We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place- Phil is a legend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of In Old Shoes Hostel

In Old Shoes Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added In Old Shoes Hostel to your Saves list
In Old Shoes Hostel
Brankova 18, Belgrade 11 000, Serbia   |  
Hotel amenities
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Great place- Phil is a legend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Arrived late Friday night, Phil was very welcoming. Place was nice, cozy and clean. Stayed in the only double room, nice and warm. We were too hot actually so we were able to turn off the heating and open the window in the room. We loved the sound of traffic whirring past, very soothing for us, but not everyone's cup of tea. Cereal, toast, coffee on tap. Phil was full of info about what to do and where to go. Because it was out of season (stayed around the 20th of December) there was only one other customer staying so it was very quiet. I would highly recommend this hostel- great location. We shall call again should we find ourselves in Serbia. As the title implies, Phil went out of his way to make our stay comfortable. More like a small B&B than a hostel in terms of customer service : ) Have a good new year, Phil!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo, Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Two of us spend a night in this cosy little and totally affordable hostel in the heart of Belgrade. Location is really good, walking distance from everything we wanted to see and we were happy to have a possibility to park our car for free couple of minutes from the hostel. Staff is very helpful, ready to introduce you to Belgrade which we fell in love with. We liked their clean bathroom with real soap boxes:) and great water flush. Room was very cosy, warm enough with clean linens and towels. And the bed was made for sweet dreams. That was a really nice and sweet night in amazing Belgrade . We will be back that is for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed only 1 night (and a complete day after the night) at "In Old Shoes Hostel", but would like to strongly recommend this place. Phil and his serbian employee have been one of the most helpful and friendly persons I have met during my travels. I had a lot of stuff to organize during my short stay, but nevertheless they have been extremely helpful, kind, patient and just friendly. The hostel is quite new, the location is excellent, quite close to the main station, inner city, and some cool and cozy areas, also close to the river Danube etc. etc. (the location itsself is not nice from the outside, though, there is a big and quite ugly street...). To conclude, there is a reason for the good ratings of this hostel. Keep up the good vibrations, Phil!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a really good time staying at this hostel. Phil (the owner) is a great guy who goes out of his way to make sure you have everything you need while staying there and are prepared for the day or night ahead of you. It was very clean, air conditioned and sociable. Wish we could have stayed there longer!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The owner Phil is great. He goes out of his way to make sure everyone is comfortable and wont let you leave without a map of the best things to check out. The hostel is very clean and homely. There is a great atmosphere and it is located between all the major districts you will want to see. I highly recommend In Old Shoes Hostel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

First of all, i would like to thank Phill Davison & his crew for making us feel so welcome. Second, I can only say that In Old Shoes Hostel is an awesome hostel to stay @!
Its location in the centre of Belgrade is just perfect. Close to the main shopping street but also, supermarket, musea, kiosks, clubs & Kaffana's.
Me and my friends had a very good stay en are really going there again!
Thanks so much Phill for your hospitality and care!
Definitely a great place to see all of this beautiful city! For anybody who's about to visit Belgrade, In Old Shoes Hostel is the place to be!!!!

Room Tip: If you're going with a four man team, the room closest to the bathrooms is better. there's s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hostel is great. The owner, Phil, is nice and welcoming. The hostel feels more like a home than a hostel. A few weeks after we have been there, we were passing by Belgrade and had a few hours in between travels. We decided to go back to the hostel to say hi and chat for a bit. I will definitely recommend this hostel to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to In Old Shoes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In Old Shoes Hostel

Address: Brankova 18, Belgrade 11 000, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Try walking in Old Shoes. In Old Shoes Hostel is located just 10 min. walking distance from Main Train and Bus Station and 5 min. from the core of Belgrade. Looking for reeelaxing and cozy environment just come to In Old Shoes Hostel. Staff are two Geographers, but don't ask us about World's Capitols we will not know. But what we know is how to make your stay in Belgrade comfortable and exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your In Old Shoes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage In Old Shoes Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.