krym is a nice little place. food is average and not particularly tasty. I though in Crimea they use more spices. Portions are small but reasonable priced. Nice herbal teas. friendly staff. Considering the low food standards in Kiev, Krym is o.k.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krym also viewed

 

Been to Krym? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krym, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.