We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Romanian food ambassador!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Ceaunu' Crapat

La Ceaunu' Crapat
Thomas Masaryk 7, Bucharest 010403, Romania (Formerly La Ceaunu' Crapat)
+40 730 614 108
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 986 Restaurants in Bucharest
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Romanian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our restaurant offers the most delicious traditional Romanian cuisine. We use only natural ingredients procured from small farmers. If you ever visit Bucharest do not miss the opportunity to taste our recipes passed down from generation to generation.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The best Romanian food ambassador!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

An outstanding food. It is perhaps the only restaurant where you can feel the true taste of traditional products and cooked food. Local staff say that everything is purchased from small local producers and this is reflected in the unique taste of food. It is a culinary delight and I strongly recomend to both Romanians who want to remember the traditional food, but especially foreigners to uncover the true art of Romanian food.
The restaurant staff is friendly and helpful.
If you want to discover or remember the real Romanian food, do not miss this restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    31
    22
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Super tasty romanian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have to admit that the number one place that this restaurant has on trip advisor convinced me to pay a visit. I've made reservation for a family celebration dinner, and we had a very good time. The service is amazing, and the menu selection is very good. I liked that the waiters know to explain every dish and they also speak very good English. I felt like I was on a vacation, there were so many foreign customers in the restaurant. I highly recommend "carne la garnita" !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Neat, tidy and clean. Excellent cuisine, excellent service, good prices. It's THE restaurant to visit when in Bucharest.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The service is good and friendly. The terrace is tiny, the indoor rooms are small and the tables are a bit too close to each others.
I had the lamb (for 55 lei: quite expensive). The taste was good but there was too much fat in the meat and it was hard to separate it. The sauce is also extremely fatty. I replaced the polenta (mamaliga) with a simple green salad and it was charged extra.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a very good dinner there, the service was kind and careful and Alexandra (our waitress) patiently translated in english the whole menu. The food was really tasty

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Ceaunu' Crapat also viewed

Bucharest, Romania
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to La Ceaunu' Crapat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Ceaunu' Crapat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.