We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location, cute hotel and great staff - Simply outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rembrandt Hotel to your Saves list
Rembrandt Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Smardan St | Sector 3, Bucharest 030071, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Bucharest
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The best location, cute hotel and great staff - Simply outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

This hotel is located at the crossroads of the historic district in the heart of Bucharest with lively street life right outside your door. The building is modern inside and classic outside, so you feel like you have found the ideal place to stay in town. The staff is exceptionally warm and helpful.

One small inconvenience: Since the hotel is located in the historic center, the streets are for pedestrians only and your cab will drop you off about 70 meters from the front door, so ask the driver to help you with the luggage.

Room Tip: the best rooms are the business suites, like room 61 on the top floor facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    155
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
39
193
110
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

On departure the receptionist insisted on calling me a taxi from a company she knew would be reputable. She negotiated a fair price with the company owner and the driver duly appeared five minutes later and drove me safely to Otopeni airport at the agreed rate.
I also enjoyed the breakfast, a very fresh buffet with tea, coffee and waffles made to order. Also a useful range of books and magazines to look at. All set on the hotel`s airy mezzanine floor overlooking the street below.

Room Tip: The student budget room was good value for money, clean and appropriate to need
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

Best thing about this hotel is the location. It is on the most touristic areas of Bucharest.
However, the hotel is not inexpensive if one considers the other features.
Wi-fi at fourth floor did not work and could not be fixed for us. We were given a cable but... How do you wire a smartphone?
There is no minibar. There is a 'minibox' with warm beverages and food but it is not possible to see a cold beer in the room.
Rooms are big, but windows offer no proper acoustic protection from the street's noises at night.
Receptionists aren't always at their position and one may have to wait for ten minutes before one has a reply to their questions.
The hotel door states they accept American Express cards but when you pay they tell you that the sign 'is another thing' so you should not rely on that statement, nor will you receive an explanation.
Doors close at 10 pm and you have to ring the receptionists to re-enter the hotel.
All in all: decent hotel but not as good as one would expect from the reviews I read so far (maybe August is a bad month for Hotel Rembrandt )

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Rembrandt Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear guest of Rembrandt Hotel,

Thank you for your comment above. We took into consideration your opinion in order to improve our services. Althought, we would like to make some remarks:

- We provide wi-fi internet in the whole hotel, but sometimes the quest’spersonal devices can have connection restrictions or it needs to be used on specific settings which we don’t have access. All our guests have free access to a laptop and a fast internet connection in the hotel lobby
- We don’t have a fridge in the room, but we provide ice and cold drinks on any time of the day&night with a simple call at our Reception.
- We would like to inform you that we do accept American Express cards, next to Visa, Maestro, Mastercard and Eurocard. At this moment we guarantee our bookings with AMEX cards.
- We are sorry to hear that we had to wait 10 minute at the Reception; it might happen to have more inquires in the same time and we do the best to solve them as fast as possible.
- For our quests security we close the door in the night. Our reception is open 24h/day. We consider that ringing the bell and wait 1 minute might not be an inconvenient for our guests.

We look forward to see you back to Rembrandt Hotel.

Your sincerely,

Rembrandt Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel is a small pearl. Rooms are spacious and well equipped, with free wifi. I had excellent service, very nice and helpful staff. It's a really nice and comfortable hotel in a great location. I recommend it warmly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed for five nights at the Rembrandt in late July 2011. A fantastic experience! The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and all spoke great English. I had a slight problem with the wireless internet access in the room (low signal) but the staff very quickly supplied me with a cable to plug in my laptop and all was great. Cable TV was good with loads of free English channels (CNN, Nat Geo, Discovery etc.)

Bucharest in July can be very hot and humid but the air conditioning in the room was first rate and quickly cooled the room within minutes of turning it on.

We booked a "tourist class" room which apprently are smaller than the other rooms - however we found it to be more than adequate and actually larger than many rooms we have stayed in at other hotels in many countries.

Only 'problem' was that the particular room we were in had very little natural light and no window that looked at anything other than a back yard. I believe other rooms have better views.

