We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel Mr. President

Save Saved
You added Design Hotel Mr. President to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Design Hotel Mr. President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karadjordjeva 75, Belgrade 11000, Serbia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 64 hotels in Belgrade
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My second home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A fantastic hotel with so friendly atmosfere that You will wish to come back so many times like me. In case one wants to visit some interesting place, the reception si there to fulfil all your wishes immediately and help You the best possible way. Rooms are created with a special design which is so amazing that You must see. Breakfast contains various meals which are served by a very kind girl constanty smiling.The staff is so adoring starting from reception to housekeeping cleaning ladies and the waiters in the caffe bar. I must not forget that the parking lot is free of charge and supervised for 24 hours. Finally, I can only say that this is my second home and truly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Take room number 704 with a wonderful view and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    66
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
6
27
34
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Located near main station and close to shopping road.
Very friendly & helpful staff and a clean room, big bed rich variety of breakfast. I was fully satisfied. Definitely I will come back to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatjana V, Manager at Design Hotel Mr. President, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Teddy_Beer_Bear,

Thank your review of the Design Hotel Mr. President.
We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay.
At the Design Hotel Mr. President we do our best to exceed our guests expectations..
Feel free to visit us again soon and have a special memory to remember.

With Warm Regards,

Tatjana Vilček
Executive Director at the
Design Hotel Mr. President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The shower was blocked in our room, after phoning reception the first time we were told someone would be up to fix it immediately, we waited for 20 minutes before calling down again- again was told someone would fix the shower immediately, waited another 20 minutes, called reception again and was then told shower would not be fixed because the maintenance person was out on another job. I had to then ask if I could have a shower in another room, we were then told on the phone that was okay and we could move to the room next door, and that I could come and get the key at reception. We were on the 5th floor and our new room was next door so I thought it unusual that reception staff did not offer to bring us our new room key, considering there was a fault with the room. I was then called back hurriedly when they clearly realised this was poor service and they brought our room key up and apologised, which was fair enough.

We moved rooms and there was instantly a horrible, stuffy smell and the air conditioning wasn't working. I went to telephone reception but found that the phone wasn't connected and there was no cable to plug in. Essentially it was an ornament. I traipsed down to reception to ask about the air conditioning and was told to turn the temperature to 30 degrees which made no sense whatsoever and the reception still were blaze and discourteous when explaining the non-sensical air conditioning system.

We asked reception why our room smelled so bad and were told by it was because the room had not been refreshed by the maids! The hotel seemed fairly quiet so I'm not sure why staff think it's acceptable to transfer guests to a room that has not been prepared properly. We were then moved to the suite which in terms of condition was no different but at least there was less of a smell.

The hotel advertise a taxi service to the airport which clearly states a cost of 2300 serbian dinar for the journey. We went to book this and was told the cost was 600 dinar more at weekends. This is not stated on any of the ads for the taxi service so very misleading.

Generally speaking for what is said to be a 4 star hotel and paying £72 for a room only rate, the condition of the rooms and service was totally unsatisfactory. If we'd had the energy to after all the hassle we would have demanded a full refund but I would never stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatjana V, General Manager at Design Hotel Mr. President, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Ms. Kirk,


Your review has been very useful, as it helped us to make adjustments and eliminate current problems.
We take every complaint seriously and discontent with hotel staff is the biggest issue we have got so far. Constantly, we invest a lot in staff training in order to provide remarkable experience for every single guest and I’m surprised as well as disappointed because their service has not matched your expectations this time. Front Desk staff has been informed about your critics and are aware of the inconvenience they caused. Remarks about room and other facilities have been forwarded immediately to our maintenance department, and these issues have been solved in the shortest period of time.

We truly believe in existence of number of reasons to visit us again, and we are eager to provide you an exceptional stay upon your next visit.

