We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly excellent place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rembrandt Hotel to your Saves list
Rembrandt Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Smardan St | Sector 3, Bucharest 030071, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in Bucharest
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is prefectly located. Just in the centre of the old city. It's the second time we stayed there and it is still as good as it was 5 years ago. Spacious rooms, friendly personnel, great breakfast and a very hospitable manager. It's one of the hotels where you feel at home. Together with the neighbouring van Gogh cafe/terrace it forms a perfect couple. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtHotel, Manager at Rembrandt Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Mr. Jurrien,

It is always a pleasure to read such good words from our guests. It is even a greater honor for us to see guests return to Rembrandt after such long time. Together with our little brother, Grand Cafe Van Gogh we strive to make all our guests happy so they, as you did, return to Bucharest and Rembrandt whenever they have the chance.

Hope to see you back soon.

Rembrandt Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    165
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
45
208
114
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Constanta, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We're back fondly at this hotel. You can not not feel good here. Rooms are friendly and warm, as well as staff. I'll come back here to be the time I work in Bucharest. Their only problem is parking, but look for accommodation immediately. The location is perfect. Simply feel good, look like you're home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtHotel, Manager at Rembrandt Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Mr. Stupar,

Me and my colleagues at Rembrandt wish to make all guests feel like home. After reading your comment we realized we managed to do so. Most of our guests are business people and at the end of a busy and hectic day we know how important is to have the room where they can relax, rest and prepare for the following day.
Regarding the parking issue, this will be solved by the end of November when the Municipality will open the biggest underground parking (just 250m from our hotel).

Looking forward to your next visit to Bucharest,

Rembrandt Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is located in the middle of the Old City. The main attractions are only steps away. The room was great, good breakfast choices. The staff is very courteous and professional. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect, as has been mentioned...many restaurants nearby. The room was large, classy and clean. Staff was very knowledgable and helpful. I had read a previous review that mentioned street noise in the front of the building - I was put in a front room (fifth floor) but didn't have any problems with the noise on a Saturday night. I did make sure that the window was closed tight, as it was cool, and I'm assuming that if the window is open that street noise will be noticeable. I would absolutely stay here again, the next time in Bucharest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtHotel, General Manager at Rembrandt Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Mr. Scott,

Thank you kindly for your review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest during your trip to Bucharest and looking forward to welcoming you in the future.

As Municipality announced The Old City Center is only at the beginning of its cultural development so many surprises are on the way.

Kind regards,
Rembrandt Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Clean and spacious rooms, in a wonderful location. Close to tons of restaurants and shops, and in the center of Bucharest night life -- if that's your thing. It wasn't really ours, but we loved the vibrancy of the area, and being able to open the windows to the city streets below. Breakfast in 'cafe klein' (the hotel cafe) was basic, yet set in a lovely cafe setting that made it a bit more than the 'hotel breakfast'.

The hotel staff was extremely helpful, even arranging a 'welcome drink' at Cafe Van Gogh next door.

One thing: hotels are not equipped with hairdryers, so make sure to ask for one at check in, or plan to go to breakfast with wet hair. They do have them for use, but you must ask.

And one more thing: the hotel elevator is TINY. If you have luggage larger than a wheelie bag, you may want to consider staying elsewhere as the only other options is the stairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtHotel, General Manager at Rembrandt Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Rembrandt Hotel Guest

It is always a pleasure to read positive lines about Bucharest and especially about the Old City Centre, where we are located.
For most of the guests and including us, the residents, this part of town is a pride now. It has become a live area, with coffee bars, pubs, restaurants, small squares where live concerts and cultural gatherings take place. Though the hotel is not situated in the middle of this our guests can enjoy the vibrant life of Bucharest without being disturbed by the noise in the room.

Rembrandt Hotel’s building is a historical monument and thus the constitution of the lift. According to the Romanian legislation no one is allowed to bring any changes to these types of buildings. If any of our guests have heavy or more than oneluggage we will be more than happy to help with them.

Regarding the hotel minuses you’ve pointed out I would like to mention that Rembrandt is a 3 star hotel and its breakfast consists of healthy cereals, fresh fruits, yoghurts, boiled eggs, a large variety of bread, home made waffels on the spot, with various toppings, freshly squeezed orange juice and unlimited fresh Illy coffee. Breakfast buffet contains fresh products, prepared every morning and it is being served in Klein Cafe, the hotel bar, situated at the mezanine of the hotel.

As you have also stated, we do provide hairdryers to all our guests. One has to ask for them at the reception and we will provide it, any time of the day.

Once again we thank you for your beautiful words and looking forward to welcoming you again in Bucharest.

Rembrandt Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for more than three weeks ( August-Sept. 2012) and found all aspect very good. Staff are all friendly and ready to help, personal etc. It is one of the best places i have stayed in anywhere. I would however suggest that the hotel install refrigerators in the larger rooms and that WIFI routers be on every floor. Also if possible, soft boiled eggs for breakfast would be great. BTW the breafast selection is excellent--really fine breads and baked goods.

GezaT, Canada

Room Tip: The larger rooms facing the street are a bit noise by have great light--Higher floors--less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four nights and we were so very pleased we had chosen this place to stay, the hotel was excellent, as were the staff. The bonus was that the hotel is in the best part of the city, the Lipscani District where restaurant and bars are packed as tight as could be and during the evening the area is a bustle of social activity. The classical building of this area make Lipscani stand out from the rest of Bucharest, much of which was architecturally destroyed during the communist era by the bulldozers. They say the most important things about a property are “location, location and location” and this hotel has all three.

We stayed in the cheapest room of the hotel, room 14, which was small with a tiny window out onto a scruffy small courtyard where staff went for a smoke. The upsides were that we had our own private easy access staircase which lead only to our room and that we were sheltered from the noise of the street. A good continental breakfast was provided in the smoking free (unusual in Bucharest) cafe, where the staff provided the best coffee I experienced in the capital. I was particularly impressed by the reception staff and the continuity of service, even though they changed from day to day they were always on the ball and were aware of questions we had asked with their colleagues previously about local attractions, their opening times, and public transport etc.

I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel above the large chain hotels for the excellent location, personable staff and a building of character. Our stay in Bucharest would not have been so easy, relaxing and enjoyable if we had stayed elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose your room type with care, the price reflects what you will get
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rembrandt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Hotel

Address: 11 Smardan St | Sector 3, Bucharest 030071, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rembrandt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rembrandt Hotel is an intimate and stylish hotel with 16 spacious rooms, located in the heart of Bucharest. Well known for its’ personal service and genuine hospitality, Rembrandt provides contemporary guest rooms with comfortable beds, hardwood floors, leather armchairs, free wi-fi internet access and spacious bathrooms. Café Klein, on the mezzanine floor of the hotel, is a cozy and comfortable lounge where we serve breakfast, drinks and snacks. You will find Rembrandt Hotel in the middle of the old city centre of Bucharest. From here you can access the city in all its’ aspects: the wide Paris-style boulevards, the worn down 1920ies modernist architecture, the narrow streets of charming Lipscani and the modern day cosmopolitan life. Being on walking distance from the central Unirii and Universitate squares, the hotel is ideally positioned for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Rembrandt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Bucharest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rembrandt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.