Location of the hotel could not be better. Within 2 minutes you can walk to many bars and restaurants and within 5 minutes is the Universitade Metro station.

We could not have asked for a better hotel/staff/location/service and would definitely recommend this hotel to other people and will stay there again if/when we next visit Bucharest.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

The hotel is located in the historical side of the city, which is great because you can walk to everywhere. However, our room is a very small one (none of the pictures above can be a reference) It is a tiny tiny small room with a comfortable bed. The bathroom is also small but clean and good enough for a one night stay. The room is not as clean as I was expecting. It is full of long women hair (blonde, white and dark colored), so gross! My husband's socks are full of hair. Thanks God, they have those cheap slippers.

A/C works great (July is awful in Bucharest) Yesterday when we first entered the room, we had to fight with some (5) mosquitos! So bring something anti-mosquito, also for the city itself (they are huge).

Except the cleaning lady, nobody smiled at us in the hotel; yet this is not particular. Almost all people from Bucharest is sulky. Especially in the beginning I thought that the girl at the reception did not like us. We really did not feel welcomed!

There is a wi-fi but only worked on my laptop and it is kinda slow.

I can say brifly that it is an average hote. There is no need to romanticize.

Room Tip: Room 63 is very very small but at leasy noise free!!!!! It is located on a very noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Rembrandt Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Rembrandt Hotel would like to thank you for your sincere and honest opinion about your staying here. It will help us improve and change what is not in accordance with our standards.

We would like to state the following things taken from your comment. At the time of booking you chose a Tourist class room with matrimonial bed. When receiving the confirmation you were told the dimensions of this room and you confirmed it. Please notice that at the moment of booking our guests have the possibility to choose any type of room if available with dimmensions from 15 sm to 35 sm. Also the photo of this room type can be found on the hotel webpage at „Rooms” section.

We have never promised or offered our guests services and rooms which are not according to the information published on the site.

All hotel rooms are equipped with anti mosquitos devices. If by mistake the room didn’t have we would have promptly provided if we had been announced. Regarding the hair issue in the room we apologize if the situation was like that but we wish to inform that all rooms are very well cleaned every day and a control is done afterwards.

We are sorry to hear your holiday wasn’t the way you wished but we hope you and your husband will return to Bucharest to see that people here are very warm, welcoming and funny.

We, at Rembrandt, welcome all our guests the same way we have done so far and the comments published on Tripadvisor are a real proof that our hospitality is genuine.

Kind regards,
Rembrandt Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest Park, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Rembrandt Hotel is a beautiful hotel in the center of Bucharest. Staff are friendly and very helpful and most all speak very good English in addition to other languages. The hotel is very accommodating and helpful with guest needs such as restaurant recommendations, taxi service, and suggestions for things to see in the city. We stayed at the Rembrandt in 2008 as well as recently in 2011. The quality is still first rate!
Breakfast buffet is delicious, air conditioning works very well, beds are comfortable, rooms are spacious and clean, and computer access is free.
This is THE place to stay in Bucharest.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rembrandt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Hotel

Address: 11 Smardan St | Sector 3, Bucharest 030071, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rembrandt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rembrandt Hotel is an intimate and stylish hotel with 16 spacious rooms, located in the heart of Bucharest. Well known for its’ personal service and genuine hospitality, Rembrandt provides contemporary guest rooms with comfortable beds, hardwood floors, leather armchairs, free wi-fi internet access and spacious bathrooms. Café Klein, on the mezzanine floor of the hotel, is a cozy and comfortable lounge where we serve breakfast, drinks and snacks. You will find Rembrandt Hotel in the middle of the old city centre of Bucharest. From here you can access the city in all its’ aspects: the wide Paris-style boulevards, the worn down 1920ies modernist architecture, the narrow streets of charming Lipscani and the modern day cosmopolitan life. Being on walking distance from the central Unirii and Universitate squares, the hotel is ideally positioned for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rembrandt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Bucharest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rembrandt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.