We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandt Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rembrandt Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rembrandt Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Smardan St | Sector 3, Bucharest 030071, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 159 hotels in Bucharest
leadville CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I'll be back ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Rembrandt hotel occupies a rather narrow renovated townhouse in the heart of Bucharest's vibrant 'old city,' so despite its seven floors, it is hardly a 'high rise.' Surrounded by dozens of congenial bars and fine restaurants just yards away, two minutes' walk from a taxi stand and five minutes from an underground station, it boasts the perfect location for either business travel or tourism. The Van Gogh bar & restaurant, which I believe is owned by the same folks who own Rembrandt, is right next door.
The Rembrandt would be well worth the stay even if it weren't so conveniently situated. The rooms are beautifully appointed and spotlessly well-kept. Cafe Klein, on the mezzanine, offers a free breakfast and later, cocktails, 'snacks & more.' [Try a shot of tuica, pronounced 'tsweeka,' Romanian plum brandy, but go easy at first: It has a nice flavor but also an exhiliarating burn; I reckon it's at least 90 proof.]
Most important of all, the young folks who man the front desk and Cafe Klein are energetic, cheerful, helpful and efficient. Their tireless guidance to this first-time visitor ensured that my January 2013 stay at Rembrandt will not be my last!

The pool and fitness center rate a separate discussion, because the hotel itself -- situated, as I mentioned, in an old townhouse -- has room for neither, on site. But the front desk will give you a pass to the World Class gym in the Radisson Blu complex, less than a fifteen minute walk away. This is perhaps the cleanest, best-equipped gym I have ever worked out in [and that would be quite a few]. They have tons of new or nearly new Nautilus equipment, including, at a guess, a dozen [each] treadmills and elliptical trainers; dozens of weight machines; and a large free weight room.
There is an indoor Olympic sized pool and a large outdoor hot tub in the courtyard just beyond. There is also what I would call an 'agility room,' with mats, exercise balls and space for doing plyometrics.
Caveat: DON'T GO at lunchtime or other peak use hours. It can get very crowded. It's pricy: if you're from Rembrant, 20 euros a day. [You get what you pay for.]
My only real criticism is that pool lanes aren't reserved for serious lap-swimmers. Unless the pool is deserted, any attempt at a serious swim workout may be frustrated by adults and kids 'just splashing around'.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    140
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
32
173
105
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suceava, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hotel location excellent, room was spacious and clean. Someone closed the heat during the day and at night when we got in the room was cold. Very good breakfast. The location is excellent for exploring and dining in the Old Town area

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Rembrandt hotel. The location is excellent with many restaurants and bars nearby.

The staff are very friendly with nothing being too much trouble.

On our arrival the check in process was very smooth. We were fortunate to be placed in room 71 that has a terrace and view. The room was of sufficient size and bathroom very adequate. Comfortable beds - a lovely stay.

We were treated to a welcome drink in the bar, which has a lovely smell of cooking waffles. The ambience of the room is nice with books on shelves and a view over the square outside.

Breakfast - an excellent breakfast. Real Coffee and real orange juice!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The best location, at the best prices. Right in the heart of the Old Town area, close to a bunch of great bars, restaurants and museums. Really good breakfast, nice rooms. Try to book a room with the terrace view. Wonderful view from Old Town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

As others have stated we stayed at the Rembrandt on arrival and departure of Romania through Untravelled Paths. In both cases our room was spacious, warm and the bathroom was excellent. However the twin beds are quite narrow. The location is excellent for exploring and dining in the Old Town area. Continental style breakfast was adequate and the night staff made sure we had some tea and cereal before leaving at 3am for our flight home. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room ending in 1, ie 21, 31 etc, as even number rooms are at the rear of the hotel with no vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtHotel, Manager at Rembrandt Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your beautiful words and honest opinion about Rembrandt services and room ammenities. We do our best to offer all our guests the best services and that s why we appreciate any feedback.

It s good to know for all guests who are reading your comment that if you have to catch a very early flight, please don't hesitate to ask for a breakfast even at 3 AM. It will be our pleasure to prepare it.

Also, at the moment of booking, you may choose upon availability what king of bed prefer: twin beds (90/200 cm), matrimonial bed (140/200 cm) or king size beds (160/200 cm).
We do communicate this information and many more in the confirmation mail.

Looking forward to your next visit to Romania

Rembrandt Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This very nice hotel is located right in the center of Bucharest. Being used to business class hotels ran by International chains this is a welxome experiende with at least equal facilities and very attentive personel, well done!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtHotel, Manager at Rembrandt Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for comparing our small hotel to international ones, it means a lot to us and it proves we can reach high standards. It was our pleasure to welcome you here and looking forward to your next visit to Bucharest

Best wishes.

Rembrandt Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here as part of a Romania tour with Untravelled Paths. I would really recommend them to anyone going to Romania for the first time. This hotel is adjacent to the National Bank in the centre of the old town and a short walk onto the restaurant and bar streets (all pedestrianised). Very helpful staff for example when we needed to change a restaurant reservation, and good breakfasts and warm rooms. Much better than any corporate chain hotel.

Room Tip: If you sleep with a window open then ask to be higher up on the 3rd or 4th floor as there is a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rembrandt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Hotel

Address: 11 Smardan St | Sector 3, Bucharest 030071, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rembrandt Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rembrandt Hotel is an intimate and stylish hotel with 16 spacious rooms, located in the heart of Bucharest. Well known for its’ personal service and genuine hospitality, Rembrandt provides contemporary guest rooms with comfortable beds, hardwood floors, leather armchairs, free wi-fi internet access and spacious bathrooms. Café Klein, on the mezzanine floor of the hotel, is a cozy and comfortable lounge where we serve breakfast, drinks and snacks. You will find Rembrandt Hotel in the middle of the old city centre of Bucharest. From here you can access the city in all its’ aspects: the wide Paris-style boulevards, the worn down 1920ies modernist architecture, the narrow streets of charming Lipscani and the modern day cosmopolitan life. Being on walking distance from the central Unirii and Universitate squares, the hotel is ideally positioned for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Rembrandt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Bucharest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rembrandt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.