We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good choise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Star Hostel to your Saves list
Star Hostel
Cara Urosa 37b, Belgrade 11070, Serbia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Belgrade
1 review
“The good choise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Everything was very fine. The hostel is very near to center. You can walk everywhere easily. The room prices are very fine. Also you can pick up yourself from airport in a good price.
The stuff and the other guests are so friendly. Specially Mladen is the most helpful person is Belgrade.
We really enjoyed the stay...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
8
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I cannot fault the staff at this hostel, they were helpful, friendly and informative.
The hostel has a lot of character and I get the feeling it’s the kind of place which would be fun to hang around in if there were a few of you, or if you were solo travelling and they had a full house.
The room was clean and well equipped with TV, fridge, lamps, although the bed was pretty creaky so did wake us a few times through the night.
One thing I would fault is the bathroom. The sink was blocked and in need of a good clean. I’m a bit of a wuss when it comes to bathroom cleanliness, especially if it’s a shared bathroom so I found it hard to clean my teeth for the 2 days I was there. I would be concerned that there would be a long wait for the shower at peak times, but there is another bathroom on the floor below, so may not be the case.
This place had a definite fun, student feeling to it, so if that’s what you’re after, give it a go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed at this hostel last week and would definately recommend it, as well as Belgrade in general. The two brothers that run the hostel are absolutely great, and also the third guy, who reminded me a lot of Lebowsky, was very nice. This hostel makes you feel right at home!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed for two days in the star hostel after the Exit Festival and what a nice stay it was! Actually, this was my second good experience with this hostel, as I also stayed there three years ago.

The two brothers owning the hostel, George and Marco, are nice and really helpful. Furthermore, they're always in for a chat, discussion or just a cardgame. And, when the night progresses, they're in for some rakija also ;) The hostel has a very homely atmosphere, which makes the experience even better. The basement has two computers, a TV, a xbox (really nice in the morning after a night of going out), darts, cards, games, books and so on. It's the ultimate chill-out zone! The rooms themselves are neatly kept and you have the possibility of airconditioning.

I actually didn't find anything I don't like about this hostel. It's one of my favourites in the whole of Europe :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Star hostel is actually an amazing hostel! have been traveling for just over a month, stayed in many hostels and this is by far one of my favourites! The staff are SO friendly and SO helpful! The hostel is in such a good place, literally a 5minute walk from the main street and near attractions! Rooms are good, and very comfortable. Hot showers and tap water you can drink. Round the corner is a 24hour market so you can buy food any time and use it in the fully equipped kitchen, where you also get free breakfast in the morning. There is a lounge downstairs, small, but cosy with beanbags, darts and playing cards. Theres two computers to use, free of charge and also WiFi. We got a free beer on arrival, and when we were arrived the man at the desk let us pay and check in, in our own time as we were tired from traveling all day.

my stay here was great! made me feel like home :D

Thanks guys!!

Maisie and Alice

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011 via mobile

Location is great but rooms are very cold and bathrooms are not very nice. Good staff!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgemilojevic, Owner at Star Hostel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are sorry that your room was cold but it wasn't entirely our fault since you didn't know that air-conditioning in your room is set up for heating and you didn't ask for extra heating which we also could have supplied if you asked for it.
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

This may not be the very best hostel I've ever stayed at, but it's definitely in top three! The staff are great and friendly, the location is excellent, and the accomodation is really great! Thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hostel

Address: Cara Urosa 37b, Belgrade 11070, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star hostel is one of two oldest hostels in Belgrade. We opened our doors first time in summer of 2005 and have been on a good reputation ever since. We are located in the true centre of Belgrade in the Old town (Stari grad - Dortyol). Our set-up offers you privates and dormitory style rooms by backpacker prices, well equipped kitchen, free breakfast, free internet free custom maps and common room for leisure time. Common room includes wide screen TV for video games as well as for watching movies. Our movie collection is counting over 1000titles as well as everyone favourite TV shows. In our neighbourhood you’ll find 24h shops, ATMs, exchange offices, fast food joints, national restaurants and plentiful of Belgrade’s bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Star Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.