We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a solitaire diamond in Bucharest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romanian Athenaeum (Ateneul Roman)

Romanian Athenaeum (Ateneul Roman)
Str. Franklin 1, Bucharest, Romania
021 315 6875
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 91 Attractions in Bucharest
Type: Architectural Buildings, Concerts, Symphonies, Cultural
Attraction details
Poole
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Like a solitaire diamond in Bucharest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Tickets to concerts are hard to come by but I did manage to take an internal tour during daytime. The interior is stunning and such a contrast to much of the city. It is well worth a visit.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    85
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zephyr
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Venue for the Symphony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Loved the facility, wonderful intimate atmosphere with surroundings of grandeur. Excellent sound quality for the symphony --- attended presentation of works by Beethoven and Brahms. Excellent experience and very reasonable prices for seats.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful building, funded by public donation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I attended a classical music concert one evening while in Bucharest, without knowing anything about the Athenaeum, and was astonished at the beauty of this building. The outside, though lovely (and fronted by a garden), does not indicate how wonderful it is inside, so if you visit try to find a way to attend an event there. The entrance level is quite pretty, with great staircases, but when you ascend them to get to the auditorium, then you can see the inside of the dome. Its decorations fascinated me so much that I spent part of the concert studying what I could see without turning my head. I am glad that world war bombings did not destroy this gem.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great place for Enescu Festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

It is the best place to listen to Enescu Festival classical music performances, which are one of the best in the world. It is a once in a lifetime opportunity to listen to all these masterpieces in a couple of weeks. I have seen 4 performances and I wish now I had purchased more tickets.

Pros: - one of the best places in Bucharest
- cheap opera and classical music tickets
- one of the best acoustics in the world
Cons: - no parking, except the public one

The Athenaeum is situated in one of the best tourist areas in Bucharest, surrounded by great restaurants like La Mama or Trattoria and little shops like Beba Art Gift Shop, it is a magnificent building in the heart of the city. Even though you are not into opera.
The acoustic inside the building is sublime and the inside dome is breathtaking.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A piece of art in the hart of Bucharest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The history of the Romanian Athenaeum is a milestone for the Romanian history.
Close to the Royal Palace, and to the Revolution square, the Romanian Athenaeum is the leading architectural piece for Bucharest. Many other houses and buildings are using elements from this building and are following its architectural tips.

The building is open to visit only during the concert stages and you need previous reservations.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romanian Athenaeum (Ateneul Roman) also viewed

 

Been to Romanian Athenaeum (Ateneul Roman)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romanian Athenaeum (Ateneul Roman), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.