We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“memorial day family vacation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages

Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aurora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages
Save
You added Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages to your Saves list
16918 U.S. Hwy. 68 East, Aurora, KY 42048 (Formerly Aurora's Ken Oak Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aurora
bountiful, ut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“memorial day family vacation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here over memorial day weekend with 19 family members. Not what we expected. Ok for fishermen and hunters, but not as family recreation. Most recreation equipment was in poor condition or broke. Cottages were run down with terrible furniture. Main room had two beds in it and a hide-abed sofa that was 10 years past being sufficient. No place to sit and relax or talk. Cheap metal dresser in bedroom, kitchen drawers that would not open.
Ok for a bunch of guys going on a fishing trip, just wanting a bed to sleep in

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYLakeCottages, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We’re sorry you weren’t pleased. Our cottages are large, clean and comfortable - we have the best prices for what we have to offer. After reading your review, we went to look at the cottage you stayed in, because we certainly want to make sure everything is in good working order. The sofa sleeper is less than three years old, and the living room, besides having the couch and 2 beds to sit on, has a brand new rocker-recliner. The metal dresser (the only one we own) was kept for its nostalgic value – these units were built in the 1950’s and that dresser is from that era and works fine. As for the kitchen, we found one drawer out of 8 that wouldn’t open easily - a guest had put cookware in it, preventing it from opening correctly, which we removed. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. As for the recreation equipment, we agree that the pool table and air hockey tables needed to be replaced, which we were hoping to have done before the holiday. After an unexpected delay, our new commercial pool table and air hockey table arrived this week. Our playground is the largest and nicest in our area. The shuffleboard equipment, ping pong table, new tether ball, and horse shoes are all in good working order. Having the largest cottages in town, we have a wonderful repeat business, especially returning families, so we are not just for the sportsmen. We are not the Ritz - we try to accurately portray our business as it is, and our pricing certainly reflects that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
13
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nicholasville, Ky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have stayed here 3 years in row. There is 8 people in our fishing group and they have always made sure we had plenty of room. plus we'ver got room to park our boats and charge them up at night. We've never had any problems leaving our equipment in the boats at night either.

Room Tip: Talk to them when you call and explain what your plans are and they we help you pick a room accordin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYLakeCottages, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a nice review. We appreciate your repeat business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The resort has everything fishermen need. Great location, spacious rooms, comfy beds, and warm showers. Extremely nice staff. It's family owned and they're proud of their resort. Our group of 6 will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYLakeCottages, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We certainly appreciate your taking the time to post here for potential guests to read! And please know WE APPRECIATE YOUR BUSINESS!!! Best Regards, Dave & Jaymi Tarnowski, Owners, Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We have stayed at this resort 3 times and have enjoyed every time. The owners are working hard to update things.The thing my wife and I like most is how friendly and nice the owners and the rest of the staff are.We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenoakresort, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
THANK YOU so much for your kind review! We certainly appreciate it when customers take the time to tell us we're doing a good job! We appreciate your business and we look forward to seeing you again! :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 265 cities Reviews in 265 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We had a very a small room in a cabin. The whole place was very damp, ideal, it turned out, for slugs. Getting up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom, I stepped on one. Ugh.

The whole "resort" is pretty run down, and mostly empty, at least in February. The owners were very nice, and are obviously trying to fix the place up, but it needs a lot of work. At least they do take dogs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenoakresort, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
We are so sorry you had an unfortunate encounter with a slug while staying with us. We have a service that sprays each unit on a monthly basis, but with the woods around, sometimes insects still get inside.
And we're sorry you weren't happy with the resort - we use the winter time to remodel and upgrade units while business is slow. This is a tourist destination for spring, summer, and fall, but winter, not so much! We are working hard to make improvements even into the springtime ~ we hope that if you're ever in our neck of the woods again, you'll consider staying with us again. We appreciate your business!
Best Regards,
Dave & Jaymi Tarnowski
Owners
Aurora's Ken Oak Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Positive: The room is very, very clean beyond what you could experience in a rural area. The accommodations are typical old rooms like other resorts in the same area, but the owner goes extra miles to make sure the room is as nice and prepared as it could be. The owner owns a few resorts. Instead of randomly assigning us a room, she/he makes sure we are assigned based on our requests: very clean, no "old-house" smelling, totally for non-smoking, closest one to the Jonathan Creek Retreat Center,... New charcoal grill and seating bench are outside each room. There is a kid's playground right out side the rooms. It will be a plus if you have young children.

Negative: Wish beds and pillows are newer even though they are very clean.

I will choose to go back next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011 via mobile

like someone else said, it isn't the Ritz but the staff works hard to accodate its guests.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages

Address: 16918 U.S. Hwy. 68 East, Aurora, KY 42048 (Formerly Aurora's Ken Oak Resort)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Aurora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aurora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are family owned and operated. We offer Motel Rooms and Large Cottages. Amenities are high-speed internet, swimming pool with slide, volleyball, pool table, ping pong, horseshoes, shuffleboard, Kids' play set, grills, picnic tables, fish cleaning station, electrical hook-ups, and Excellent parking!We’re only 1/2 mile from 160,000 acre Kentucky Lake and Land Between the Lakes, offering: Elk & Bison Prairie, Nature Station, 1850's Homeplace, Wranglers' Riding Stables, and 2,350 acre Turkey Bay OHV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aurora`s Ken Oak Hotel Aurora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.