Sincerely,

Tatjana Vilček
Executive Director at
Design Hotel Mr. President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

we loved it! will be back again. Great service, great hotel! Breakfast was lovely, our room was large (got a free suite upgrade as we had their loyalty card and a discount in the restaurant). Free guarded parking, their restaurant has a lot of local crowd so its fun to hang out.

Room Tip: high floor, park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatjana V, Manager at Design Hotel Mr. President, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Michael_S188590,

Thank you for your kind words.

We are very glad that you liked our hotel and services provided.
We will always do everything possible to exceed your expectations.
Feel free to visit us again soon.
Warm regards,

Tatjana Vilček
Executive Director at
Design Hotel Mr. President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Very nice hotel. Nice, clean room and bathroom, friendly and helpful staff. When the electricity in my room went down in the middle of the night (technical problem) I was moved to another room within 15 minutes! The location is great: the central busstation is across the street en the busstops from where you can go to the center of Belgrade (a 15 minutes walk) are also nearby.


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatjana V, Manager at Design Hotel Mr. President, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Nikolina S,

Thank you for your review.
We are very glad that you liked our hotel.
Our staff is very attentive towards all of our guests, and we are pleased when we can answer to all of our guest request.
We would be very happy if you come and visit us again soon.

With Warm Regards,

Tatjana Vilček
Executive Director at
Design Hotel Mr. President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very original concept but poorly maintained. Each room has a painting of different leader. The problem is very poor maintenance. The room looks like minimum twenty years old but in the fact its only six years since the opening. Windows can not be open so one have to keep AC running all day and night to get some clear air otherwise it smells very badly. The food was quite good and the staff are friendly as in Belgrade in general.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatjana V, Manager at Design Hotel Mr. President, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Mr. kulinban,

Thank you for your review.
We are glad to hear that you like the design of our rooms. At the Design Hotel Mr. President, we take every feedback seriously and we will do our best to make a difference on your next visit.
You may always contact us prior to your arrival that you can receive a room with an opening window. We welcome you again soon to see the positive results of your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Tatjana Vilček
Executive Director at
Design Hotel Mr. President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Travelled with my partner to Belgrade May 2013 and stayed for 4 nights at the Design Hotel Mr President. Great impression upon arrival from girl at front desk, spoke perfect english and very helpfull with city information and helping with tours, taxi's etc. The President theme of the hotel is different and i like it, modern and different with lots of little quirky things to look at, better than the normal boring characterless things in other hotels. Another good thing was the room we had was quiet and we both slept soundly, all other room facilities more than adequete.
Breakfast and evening meals also very good - no faults. Big plus also is the cash machine just inside the front door which was really handy.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and walking around Belgrade, very much doubt i would return to Belgrade but if i had to i would look to book here again.

Overall it is a 4 star hotel, with 5 star staff at the price of a 3 star hotel.

Graham & Svitlana
Kiev

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatjana V, Manager at Design Hotel Mr. President, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Grahamlnnes78,

Thank you for your review.
We are very pleased receiving this wonderful comment from you.
Stay assured that we will do our very best to always exceed our guests expectations.
We will be more than happy to have you and your partner as our guests again.
Feel free to contact us for your next reservation that than we can provide you with the more personalized stay.
We are expecting you.

Warm Regards,

Tatjana Vilček
Executive Director at
Design Hotel Mr. President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Design Hotel Mr. President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Mr. President

Address: Karadjordjeva 75, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belgrade
#19 Luxury Hotel in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Mr. President 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy presidential treatment at the Design Hotel Mr. President, which is situated in the heart of the city offering free airport transfer, free wireless internet access and worldwide free phone calls. There are business rooms, suites and a penthouse for you to choose from. Each of the luxurious rooms features a portrait of a world-famous president. The best Serbian artists created 2 small-scale versions - one American and one Serbian - of Mount Rushmore for the Rushmore bar. The entire hotel is decorated with selected artwork including steel and ceramic sculptures and paintings. Hotel Rooms: 61 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Otel and Venere so you can book your Design Hotel Mr. President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Mr President
Design Hotel Belgrade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel Mr. President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.