We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget option” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Puzata Hata

Puzata Hata
24 Sahaidachnoho St, Kiev, Ukraine
+38 (044) 391 46 99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 776 restaurants in Kiev
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Budget option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Service is quick, food is tasty for those who like ukrainian cuisine, but the quality sometimes may be not on the best level.

But still for the place where you can take all 3 courses and a dessert for 5-7 euro is good enough.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    178
    126
    68
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“A good budget option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

There are several branches around Kiev, but we visited the one on vul Sahaydachnoho. I met with a local who introduced me to this place, saying that it's kind of the Ukrainian fast food buffet of choice. Few people actually understand English, so it's better to go with a local or someone who speaks Ukrainian and/or Russian. You simply pick up a tray, stand in line, and point at what you want.

The food is decent and the prices are extremely cheap. A full meal for two people with a pint of beer each didn't even cost me 12$. So if you want to sample different things at a budget-friendly place, Puzata Khata is definitely the restaurant to go to!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Kyyivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not good, barely edible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This place is self-service that serves predominantly Ukrainian dishes. It is a self service chain with most restaurants downtown or located in some malls. Some of them differ a lot for interiors and some details in the menu. I have been to most of them, I must confess food is barely edible. It is not that cheap after all, considering that it's all national food, but hey, that's Kyiv, a very expensive town, so, I am not surprised. Most food looks like chemically processed and then just warmed up and served. Portions are so ridiculously small that it seemed to me to be in a candid camera when the waitress, weighed my already small-as-hell plate and took out one piece of potato...hihi
Comparing prices, McDonald's offers better menues at competitive prices! And service is way better! (Puzata hata weitesses barely look into your eyes and seeing them smiling is simply impossible...Ok, low wages, but at McDonald's they surely do not pay more, but at least they are nice) . So I guess I would never recommend this place unless you are on a budget and willing to taste some " traditional" Ukrainian food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“cheap, quick, tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Advantages - it is quite cheap, tasty, you can try ukrainian specialities, they accept credit cards
Disadvantes - it's a self-service cafe, often crowded (the queue goes really fast though), sometimes it's hard to find a free table (but it's normaly possible)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Authentic Ukrainian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I am from Denmark, but travels 1 or 2 times a year to ukraine.

If you are looking for real home made ukrainian food, visit one of the many restaurants there is in Kyiv of this Puzata Hata.
I usually eat at the one in mandarin Plaza, but been to 3 others, same quality, same Price.

We can eat 2 people, salade, fish with potatoes, and desert for less than 12 Euro.
Don't show you are foreigner, that makes it some what more expensive :-)

It is like eating at farmers houses in the country side, so enjoy and get the feeling of being ukrainian.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puzata Hata also viewed

 
Kiev, Ukraine
Kiev, Ukraine
 

Been to Puzata Hata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puzata Hata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.