We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Square for people watching overground and below” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maidan Nezalezhnosti (Independence Square)

Maidan Nezalezhnosti (Independence Square)
Maidan Nezalezhnosti, Kiev, Ukraine (Lypky)
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 323 Attractions in Kiev
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Attraction details
Winnipeg Canada
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
111 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
“Good Square for people watching overground and below”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a limited amount of time here. There was the rush pace of the traffic. But underground in the shopping mall the pace was more relaxed. Under ground is much bigger than you first think so take your time and enjoy some of the best shopping of Kiev.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    77
    22
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
117 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“fascinating place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was sure to visit Independence Square because I remembered seeing the thousands of people camping out during the Orange Revolution in 2004. But I didn't know about the fountains, the underground market or the statues. This is not only a beautiful square in the center of the city, but also a buzzing center of Kiev.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great, But Be Careful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Unlike my trip to Kiev last year, I actually ventured into Independence Square, and was quite impressed. This is the centre of Kiev, a place where history has taken place, from political protests to concerts, this place has seen it all.

The beautiful fountains everywhere let you sit back and relax, and the cafes around are fantastic for a nice relaxing drink or meal. There’s the underground shopping malls, as you see quite often with the underpasses of main roads in Ukraine, perfect for buying souvenirs for those back in your home country or city.

When I went there in August this year, they were setting up the concert stage for Independence Day, and being in Independence Square on the night of Independence Day was something, a fantastic atmosphere. When I was back in Kiev in September, again they were setting up something there, I’m not sure this time. Near the square there is the iconic flower clock, a stunning floral piece, and behind the monument to Berehynia that looks over you, there is the historic Hotel Ukrayina.

The only issue I had, and something you have to be careful of are the scammers. There are people going around dressed as animals posing for photos, and probably would charge you heaps, and then there are the pigeon carriers, on both sides of Khreshchatyk. Some will leave you alone if you say no (doesn’t matter what language), while others won’t take no for an answer. I was confroted by one guy during my first week there, and I said no to him, but he still put his birds on there and grabbed my camera and started taking pictures of me. He then said it was his work, and I owed him 400 Hryvnia, I was reluctant to give him the money, and then as I was, he said it was then 1000 Hryvnia, because it was two birds! I refused (as I didn’t have the money on me, or any card to get money out), and in the end paid him 600 Hryvnia to leave me alone. These people are the only problem with it, but as I said, most will leave you alone, you just have to be firm with the real hard ones.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Nothing breathtaking about this square, it just happens the be the most central point of some very pompous architecture in the Ukrainian capital. Lots of shops, restaurants, hotels and people here, so of course it's someting of a hotspot you should see. Just don't expect too much. The hotel behind the statue is even uglier in real life than in all the pics.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent evening hang-out spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Independence Square has great fooderies, shops of all kinds, entertainment (photo opportunities, pony rides, live music, jugglers etc), architecture and beautiful fountains. It is right next to 2 main Metro stations so is easily accessible. We went there nearly every evening during our Kiev trip just to people watch and relax. The monuments are impressive and during good weather it's a lovely and lively place to spend a couple of hours.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maidan Nezalezhnosti (Independence Square) also viewed

 

Been to Maidan Nezalezhnosti (Independence Square)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maidan Nezalezhnosti (Independence Square), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.