We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit even though there is no information in English” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Patriotic War Museum

Great Patriotic War Museum
Lavrskaya st., 24, Kiev, Ukraine
(44)285-94-52
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 501 things to do in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit even though there is no information in English”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are interested in war memorabilia I'd recommend a visit. The museum exhibits a nice collection of vehicles and artifacts.

The museum seems to be laid out in a way that presents the war and stories relating to the war in an informative and interesting way. However, being a non-russian speaker I lost all the context and it gave me a lot less than it could have if the display texts had been in English as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    116
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palermo, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“bitter memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

One of the greatest places I visited in Ukraine. I'be never been emotional about ww2, but this museum not only shows how the nation suffered during the war, but it also celebrates the glory of it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radomlje
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Titanium piece of art...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If in Kiev you definitely have to visit this site. Huge titanium statue is amazing and if you can take the tour to the top you wont regret it... There are a bunch of other interesting things to see here and the view is great.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a must visit place for military history fans and ordinary people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

fantastic experience. both outside walking around the modern and 2nd world war vehicles and then inside. a very very moving museum. very typical of the soviet block i terms of large patiotic statues etc. but the place is very moving. you start to get an understanding of what the 2nd world war meant on the eastern front........

make sure you pay a lttle extra in the outside areas to use your camera and sit in the mig 21

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fascinating, and also very moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I didn't set aside enough time to do justice to this place, but it is a fascinating reminder of a very painful epispode in history, all done on a literally monumental scale

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Patriotic War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Great Patriotic War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Patriotic War Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.