We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belgrade City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Belgrade City Hotel to your Saves list
Belgrade City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Savski trg 7, Belgrade 11000, Serbia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Belgrade
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Good choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

At first our room was at the back side of the hotel in a second building not so good as the one at the front so we asked to change.Immidiatelly they upgrated our room with no extra charge!It was a little bit noisy because all the buses stop just outside the entance of the hotel.The train station is at the other side of the road.The breakfast is good and the staff is very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelgradeCityHotel, Manager at Belgrade City Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for kind review. We truly appreciate hearing how our guests' experiences are at the hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful as well as our breakfast have met your expectations.
We expect your next stay with pleasure,

Warm Regards,
Darija Viro
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    116
    48
    13
    7
See reviews for
26
66
54
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The location opposite the main station (a beautiful, faded building) is good and allowed us to get around easily. It's also not too far of an uphill walk into a main part of the city which is more eastern than central European in feel (unlike Novi Sad, less than 2 hours away by train). The breakfast was decent enough and included peppery Serbian dip ajvar (which soon became a favourite) but as ever, the hot items were eminently avoidable while the room was as standard as can be (no complaints). The locale is slightly seedy with a sex shop and a 'cinema' nearby but safe enough. Most of the city's best eating options are in the Old Town a fifteen minute walk up the hill away.

Room Tip: We were in the annex which is reached by crossing a tiny car park at the back of the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelgradeCityHotel, Manager at Belgrade City Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us.
We do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to Belgrade City Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Darija Viro
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Was in serbia for business. First time around. Stayed in Belgrade city hotel for 6 days. In all honesty I have mixed reviews. The staff were very courteous and helpful, which made all the difference. On the other hand. The rooms were a bit stuffy. I stayed at the standard room that was facing the main road and the bus station, which made for a noisy night every night. Make sure to get rooms away from the main road while staying here. There were small things that kept going wrong during my stay, like the juice machine at breakfast on one if the days and the Internet in thr rooms was very unstable. However like I said the staff were very helpful and would respond quickly to any such malfunctions.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelgradeCityHotel, Manager at Belgrade City Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad you were satisfied with the courteous and helpful service you received at the front desk. We did our best to correct all the details you suggested. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Darija Viro
Marketing Manager

Dear Guest,

We are glad you were satisfied with the courteous and helpful service you received at the front desk.
We did our best to correct all the details you suggested. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Darija Viro
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
591 helpful votes 591 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in October '13 while spending a long weekend in Belgrade.
Located directly across from the railway station the hotel has an attractive facade (different from the plain concrete around it). Our abiding memory of the Hotel must be the staff - some of the friendliest and most helpful staff we have encountered. Perfect English - efficient check in - smiled a lot - seemed genuinely happy to be there and happy to offer advice on the City to us tourists.
The room was modern and comfortable - big wall mounted LCD TV with loads of free satellite channels. Free room safe and a fridge well stocked as a minibar, Bathroom is contemporary design - awesome shower ! Room was serviced every day to a high standard.
Breakfast was equally good - wide choice of cooked food / cheese / meats / serial etc.
Downsides ? Although the free wifi is generally very good for a few hours a night it slowed down and virtually stopped. Also we had a 1st story room at the front of the hotel - there can be a bit of noise - air brakes off buses etc etc but not too awfull....
High points - we had to leave for the airport at 4am and as we would miss breakfast the hotel volunteered to make us a pack up to take with us, which they did and it was such a nice thing to do (After all they didn't have to and we didn't even ask for it). As mentioned the staff are brilliant - got us a reputable taxi to the airport etc etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelgradeCityHotel, Manager at Belgrade City Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting such a great review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was extremely helpful, friendly and brilliant. Please note that we appreciate your king words, as well as taking your time to post pictures of our hotel, and present it for future guests as recommendation for their place to stay when they come to Belgrade. It's guest feedback such as yours that ensures us we are maintaining our standards of providing excellent service to our guests. Being recognized this way makes us very proud. It will certainly be are pleasure to have you back as our regular guest.

