We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most charming friendly place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tsarske Selo

Tsarske Selo
42/1 Mazepy Str., Kiev, Ukraine
(+38044) 288-9775
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 772 restaurants in Kiev
Cuisines: Ukrainian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
“A most charming friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

as soon as my fiancee and myself walked in we were warmly greeted. The food was a masterpiece. I cannot fault the tsarske selo in any way. The staff were brilliant polite and friendly

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    34
    33
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great place to get to know Ukraine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

i got recommended from a local friend and did build to much expectations...
when the door opened we discovered an authentic historicy
the place is designed like an old kozak home and there is 3 musicians that sing old songs
the food was GREAT i eat a "Kiev chicken" as a main dish and some red caviar as first.
we also ordered "PILMENY" which is a local kind of boild dumplinks filled with rabbit meat!
one of the best in KIev! recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ukrainian-style meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The restaurant located on the street that goes down the hill past Lavra. It is a perfect place if you are looking for a traditional Ukrainian meal. The whole atmosphere of the restaurant will bring you into Ukrainian village with sunflowers, clay jars and fences. The place is a bit touristy. The quality of food is great and of a great value - I loved potato pancakes, varenyky and pear desert.
Tables on the terrace are spacious and could fit 10 people easily. Would recommend this place for a dinner with friends.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Traditional but touristy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Attention. This place is not the cccp as someone wrote and it is on lavrska street 22. Close to pechersk lavra.

It Is very traditional but clearly focused on big tourist groups. At the entrance they spoke English but our waiter did not. Inside the place is decorated in farm style. Looks really nice but the place is packed with tables. We had Borsch and pancakes. Both dishes were good.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great after a day spent between the Mother Land Statue and the Lavra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Good food and a great ambiance.
WE went there after spending the day visiting the nearby sites which made a good finish to our day.
A bit pricey but overall fair.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsarske Selo also viewed

 
Kiev, Ukraine
Kiev, Ukraine
 

Been to Tsarske Selo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tsarske Selo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.