We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to have an easy meal and good beer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Brien's Irish Pub

O'Brien's Irish Pub
17a Mykhailivska | 5 Minutes on Foot From Maydan, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
+380 44 229 1584
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #219 of 969 Restaurants in Kiev
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Boston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place to have an easy meal and good beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stopped in here for a quick Guinness. Definitely a bar/sports bar format you'll recognize if you are from UK or America. Nothing fancy, but they have a good selection of beers and bar food. Open almost the whole day so you can get breakfast here as well. Short walk from center of Kiev (Maidan Nezalezhnosti) - just down the street from St. Michael's and the Hyatt Regency. Everything is online (http://www.obriens.kiev.ua), so you can check out easily. As elsewhere in Kiev, lack of Ukrainian language skills is not an obstacle to getting good service and understanding the menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    31
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mwanza Region, Tanzania
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“About as Irish as borscht, but good sports and food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

So let's get this out of the way, this is not so much an Irish bar as an expat bar which attracts a mixed bag of Brits and other nationalities. The number and flavour of the clientele varies with the sport that is being shown on the multiple screens upstairs, while downstairs is a more cost plastic paddy bar area.
Food is honest and adequate, tasty pub grub. There is a reasonable range of beers and ciders and prices are middle of the road.
Most staff speak English and the service is friendly although pretty slow most of the time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you're spending a lot of time in Eastern Europe and need a break from local beer and cuisine, this a a good option.
The beer selection is good, and there is free Wi-Fi.
Wait staff speaks English.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not one to visit for the craic - food ok though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you are an ex-pat in Kiev then don't expect to find many British in this pub. I went in one night to watch the football and there were 12 people upstairs and we are talking about the capital city of the Ukraine here. Went in another night on the final round of the Ryder Cup and they had Speedway on ! If you are looking for a craic then this is the least lively Irish pub i have ever visited. The service was slow, but this was not unusual as i found out during my visit in general. The food was good though if you are looking for some familiar dishes, and although not cheap, reasonably priced. So nip in for a quick pint and bite to eat maybe, but wouldn't recommend you staying if you are looking for a lively atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Watched The Footy Here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I called in the day before the English league match I wanted to watch to make sure they were showing it. I spoke to four people before the (presumably) manageress called someone else on the phone. I gathered that this mysterious 'someone else' said it could be shown.
We arrived in good time, pulled up a couple of chairs and bought a couple of Ukrainian beers (about £1.80 per 500ml / pint). The tv was switched on so we could watch the game, but without sound which was a shame, although it was better than the alternative. The place wasn't overly busy although all the tables in our section of the pub were occupied. In another part of the pub, a rock covers band was playing, singing in English but with pronounced Ukrainian accents.
We didn't eat here. When the game finished we drank up and left. Other than to watch football, I wouldn't hurry back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Brien's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to O'Brien's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Brien's Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.