Warm Regards,
Darija Viro
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at the Belgrade City Hotel for one night and we are really glad we didn't stay there for longer.
First, we arrived at the hotel late at night, very tired. It took the receptionist more than twenty minutes to get us in our room. When we got in, we were terribly disappointed. There was a horrible smell in the room that made us want to stay on the corridor for ten minutes, while the windows in the room were wide open. But the room wasn't the only thing that smelled bad. The bathroom had its own smell, so terrible that every time we went to it we had to hold our breath.
And, then in the morning, we were woken up by an amazingly loud noise. Guess what. There was a club right next to our room and the music was very loud. Also, the neighbor decided to repair his roof that same morning. So there we were, very tired, in a horrible room, with noise surrounding us.
After, we went for breakfast. Food was good, with a large variety of things to eat. We ate and then had to go to the bathroom. We had already given our keys to the room, since we were leaving that morning. So, we went to the bathrooms next to the buffet. There, i went to the bathroom and, while in there, i can not believe what happened. WHILE I WAS IN THE BATHROOM, A CLEANING LADY CAME IN AND DIDN'T KNOCK ON THE DOOR, JUST CAME RIGHT IN, WHILE I WAS STILL NAKED. SHE DIDN'T APOLOGIZE, IN FACT SHE DIDN'T SAY A WORD, SHE JUST LOOKED FOR A WHILE AND THEN LEFT. I COULD NOT BELIEVE IT!

Room Tip: Want a great stay in Belgrade? Never go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelgradeCityHotel, Manager at Belgrade City Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We regret to hear that your visit to our hotel did not meet your expectations, as we strive to provide nothing less than the best service, we regret that we fell short of our goal during your stay. We are sorry to hear that your room was not refreshed as you had anticipated. Your comments were shared with our housekeeping, so that future guests do not experience the same inconveniences as you did. We are saddened to read your comments how you being disturbed by noises from the neighboring room and like to apologize for all the inconvenience your experienced. We are very sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience, and will do our best to improve our service in segment that you mention. Feel free to visit us again to be sure that we have taken your remark in serious consideration and we would be pleased to have opportunity to welcome you back and regain your confidence and trust.

Sincerely,
Darija Viro
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here on a (mature) lads get together and really enjoyed it.
Great value hotel. The rooms are basic but clean and spacious. The buffet breakfast was varied and tasty with hot and cold options.
Free wifi was reliable and staff were very friendly and helpful.
About a 10 minute walk into the old town where there are loads of bars and restaurants.
Belgrade is a terrific value city and the hotel was just the job.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelgradeCityHotel, Manager at Belgrade City Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Mr. James,

Thank you for taking the time for sharing with us your wonderful experience at Belgrade City Hotel. It's guest feedback such as yours that ensures us we are maintaining our standards of providing excellent service to our guests. We are happy to read your lovely comments about our caring staff. Also, we are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our buffet breakfast, as we pay much attention to food preparation. We hope you will be our guest again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Darija Viro
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Dont be put off by its location (opposite the main bus and railway stations) This hotel has a very pleasant reception. Our room was located in a newly refurbished part of the hotel Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were modern and well equiped. Very nice bathroom and the very efficient air conditioning was still required during October. Good breakfast (better than numerous other hotels we have stayed in Belgrade) We look forward to a return visit . But most importantly, it offers exceptional value for money. Didnt try the restaurant which offers discount to hotel guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelgradeCityHotel, Manager at Belgrade City Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Belgrade City Hotel for your stay and providing us such a valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a good experience at our hotel. We are pleased that you found our staff extremely friendly and helpful, as well as the breakfast top notch and we are also glad that our rooms have met you expectations. We looking forward to your next stay with pleasure, so please don’t hesitate to contact us and find out about regular guests benefits.

Warm Regards,
Darija Viro
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belgrade City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrade City Hotel

Address: Savski trg 7, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Phone Number:
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Belgrade City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a hotel in the heart of the Belgrade that fits your budget and your sense of style? Here's your best bet. The Belgrade City Hotel, one of the top Belgrade hotels, is within walking distance of the best shopping areas, sightseeing landmarks, transportation and corporate centre.This charming 4-star hotel is an ideal option for business and leisure stays. Also, hotel has one more building on property, Belgrade City Hotel's dependence. Enjoy the comfort of these cozy 3-star rooms with high-speed Internet access and flat-screen TV's. By choosing annex building, you can benefit from an excellent and surprisingly quiet central location. The hotel features 84 stylish fully refurbished guest rooms, with warm comfortable atmospheres and modern amenities. Breakfast is included in the price when you book a room at Belgrade City Hotel. Every morning, you can relax over a buffet of hot and cold breakfast foods, served with coffee, fresh tea and orange juice. The rooms feature all the latest amenities including free WiFi Internet access, flat-screen TVs with cable channels, electronic in-room personal safes, water heater (Kettler) with complementary tea and instant coffee, hair dryer, mini-bar... An idyllic surrounding to rest or to take your time, when you are either on business or leasure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Belgrade City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belgrade City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.