We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Service, Lively Bar Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Absinthe Bar & Fine Asian Food Restaurant

Absinthe Bar & Fine Asian Food Restaurant
Kralja Milutina 33, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
644334706
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Asian fusion
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
1,778 reviews 1,778 reviews
511 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 396 cities Reviews in 396 cities
1,045 helpful votes 1,045 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, Lively Bar Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We went on a Saturday night for dinner. Their bar area was hopping. we had dinner so were led to a quieter dinner room.

Food was good. We enjoyed some of their cheese and warm chickpeas. I then had a small serviing of their French Onion Soup (yummy)....

For meal I had their vegetable spagahetini (very good) and the person I was with loved their pork dish.

For dessert we had an amazingly creative and very tasty cashew chocolate mousse - just the right amount of chocolate, salt - smooth and crunch. Very good.

Enjoyed their cocktails and wine by the glass.

Service The restaurant was quiet by the time we left (about 10:00 on a Saturday night)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazingly tasteful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A few days ago I went to Absinthe Bar with my family for a late lunch. The place looked nice, quite pleasant, and the waiter was very obliging. I ordered chicken sticks with to sauces, a meal I have never tried before, and it was (as I said) amazingly tasteful. After that I had chocolate soufflé - beautiful! I highly recommend this restaurant. It is not cheap, maybe a little expensive for Serbian standards, but it is really worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgrade
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Best Chinesse food in Belgrade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I live in Belgrade for 8 years now. While I love Serbian food, from time to time the stomach needs a bit of variety...and that is when I visit some Japanesse, Indian, Lebanesse or Chinesse Restaurant. I think I have tried them all.

Absynth offers the most tasty Chinesse food in Belgrade. The rice, the dumplings, the noodles, the meat dishes...all delicious.

Absynth is may be 20% more expensive than other Chinesse restaurants...Still, it is worth to spend a bit more and to have better food at all levels (quality, quantity, taste, and presentation).

Home delivery is also an option when you dont feel like going out.

I really like Absynth...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese in an unusual setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

You enter this Parisian bistro and are given a menu with Chinese dishes !? After this initial surprise you will be even more surprised by the food.

Our all time favorites are the duck ( very close to the real Bejing duck), the fried dumplings ( they call it ravioli??), the sweet and sour soup and all the Sichuan dishes.

Have been some 10 times now and quality remains constant. No need for reservation at noon. Service is quick. Highly recommended !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uros K, Public Relations Manager at Absinthe Bar & Fine Asian Food Restaurant, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and recomendations. We are happy to deliver good services to you.

All the best,

Absinthe team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Place to feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

For sure one of the best bar/restaurants in Belgrade...
Friday afternoon "after work" atmosphere is unique in Belgrade, Asian-Chinese food is the best...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Absinthe Bar & Fine Asian Food Restaurant also viewed

Belgrade, Serbia
Belgrade, Serbia
 

Been to Absinthe Bar & Fine Asian Food Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absinthe Bar & Fine Asian Food Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.