We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Italian in bright hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mille Miglia Restaurant

Mille Miglia Restaurant
22 Yaroslaviv Val Street, Kiev 01034, Ukraine
00380-44-492-2255
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 869 Restaurants in Kiev
Price range: $36 - $72
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: 'Mille Miglia' is a name given to a road race for sport and vintage cars created in 1926 to run over 1000 miles in Italy. The restaurant is inspired by the progressive design, elegance and relaxed atmosphere of the race. Our Italian Chef, Fabrizio, cooks some of the best traditional Italian food, using only the finest Italian products. The menu offers a taste of the distinctive cuisine and wines of the regions of Italy.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent Italian in bright hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent friendly service, good food. The baby octopus salad was served in a sauce reminiscent of canned Ragu, but the pappardelle bolognese was very tasty. Wine selection predictable (mass produced Italian wines), but they were fresh and well -suited to the food. Dessert of ice cream was very good. Main complaint is the bright lights and lack of warmth. Made up for by very friendly server and nice touch of Amaretto aperitif on the house.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRadissonKiev, Manager at Mille Miglia Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Chad
thanks a lot for your feedback on Mille Miglia which is well received and taken on board. If I may, the baby octopus dish was actually freshly made but I agree it may not be for everyone's taste.
Hope to meet you in person whenever you are back in the neighbourhood.
Yours,
andreas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    22
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kiev
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not every Italian knows how to cook”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The starters were good, not great for that price, the pasta with seafood was delicious but the lasagna was very disappointing and not like explained in the menu. We complained and got a crazy stupid answer: 'our cook is from Florence' as if every Italian can cook..

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRadissonKiev, General Manager at Mille Miglia Restaurant, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Bridget,

Thank you for finding time to leave your comment about our restaurant. I agree the response from our restaurant staff member could be a bit more refined and I promise you we are working on that already.
As to the lasagna – the way we do it here is rather different from most places – it is done a-la-minute and therefore giving a different culinary experience. I can of course not judge the one you were served on that occasion but usually we get positive feedback from our patrons. Nevertheless your feedback is been taken very serious.
Feel free to contact our Chef Niccolo Rossi for any possible future visit to the restaurant as he would love to share with you his culinary philosophy.

Tanti saluti Andreas Flückiger - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not bad Italian food in Kiev”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Excellemt location being in Radisson (it is his restaurant).
It isn't first time, I come often during my business trip. service is accurate, Italian food is really acceptable (I am Italian) and you find not fettuccine and saltimbocca but also some tipical dish.
Price in line for this type of restaurant in Kiev

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahone Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“True unpretencious Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Since Mille Miglia got its new chef Niccolo it became one of the milestones on the restaurant's map of Kyiv. The menu is quite small but very consistent and tasty! Nothing really to complain about. My favourits - seafood soup (very light and yummy), salmon ravioli with black truffle sauce and of course tiramisu! Special attention should be paid to a wine list here - I would recommend to try Cometa and La Segreta Bianca (both white, from Planeta family, Sicily).

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Kyyivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Truly Italian downtown Kyiv”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Downtown hideaway of truly Italian cuisine - be it Carpaccio, Caprese, supetta di pesce or pasta. The salmon in pesto cause, if still served when you visit - highly recommended: banal as salmon step may sound, this version is nothing but the embodiment of haut cuisine - uniquely done medium, do take it as it comes to enjoy the succulent salmon in rich pesto sauce served with few springs of asparagus. Delicious, bravo, chef!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mille Miglia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mille Miglia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mille Miglia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.