We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Friends

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Friends to your Saves list
Hostel Friends
Cara Urosa 7 | Stari Grad, Belgrade 11000, Serbia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed in the Hostel Friends for three nights with a buddy of mine with whom I was travelling around Europe with. With some scope of comparison with other hostels, I feel I have some legitimacy in commenting on hostels. The Hostel Friends is truly a delightful place. The name in itself is truly a good representation as you really feel in a homely atmosphere. It is very practically located, with many nice restaurants around and easily accessible from the bus or train stations. The staff are absolutely lovely and I encourage you to spend some time with them in the chill out area chatting and absorbing the Belgrade culture from the locals. The rooms were very clean and we had by far the best beds of the whole summer, and at the cheapest rate! Do not hesitate to ask for anything as the staff is always ready with helpful suggestions of what to eat, where to go out, what to visit and where to stay away from. One of the most pleasant things about the hostel was the fact that we had no key, indeed the hostel is always open, this adding to the very charming nature of the place already!

I heartily encourage your stay in the Hostel Friends! Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very friendly and helpful. It is located close to the Belgrade pedestrian area, so shopping and restaurants are close by. There is no parking available, but our host was able to arrange something close by for free. At least our car didn't get towed away.
The hostel was not fully booked, so that we had a calm stay. The air-con is working, which is a plus, although you had to leave the room door open.
There's a possibility to do your laundry for a small fee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very nice place, located around 100 mts from the wonderful Kalemegdan Fortress.

You can find the friendly and confidential atmosphere of an hostel, mixed with the competence of a professional hotel. Furnitures are new, rooms, bathrooms and common areas are clean and comfortable, and they look recently renovated.

In 2 minutes you can find a 24\h market and some places where to have breakfast or eat.

Everything you need, just ask the guys and they will help you always smiling.
I would recommend this place both for short and long stay in Belgrade.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is where friendships are made. The hospitality of the Serbians are amazing and the rooms are clean. It is near the Main Street as well as the fortress. Although breakfast is not provided, you can get burek just around the corner or at the city. A supermarket is very near as well. Go to belgrade, and definitely stay at hostel Friends.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I so enjoyed staying there..It definately is a heart warming, friendly and fresh place to stay your holiday. The name says it all..it is a place to make friends. Right in the old heart of the city, perfectly located, clean and next to the park. I enjoyed it so much and will return time after time. Thank you so very much Hostel Friends for making me feel at home away from home..you are awesome. Much love to all of you :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is great! It feels cozy like being at home, but at the same time it's really chic and modern. The room was very nice and the price was great. And the staff went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend Hostel Friends!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

It felt like a home, super clean!!!
and very friendly, great location.....
for that money, you can't complain.....


Definitely coming back,
go friends! !!:)
.......................................................................................................................bye for now from usa

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Friends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Friends

Address: Cara Urosa 7 | Stari Grad, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Friends came about from a wish to provide visitors of Belgrade with a great place to stay, not to mention that it’s located in the best part of town, and to become and be friends with our guests!Hostel is located in the middle of almost all the attractions in Belgrade that tourists come to see. It is surrounded with historical and cultural sites, the best restaurants, cafés and nightclubs, shopping centers and markets. A few steps away from us is the most popular street in Belgrade, Knez Mihailova. A few blocks down is a Skadarlija street with the cultural and best known restaurants in Belgrade. The view from our rooms is towards Kalemegdan park!Hostel Friends is a new, modern style inn that offers guests the most comforting stay at the lowest prices!Friendly service at our hostel will answer any questions and tend any accommodations. We will make you feel “at home” during your stay in Belgrade! We promise a great atmosphere!!Easy and fast you have transportation to any part of the Belgrade.We are surrounded by numerous buses,trams and trolleybuses. By arrangement we can provide you with transportation from – to airport which is 13km from us,two closed and secure garages just 3 km from the hostel in case you are coming by car. Hostel is divided on two floors with three types of rooms with 16 beds Panoramic view of Kalemegdan park from every room. Two fully equipped bathrooms. Living room with cable TV, DVD, computer and music device. Use Of Fully Equipped Kitchen with dining room. Reception works 24/7. Group and long stay discounts available per request. You can pay with cash and credit card. Credit cards accepted on location: Visa Visa Electron MasterCard A child sharing a bed with parents does not pay the accommodation. Local Attractions close to us: Kalemegdan fortress 50 m, National museum 400 m, Ethnographic museum 160 m, Gallery of frescoes 40 m, National theatre 600 m, Belgrade Zoo 300 m, Bohemian quarter Skadarlija 1 km, Swimming pool 25. May 700 m, Easy and fast you have Transportation to any part of Belgrade. From main TRAIN station: Take tram no. 2 which stops directly in front of the station (main entrance to station - Savska street, not exit) - there are two tram stops; wait at the one a bit further from the station. Exit on the fourth stop, in front of Kalemegdan Park. Go to a street Uzun Mirkova located 50 meters from there and immediately take the first street to the left called Cara Urosa and you will see a sign of Hostel Friends :)From main BUS station: Find the tram stop which is located in the main street (Karadjordjeva street) straight ahead from where your bus arrived. Trams 2 leads to the same stop near us. Exit on the third stop, in front of Kalemegdan Park. Go to a street Uzun Mirkova located 50 meters from there and immediately take the first street to the left called Cara Urosa and you will see a sign of Hostel Friends :)From Airport: In front of the airport there is Minibus A1 stop, and bus goes directly to Slavija square. From there you can take bus 31 or trolleys 19, 21, 22 and 29 to Student Square is also the last stop. You just go straight to the Kalemegdan, along the street Uzun Mirkova. Hostel Friends is from there located on the third corner in Cara Urosa street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Friends reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Friends, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.