We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and inexpensive accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Partner Guest House

Save Saved
You added Partner Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Partner Guest House
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Baseina Street 19, Kiev 01004, Ukraine   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 244 Specialty lodging in Kiev
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very convenient and inexpensive accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Four of us (all relatives) travelled to Kiev in August. We’ve spent 1 night at 44 Shota Rustaveli Street. Please note that Partner Guest House has apartments at several locations, but their reception is located at 19 Baseina Street. So in order to check-in to any of the apartments you need to arrive at 19 Baseina Street first. The staff was very friendly and professional. As we’ve arrived early (before the official check-in time at 2PM) they kindly allowed us to leave our luggage at 19 Baseina Street so we could take a nice walk in the city and accommodated early check at noon at no charge as the room became available. The check-in process was easy – they gave us keys for our apartment at 44 Shota Rustaveli Street and gave directions on how to get there (about 10mins walk). Taxi would be very cheap but we’ve decided that we could save some time walking instead of waiting for taxi so we’ve walked.
The apartment was very nice with two rooms: 1st room had queen size bed while 2nd room had a pull-out sofa. It was perfect for four of us. The apartment itself was very clean, had free Wi-Fi, nice interior, A/C, TV, Kitchen, Towels – all the basics you need. What is also important we felt save and secure and we only paid $80. Therefore, taking into consideration the value, location and amenities I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
17
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I am specifically reviewing this company's flats at Kreshchatyk 15 (4 flats) and Kreshchatyk 17 (3 flats). I have used Partner Guesthouse twice and am extremely impressed with the standard of their accommodation. The quality of these flats is 4-star for a 3-star price, or on some nights only a 2-star price. The location of these two buildings is ideal and no hotel exists with such a central location. The only thing lacking is blackout curtains or even proper curtains that are wide enough for the windows, a common problem throughout the former Soviet Union. Partner Guesthouse's service is good too. For example, when I reported by e-mail that all the hot and cold water had stopped working, although the company has no staff on site, the response was instant and someone was sent to fix the problem within a few minutes.

However, I would not recommend their airport transfer service, which costs slightly more than a pre-booked taxi and which has safety issues. Their drivers dangerously use mobile phones while driving without a hands-free, and one of their cars had no rear seat belts or brake pads (judging from the loud noise coming from the brakes). Even if you make your own arrangements from the airport to the company's office, their driver will take you to your accommodation without charge. Also beware of the USD/UAH exchange rate that Partner Guesthouse uses to convert their quoted USD price for a card payment in UAH; it includes a 1% markup in their favour. I therefore recommend asking for a price quoted in UAH or to pay in USD cash.

Partner Guesthouse will always be my first choice for accommodation in Kiev and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Kreshchatyk 17/43.3 (KV191) has amazing views over Kreshchatyk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Background:
My 4 friends and I stayed here for 7 days.

Room:
The room was extremely spacious with clean sheets, clean bathroom, and clean room overall. The room we had consisted of 2 beds total (1 queen bed and 1 sofa pull out). We were easily able to spread out and not feel cramped. The bathroom and shower very nice, and shower was separate from the commode, which was convenient for the 4 of us traveling together. The shower was a bit small, but had plenty of consistent hot water despite it being served by a single hot water tank. If flow was turned up completely it might spill out onto the floor as the drain didn’t drain very well. Beds are firm but comfortable. Curtains need to be darker if you plan on sleeping in a little late. In summer in Kiev, the sun gets up early, and the curtains don’t cover the windows in either of the rooms, so expect to be up when the sun is up unless you have some sleeping eye wear. This room DOES HAVE air conditioning - very nice amenity in Kiev summers. Initially going into our building, it was frightening, take a sketchy elevator or stairs in a dark scary building, open up an initial door to the hallway with chains in it, and then another door finally to the room, but if you can get past that, the room is wonderful. Excellent free wi-fi signal!

Location:
Excellent, excellent, excellent! You can’t ask for a better place to stay that is less than a 5 minute walk to the main drag.

Service:
This was by far the biggest complaint here. While everyone was cheerful and helpful, arranging taxis on our return trip back to the airport was one of the biggest clusters I’ve experienced. We paid for our fare back, the hotel accepted our money for taking 4 people to the airport with luggage. When the taxi driver came, he balked and charged us more citing increased risk of taking so many people with luggage as supposedly it’s illegal to have luggage in a car in Kiev. Whatever. The taxi driver called the hotel and the hotel did absolutely nothing to help us and forced us to pay additional money. Not sure if it was an organized scam, but it left an incredibly bad taste in our mouth. The hotel should have anticipated our needs since we booked 4 people with luggage. Big fail here. Watch out. -2 Stars.

