We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very consistent. Needs to smooth out problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Belgrade City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Belgrade City Hotel to your Saves list
Belgrade City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Savski trg 7, Belgrade 11000, Serbia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Belgrade
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Not very consistent. Needs to smooth out problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

2nights – standard double room around €60/night

Location is opposite the main train station and about 10-12 min walk from the main square and pedestrianised shopping district. The A1 airport bus 300DIN drops you off at the main train station.

Firstly I would like to point out that the room was in the actually hotel and not in the annex as some other reviewers have experienced. On the first night we get a room at the front of the hotel on the first floor facing the train station. The furnishings were semi modern, flat screen tv and minibar. Wifi reception was excellent. A large negative was that there was a bus station/depot directly outside the hotel and buses would come here and idle their engines all night – there is not much insulation from the window-with balcony and it was really very noisy.

On the second night we asked to be changed to another room and were given a room towards the back of the main hotel. This room was not as well furnished and slightly smaller. The interior was more dated and maybe needs to be renovated. There was only a crt tv. Wifi signal was weaker. However, the room was more than good enough for a good nights sleep without noise and did its job.

Breakfast was provided with the rate and the selection I was pleasantly surprised with (Tea/Coffee, juices, cold meats, salads, pastries, bread, selection of eggs, bacon, deserts, yoghurts and fruits – more than enough selection for any fussy eater).

Overall hotel the price of the room (prepaid 5-6 months in advance) was reasonable and much less than the walk in rack rate displayed – although reception did say hotel was fully booked. It was hard to judge this hotel based on the variability of my stay but I will give it an average 3/5 rating. If the 2nd room had been more like the 1st room bar the noise then I would have easily given a rating of 4/5

Room Tip: Ask for room which does not face the mainroad due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    130
    58
    13
    8
See reviews for
30
71
64
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
belgrade
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Be carefull if you book at that hotel. I booked to stay there with my husband when we moved in Belgrade, because we needed a place to stay until we find a house...Well we booked a double room at the hotel but they sent us to stay at another building (!!!!), just behind the oficial building of the "City Hotel". That building cannot be called a hotel, it almost looks like a hostel. We were given a very dirty room. The walls were black, the floor was very dirty, the space not enough for even 1 person..... The bathroom was hopefully clean but the towels were old and damaged. The doors are not safe at all. The yard around the building is very dirty. I felt sick for all 5 days we stayed there...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Nice hotel with good rooms, service and breakfast. Traveled with friends checking in to 5 different rooms and since we were a group, they gave us a free upgrade from the doubleroom in the annex to a twin room in the main building.
Close to the railway station and most bus & tram lines.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our room was quiet, nice and very reasonable priced however it might be different at the moment.

Service was good and people at reception tried to help with every question.

Central Belgrad is in 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: They have two buildings - rooms in the one at the back are cheaper and there is no lift, but it is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hranice, Czech Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is very nice and clean. They offer pretty large selection of buffet breakfast - arrive definitely at least 20-30mins before 10am, otherwise you might end up without coffee and juice as they me be out and will not be refilled.

The maintenance of showers and public bath rooms could have been bit better. The rooms have a nice view of the main train station, but the noise from the street might be bothering some people, so if you prefer quite ask for the rooms on the other side of the hotel. Perfect location for those traveling by train. It is about 10 mins walking to the main street Kneza Mihaila (you get on at the Hotel Moskva). For an awesome coffee, go to Coffeedream on the Kneza Mihaila (towards the Kalemegdan fortress)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Karpos, Macedonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights over New Years, and this was my 2nd time in Belgrade. As other reviewers have mentioned, the staff is great and could not have been more friendly. The breakfast was also decent, and the price was fair. However, there are several things that prevent me from ever wanting to stay here again.

This is no where near a 4-star hotel. I've stayed at more comfortable 2-star hotels in the Balkans (Ohrid, for example). The beds were very uncomfortable, and the tiny pillows reminded me of $29.95 highway motels in the U.S. (when I was a poor college student).

Our room faced the streets, and the side street that the front of the hotel is facing is for some reason a hub for city buses. With little insulation from the noise, it sounded like we were laying in the middle of a dozen diesel buses idling. This goes on all night long, as the drivers park the buses and idle for 30-60 minutes each, and there were 4-12 buses at any given time.

The WiFi did not work. I went to the reception with my WiFi analyzer app on the tablet and showed them the issue (DHCP server issue, could not obtain IP on any of our 3 devices). They took me to their conference room and tried to use the WiFi there, but there was a problem with interference and the signal would drop every 10 seconds. The receptionists are not technical, nor did I expect them to be, so the problem went unresolved during the stay. They did have decent signal throughout the whole building, and the app recognized at least 10 repeaters so when it works, I'm sure it works fine.

I lost hot water for several hours during the evening. After a long day of walking around and sightseeing in the cold, I wanted to take a warm shower before going back out for New Years Eve celebration. Too bad, because I only had luke warm water. The issue was resolved by the next morning.

I wasn't expecting a 4-star hotel looking at the price, but I was still expecting a comfortable stay. Unfortunately, I will not be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't face the street. The cheaper Annex building econ rooms might even be a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakskov, Denmark
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The staff in the reception were great. Always friendly and helpful. At our departure they came running after us with a cell phone which we had forgotten in the room.
Upon arrival (late in the evening) we got a room facing the street. It is indeed true that you are then bothered by noise from a bus stop right outside the hotel. But the next day we were transferred to a much nicer and quieter room facing the courtyard.
In the restaurant the breakfast was OK. But utilizing a 20 % discount offer when dining in the hotel was a disappointment. The food was rather dull and without much taste, a far cry of the otherwise famous and tasty Balkan cooking.
The location of the hotel is OK. But if you are not used to walking longer distances you might find the hilly streets towards the city centre and the Kalemegdan Park a bit strenuous.

Room Tip: Avoid by all means rooms facing the street (numerous bus stops)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belgrade City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrade City Hotel

Address: Savski trg 7, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Phone Number:
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Belgrade City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a hotel in the heart of the Belgrade that fits your budget and your sense of style? Here's your best bet. The Belgrade City Hotel, one of the top Belgrade hotels, is within walking distance of the best shopping areas, sightseeing landmarks, transportation and corporate centre.This charming 4-star hotel is an ideal option for business and leisure stays. Also, hotel has one more building on property, Belgrade City Hotel's dependence. Enjoy the comfort of these cozy 3-star rooms with high-speed Internet access and flat-screen TV's. By choosing annex building, you can benefit from an excellent and surprisingly quiet central location. The hotel features 84 stylish fully refurbished guest rooms, with warm comfortable atmospheres and modern amenities. Breakfast is included in the price when you book a room at Belgrade City Hotel. Every morning, you can relax over a buffet of hot and cold breakfast foods, served with coffee, fresh tea and orange juice. The rooms feature all the latest amenities including free WiFi Internet access, flat-screen TVs with cable channels, electronic in-room personal safes, water heater (Kettler) with complementary tea and instant coffee, hair dryer, mini-bar... An idyllic surrounding to rest or to take your time, when you are either on business or leasure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Belgrade City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belgrade City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.