We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, you get what you paid for.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Belgrade Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Downtown Belgrade Hostel to your Saves list
Downtown Belgrade Hostel
Karadjordjeva 91, Belgrade 11000, Serbia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Belgrade
Lisbon
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Very good location, you get what you paid for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I only recommend this Hostel if you can skip somethings (We can't forget that we are talking about 7€/night, so it's not a 5* hotel), the building is very very creepy. No luggage room, the lounge couches are not comfortable, BUT:
Staff is amazing, laundry service for 4€ (And they do it for you), and at least my room (6 bed dorm) was big enough.
The Hostel is right across the street if you are exiting on the main train or bus station, very close to both bridges (Where the boat pubs are), and 15 walking minutes from the central square. They do not have lockers or a luggage room but they can keep your laptop for example in a private room (They did that with mine).
If i ever go back to Belgrade, i will stay in this Hostel again.
+ Location
+ Cheap laundry service
+ Room space
+ Staff
- No room lockers
- No luggage room afters (But not really a problem)
- Not the most clean bathrooms due to the lack of shower curtains (But i saw the staff numerous times washing the place up during the day, the guests were the real problem)
- Creepy building (But in this part of Europe is quite normal, take it as a characteristic look)
- Not the best beds

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
11
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We booked the 2 bed apartment for only 12 euros per person per night. It's huge. We have a large sleeping room with 3 beds,sofa and TV, A kitchen with dining table and a lovely bathroom.

The hostel is located opposite the train station so it's very central and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Couldn't ask for more for the price.

Room Tip: I recommend the 2 bed apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I had a great time at this hostel. The hostel is completely satisfactory, with an excellent value for money ratio. It has a perfect location, just opposite the railway station, and in walking distance of many of the major sights of Belgrade. The balconies offer an amazing view of the city, with the brand new Ada Bridge in the background.

The place isn't the most modern, but it's freshly painted, very clean and functional, and the atmosphere is great. The hostel itself is in a residential building, giving an interesting insight of Serbian architecture and daily life. Besides the dorms the hostel also offers private apartments in the same building, with more privacy at reasonable prices.

The staff was very professional and yet very friendly and informal, giving all sorts of advice on how to discover the real Belgrade, always willing to offer a cup of coffee and some nice words for tired travellers. It felt like home far away from home, My only regret is that I couldn't stay any longer, but I'll definitely will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I was in this hostel in the spring. The hostel is located near the old town and this is its great advantages. To the old town you can go on foot in a dozen minutes.
I lived in a double apartment. Was located on the courtyard, and thus there was very quiet at night.
He was a modestly equipped but clean and tidy.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

This hostel is dirty, small, messy and VERY NOISY. The bed wasn't a proper mattress, it was a pull out sofa bed cramped into a tiny room with hardly no room to move so it made it very uncomfortable.

It was VERY NOISY to a fact it was ridiculous due to drinking and yelling and had NO sleep. Staff ok, but couldn't care less about 10pm quiet rule (so why have them???). We left early and no apology from staff. We went to another hostel which was so much better. The best thing we did was leave this hostel and leave very unfriendly Belgrade.

We don't expect 5 star quality hostel anywhere and this one was -10 star but we do want to sleep and be at least clean (not too much to ask??)

So if you want to actually sleep, DO NOT STAY HERE.

We were so glad to leave the hostel and Belgrade.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

i had a nice time in belgrade....i had fun...and hostel was ok...for the hostel...but the people are very friendly...and kind...and i felt like at home...and hostel is in the center of the city...so tet is very good thing...if i ever go again to belgrade...i will visit this hostel again...fore sure...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

Where to begin? Terribly unfriendly owner who flipped out at me due to an error in the reservation and refused to give me my money back, because he had already spent it. He angrily hung up the phone and refused to talk to me.

"Smoking on patio only" meant that guests and staff were free to smoke anywhere inside the hostel. The place reeks.

The night time guy left to go partying, then came back in the early morning hours. When other people arrived to check in, I had to let them in.

Pushy daytime staff; I was appalled at the blatant and hate-filled anti-American and anti-Albanian rhetoric one of them spewed. Plus, said person got insulted and gets pissy when you don't follow her sightseeing plans or just mention that you didn't particularly like a certain attraction.

Avoid. At. All. Costs. It's just not worth the headache and hole in your pocketbook.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Exceptionally rude, pushy, incompetent and unfriendly owner and staff; smoking
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Downtown Belgrade Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Belgrade Hostel

Address: Karadjordjeva 91, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home in Serbia! Downtown Belgrade Hostel is located in the heart of the city, directly across the street from the main bus and train stations, making it easy to arrive and relax in comfort. Inside, guests are welcomed like family to our friendly and cozy hostel, with balconies offering a panoramic view over the city skyline. Outside, the hostel is located just a short walk from Belgrade's best cafes and shopping areas, including the Bohemian Zone, Scadarlija, and Terazije. Also close to the hostel is the historic Belgrade Fortress, the Danube and Sava riversides, the National Theater, and the Museum of Modern Art. And if you are in the mood for some fun out on the town, you don't have to go far, because our hostel is in the center of Belgrade's legendary nightlife scene - with a delicious restaurant directly downstairs open 24 hours a day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Downtown Belgrade Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Belgrade Hotel Belgrade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Belgrade Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.