Food:
No breakfast served, but the room contains a fridge, and a grocery store is just a couple minute walk. Drink, eat, and be merry to your heart’s content.

CLIFF NOTES:
In conclusion, I WOULD STAY here again. It cheap for 4 of us staying and the apartment itself had an amazing value and the location is unbeatable. Customer service was sub-par considering the issues with arranging taxi transportation back to the airport I’m not sure how you would get around this so it might be something you have to swallow, but the hotel needs to figure this out. Excellent free wi-fi and AC.

TO THE HOTEL:
You could have saved yourself 2 stars and had a glaringly positive review if you didn’t tell us it was our fault having luggage and just paying the extra $10 out of your slush fund while we were 50% on our way to the airport. You tried calling our bluff on the poor review, and guess what – you lose, review is as promised.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Never judge a book from the cover!
I didn´t have any high expectation when I booked this apartment but I really was surprised when I opened the door. There was a nice and clean sitting room with air condition & large flat TV.
Free WiFi access!
A large bed room with a huge wardrobe. The apartments are remodeled & face lifted with a very good standard.
In the bath room there was both a shower and a big tub with hydromassage.
There is a transfer service from Borispil to the apartment and back which I recommend you to use.
Next time in Kiev I will rent from Partner Guest House again.

Room Tip: Apartments at Baseina 19 are close to Xreshatik and Supermarket Billa and Dominos Pizza is your neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have stayed in several places in eastern Europe where hotels usually are expensive in relation to the quality. Having been to Kyiv before we knew which neighbourhood we wanted to stay and based on the reviews we opted for the Partner Guesthouse. We were not disappointed at all. Locationwise it seemed all appartments were more or less central - ours was near the Dinamo Stadion. What we especially liked, was that the appartment we had was located in an ordinary residential appartment block. Living for two weeks between ordinary Ukrainians is great. It really gives you the opportunity to sample normal life. Obviously the apartment building is authentic in a lot of ways. The elevator was not for the faint-hearted and what at some but in time was a chute was now closed off. The only thing remembering of the garbage disposal unit was the intense smell in the stair well. Al these 'authentic' features - which we did expect were gone were opened when we entered our airy and fresh apartment. It could have come straight from a brochure from Ikea. It was very comfortable with a good bed, enough bedlinen and towels (changed several times during our stay) and a washing machine should we want to do anything ourselves. Obviously we didn't cook there - but there was one pan which would have made it possible nonetheless.... Internet (WiFi) and cable tv were available as was an airconditioner.

We used the pick-upservice from Borispil which was of a very good price, convenient and helpful. All in all we paid for our stay half of that what we would have done in p.E. hotel Rus.
Booking was easy via their site and communication was swift and friendly via e-mail in english when i contacted them before departure. Next time we will definitely stay again at Partner Guest House in Kiev.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have stayed in their apartment at 15 Khreschatyk Street from June 2 to June 7. The location of the apartment was perfect for tourist, close to many sightseeing places, restaurants and underground shopping center.

The apartment itself is very new, clean and reasonably quiet, even the building the apartment located in is well-lighted and safe, you don't need to go through quiet and dark alleys to enter the building. Also, the apartment is one of the four compartments of a unit in the building, there are always other travelers around, this provided me extra confidence on the safety issue. Further, there is a washing and drying machine, which is very convenient if you are planning to have a long stay.

Besides, the managers of partnerguesthouse commanded good english and replied my questions very quickly. They are friendly and professional. I also used their transfer service to and from airport. You can just pay for the transfer during check-in and do not need to pay to the driver. This avoided any problem in case of any dishonest driver (But I have to emphasize that the drivers they provided were very punctual, responsible and polite)

Overall, if I am going to visit Kiev again, I will definitely choose to stay at Partnerguesthouse. I highly recommend partnerguesthouse to other travelers.

Room Tip: I recommend travelers to pick rooms near independence square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I rent Partner Guest House apartments from time to time - when I need to stay in the city center all night - each time I am impressed with outstanding service they provide to their clients: always fresh and clean apartments with very good interior - it is a real pleasure to stay here.
They also have quite flexible prices - it is a bonus too.

Room Tip: Kreschatyk 17 apartments are really good (good view from the window)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Partner Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Partner Guest House

Address: Baseina Street 19, Kiev 01004, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 244 Specialty lodging in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Partner Guest House 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Partner Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Partner Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.