We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cismigiu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cismigiu to your Saves list
Hotel Cismigiu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Regina Elisabeta Blvd., Bucharest 050017, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 161 Hotels in Bucharest
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“really nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

really good, nice hotel. Very clean, modern and bright - staff all very nice friendly and helpful and had good advice on places to go and things to see while there ... would definitely stay there again. The location was ideal for me as was closely within walking distance of the old town - excellent

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your latest stay at Hotel Cismigiu.

Your kind remarks are really rewarding for our entire team.
Thank you for staying with us, and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

Catalin Balan
Front Office Manager
Hotel Cismigiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    24
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
40
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I visited Bucharest for four days just before Christmas. This hotel was a great value (we paid a little over $100 per night) and although it's technically rated a four star, as opposed to a five star, we both found it to be five-star quality for much less money per night than some of the five-star staple hotels in Bucharest. The Hilton, which was cited as the go-to, looked tired and in desperate need of an update. Cismigiu was just renovated in winter 2013 so everything was clean, modern and updated. Our rate included breakfast in the adjacent bar which was actually really good. We were offered eggs and meat to order in addition to a buffet of meats, cereal, fruit, cheese and other stuff like that. The rooms are great -- spacious suites with two TVs and a large, modern bathroom. Only complaint was that it was a little hot and we had to turn the heat waaaay down and open the windows (in December!). But at least you won't be cold. Service was wonderful too. The hotel let us check into our room at 7am after arriving on a red-eye flight. We needed some assistance in talking to a pharmacist to obtain medication and the hotel readily helped. They also booked us a day tour of Transylvania and held two ballet tickets at the front desk for us. Very friendly staff -- even in the bar.

Location couldn't be better for seeing the sights. You're in walking distance to so much and the metro is also nearby (although we didn't use it, preferring to walk). We were both pleasantly surprised by Bucharest. We weren't exactly sure what to expect but were looking for an inexpensive European destination that felt Christmas-y (we live in the Middle East). Bucharest fit the bill for that and we took full advantage of the city's proclivity for performing arts, attending both a symphony orchestra concert and the ballet for a fraction of what we would have paid in the States or western Europe. We found the people friendly and the food delicious and everything a relative bargain. And the Christmas lights were actually really impressive -- a bonus we weren't expecting!

All in all, I think Cismigiu was probably one of the best hotels we've stayed in (and we've stayed at Four Seasons, etc.) and also one of the best value hotels we've stayed in. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Cismigiu!

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments on “Trip Advisor” following your recent stay at Hotel Cismigiu Bucharest.

It was a great pleasure and a delight to go through your comments and we will not miss to share your compliments with entire team on the professional services you received from them.

It is Hotel Cismigiu’s culture to provide a personalized and a caring service to all our guest and your comments will no doubt encourage the team to carry out their services even better.

We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Cismigiu during your next visit to Bucharest, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Your well-being is our concern and we shall provide you our best services at all times.


Sincerely,

Catalin Balan
Front Office Manager
Hotel Cismigiu Bucharest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Traveled to Romania for 5 days (2 in Bucharest). Cismigiu was recommended by a local friend of a friend and was the perfect place for us. Great location and within walking distance to just about everywhere. The hotel exterior has old world charm but inside is modern contemporary. Front desk person was very helpful with restaurants etc.

If I were travel again either business or vacation I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinBalan, Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Mr. Tim,

Thank you so much for your very nice comment.

We were truly delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit to the Hotel Cismigiu.
Kindly know that your appreciation means a lot to all the team.

We will be very pleased to welcoming you back at Hotel Cismigiu in 2014 also.

Yours sincerely,

Catalin Balan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Honestly, this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in Europe. From the hotels I tried in Bucharest, this is the best choice considering the price, quality, location in city center, etc...

The room is actually a small appartment with bathroom, bedroom and living room, too! Everything is nice, modern, clean and working properly. WI-FI is fast, too.

I didn't have time to try the restaurant, not even for breakfast, but it looked nice.
If going to Bucharest city center, I will 100% stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Zimbardo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your latest stay at Hotel Cismigiu.

We were truly delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit to the Hotel Cismigiu.
Our staff takes a great deal of pleasure in making sure that all our guests’ needs are meet and it is hugely rewarding for them to receive a review such as this.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon to our our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Catalin Balan
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This a newly refurbished 4 star hotel, and is exceptional in the comfort of the rooms, most of which are suites. The staff are of the highest quality, and it's central location is perfect for business or leisure. The restaurant and bars of Lipiscani are a short walk away-Madelina on reception recommended Lacrimi sfiniti-it wa so good we went back twice!
There is one downside, which is not really the fault of the hotel. The pleasant bar-like all bars and restaurants in Bucharest-allows smoking. Although there are non smoking areas,these are so close as to mean that at the end of an evening out, if you are a non-smoker, your clothes will smell.
As breakfast is served in the bar, twice my breakfast was spoiled by nearby smokers. Of course,if you are a smoker, this is the city for you!

Room Tip: All are good, but the those at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Cismigiu!

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments on “Trip Advisor” following your recent stay at Hotel Cismigiu Bucharest.

It was a great pleasure and a delight to go through your comments and we will not miss to share your compliments with entire team on the professional services you received from them.

We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Cismigiu during your next visit to Bucharest.

Your well-being is our concern and we shall provide you our best services at all times.


Sincerely,

Catalin Balan
Front Office Manager
Hotel Cismigiu Bucharest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I recommend this hotel as it is really new (January 2013) and very clean. My room had a small living area also, television in both living and bedroom, bathroom absolutely sparkles. Nice breakfast and it is very nice that the restaurant serves food during the evening also. The staff is also very polite.
I will definitely go back to this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Mrs. Roxana,

Thank you so much for your very nice comment.

We were truly delighted to read how much you enjoyed the service as well as the location of the hotel and the food.
Kindly know that your appreciation means a lot to us.
We will be very pleased to welcoming you again at the Hotel Cismigiu.

Yours sincerely,
Catalin Balan
Front Office Manager
Hotel Cismigiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was for the first time in Romania this month, for a week and I stayed in Bucharest for a few nights. My company booked this hotel for me and I must say that they've made the right decision. I was impressed by this hotel, which is recently opened, recently renovated, in an impressive style. The decorations is fantastic! The rooms are amazing: clean, nicely decorated, with a big bed, clean. The breakfast was the best!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Steven,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Hotel Cismigiu during your stay in Bucharest.
Since we are committed to provide you the highest level of customer satisfaction, your feedback is important to us.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Yours sincerely,
Catalin Balan
Front Office Manager
Hotel Cismigiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cismigiu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cismigiu

Address: 38 Regina Elisabeta Blvd., Bucharest 050017, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 161 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cismigiu 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Bucharest, the newly rebuilt Hotel Cismigiu 4*, one century old and one million stories rich, has come to life again. Creating a fantastic ambiance, its design melts heritage and novelty, mixing Art Nouveau architecture with contemporary style. Super chic and elegant, the hotel is just 3 minutes away from the famous bar and terraces of the Historical Center and 20 minutes by taxi from the International Otopeni Airport. Enjoy one of our 60 rooms, suites and fully equipped apartments, designed for your comfort!The hotel also harbours the Gambrinus Restaurant, as well as a decadent roof top terrace, an efficient Business Center with all facilities and a practical underground parking. You can take the cultural pulse of Bucharest in the Old Town, where the hotel is quickly becoming a landmark, as we also host the Cervantes Institute of Spanish Culture. Vive la historia! All our services respect and promote a responsible environmental behavior! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cismigiu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cismigiu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.