We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst we have stayed at” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Slavija Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Slavija Hotel to your Saves list
Slavija Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Svetog Save 1, Belgrade 11000, Serbia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 72 Hotels in Belgrade
Prague
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The worst we have stayed at”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

My grandma stayed there in the fifties and she brought back a post card of this hotel, so we decided to see what it is like now. I dont think much has changed. Maybe the staff is a little older, but otherwise, no change at all.

This was possibly the worst hotel experience of all time. The toilet looked as if nobody had cleaned it and there were 4 half finished rolls of toilet paper just lying around. There were USED soaps in the bathroom, they did not even bother to take them away after the previous visitors. We were afraid to step on the floor and actually sleep in the bed, covered with what appeared to be a blanket. Two out of the three lights did not work. The window could not close, so we had to carry our stuff around. That was the dingiest hotel I have ever seen. The staff was quite OK, it is a good location and you could park the car (not free) in the basement. But that is about it.

I have forgotten a lot of places I have stayed at, but this one wont get out of my head :)

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    30
    48
    27
    32
See reviews for
14
24
32
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
croydon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

I booked the Slavija for 3 reasons:

1. Reasonable price
2. Great location
3. Internet in the rooms

All three factors were equally important, unforutunately the internet in the rooms, promised on the website, turned out to be a figment of the imagination. Internet is only available sitting in the dingy lobby and so slow it wasn't even possible to open a remote connection. When I pointed this out at reception, the guy shrugged his shoulders as if to say, what can I do? Reception staff were generally unhelpful, apart from one pleasant lady.

Everything is tatty, carpet frayed, tiles cracked, plug sockets hanging off the wall and minimal facilities in the rooms. The TV worked, but just about. The bed looked like something out of a youth hostel. The whole impression was of something out of a Peter Sellers film.

The location was convenient for me, although I didn't actually walk into the old town directly from the hotel. My advice - pay a bit extra and get something nicer. The Slavija Lux, across the road, might be better!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izola, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

We stayed at Slavija B, because it was the cheapest option we got.The location is actually good, on a main street/roundabout to the city centre.We could park at the underground hotel, which was great, because basically we just walked to see the main attractions and took public transport when needed.Rooms were really basic, with old Yugoslavian furniture, the bathroom was worn out, but all in all very clean. The food was actually really good, esp. if you want to have a strong breakfast to have energy all day long. The staff was really cool and we could pay with our ATM card (Maestro) - no problem.Would recommend this hotel for people on the budget, like students, etc. If you need a more confortable accomodation opt for the Slavija Lux across the street.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

The hotel is pretty old and needs to be renovated. The mattress was very old, soft and uncomfortable. There was noise from another room and the reception was not too keen to deal with that when we asked. The windows don't close properly, therefore you could hear the noise from the street.

The only good point is that it was clean and well located.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Unbelievably overpriced, astoundingly outdated furnishings and decor and a very depressing atmosphere. It seemed dark and dank with decor circa 1960. We had no air conditioning and the bed was very soft and uncomfortable. I only spent one night here, and spent that night sleeping on a towel on the floor so that the tiny breeze entering through the window would reach me. Unbearably hot (as it was summer) and I had a terrible night's sleep.

I didn't even think about eating in this place based on what the rest of the hotel was like. I can't believe this place manages to stay open, it's absolutely horrific!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blighty
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

The lobby is typical Soviet brown gloom, full of smoke and fake brown leather. The lift gave me some of the most terrifying experiences of my life. As Belgrade has relatively few hotels, the best ones had been block booked for the media during Eurovision and for the "delegations" from each country. This is why they only offered the Slavija to independent guests.
The room itself was not too bad - just worn carpet and worn furniture. The bathroom, however, was something else altogether. I have never seen a shower plughole like it. The walls in the corridors had numerous smears in various shades and someone had scratched the words "Bin Laden" into our door. The carpets in the corridors had cigarette butts stubbed out all over them.
But the staff were generally nice and helpful, and the breakfast was strangely good. And Belgrade is an amazing city.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork, ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

Should have read the reviews, this place is shocking! Hotel is caught in a timewarp, circa 1950's. Old, worn and dirty furnishings in lobby area. Rooms are like ovens - no airconditioning ( my room made 41 degrees C ) in fairness they did agree to move me when I complained that I was almost cooked!! Reception staff were helpful, I guess that the owners don't give a damn.

On the other side of my stay, Belgrade is a fab city. The people are friendly and welcoming. Great value for dining out and entertainment. The river area is sensational - whether its boat trips, water skiing or sunbathing/swimming. We went to a night club on the river - one of the best I was ever in, anywhere!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the standard
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Slavija Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slavija Hotel

Address: Svetog Save 1, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 72 Hotels in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Slavija Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Slavija Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavija b Belgrade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slavija Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.