We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not restored” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lipscani

Lipscani
Bucharest, Romania
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 91 Attractions in Bucharest
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Neighborhoods, Cultural
Attraction details
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not restored”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Old Town destroyed by carelessness, incompetence and lack of education.Not provide sufficient info to visitors. In the future it can improve. Not romanian specific pubs. Not architecture restored.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    122
    59
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
zurich71
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Muddy and sad in the winter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The general infrastructure of Bucharest is still in bad shape.This is apparent in the winter when sidewalks aren't well-cleaned of snow, could be icy or the holes filled with water and one just cannot cross the streets without getting wet or sprinkled by vehicles. Some of the old houses of Lipscani still carry the signs of communist era negligence and are in need of a face lift.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The part of Bucharest that never sleeps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Here you can find all the cool, lovely places where you can spend some time and party. You can eat great food, you can talk from night till dawn or down till night, or just party.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enchanting walks in Historic Lipscani District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The historic Lipscani District in Old Town Bucharest (in the heart of the city), provides an authentic medieval setting — complete with pedestrian cobbled lanes — that includes stunning baroque, renaissance and neo-classical architecture dating back to medieval times. It is all that remains of a previously vibrant commercial centre (much of which was destroyed during
Ceausescu’s reign).

Long before the official founding of the city of Bucharest in 1459, the Lipscani area was already an important commercial centre. It got its name from the German town of Leipzig, because during the 1600s and 1700s many traders from Leipzig came to sell their wares to the locals and the Turks. Lipscani flourished in the 1600s after Vlad Tepes (the Turk impaler) chose it for his Princely Court.

I wandered the pedestrian cobbled streets, along Strada Smardan, the first street to be completely repaved and renovated. We passed sushi bars, shops, Irish pubs, nightclubs and cafes like the Dutch-owned Grand Café Van Gogh, which according to Lobrano serves awesome coffee. I also also strolled down Stavropoleos Street and discovered an old monastery built in the Brancovenesc style where locals can listen to the Byzantine music of the small choir. The church holds the largest collection of Byzantine music books in Romania. Built in 1724, the Stavropoleos monastery was dedicated to St. Archangels Michael and Gabriel. The name Stavropoleos is a Romanian rendition of a Greek word (Stauropolis), which means “the city of the Cross”.

I ended up in one of Lipscani's best known and popular restaurants, Caru' cu Bere (cart of beer), where I enjoyed an enchanting meal in a cathedral-like setting.

You can read more about my experiences in Bucharest and the Lipscani District on my blog post: http://toulouseletrek.com/1868/the-lipscani-district-of-bucharest/

I'm the cool travel cat!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

lots of places to eat. Its a very cool area in the old center of bucharest. Now that the streets have all been repaired it is much nicer and I spend a lot of time in this area every time I go to Bucharest.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lipscani also viewed

 

Been to Lipscani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lipscani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.