We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in the centre of Bucharest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marshal Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marshal Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marshal Garden Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   calea Dorobantilor, no 50B, sect 1, Bucharest 010574, Romania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #17 of 159 hotels in Bucharest
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in the centre of Bucharest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was there for three days; the workshop organisers selected this hotel for the very good meeting facilities. In my humble opinion this hotel should be rated 4* plus rather than 5*, but still is a very good hotel.
The Pros:
- really superb rooms, large enough, confortable and a large bathroom with window (rare!);
- service attentive and efficient;
Normal (very good) for this level:
- value for money (official price is rather at western level, so try the special conditions, then value is very good);
- cleanliness corresponds to status;
Cleaning of clothes is available and efficient.
Internet is free and, when functioning, very quick. One day I experienced falling out in both sleeping room (in the morning) and meeting room (during working day) with two different servers.
Restaurant:
- very good breakfast, superb quality of food in general (Danieli is well known), but
- I was surprized not having the choice of a glass of Prosecco as starter in an Italian restaurant (other than a full bottle) while every 2* pizzeria will have, and to have to pay for some parmigiano cheese extra on my pasta ("the chef's recipe is without, so you have to pay extra", I was told).
Conclusion: I would certainly return for a meeting.
No newspapers available at breakfast, this is a point very easy to improve.

Room Tip: As rooms are located on floors 1 up to 4, try the floors above (better view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshal Garden H, Front Office Manager at Marshal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Mr Didier,
Thank you for taking your precious time to leave us your kind review.
It is our pleasure to have had you as our guest for this meeting withheld in our Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was at your level of expectations, and the rooms were comfortable, and you enjoyed our services.
We do thank you for your comments and as well for all your recommendations. Please be sure that we will take action in all of them and we will improve every single point as well, and at your next stay with us in Danieli Restaurant you will have the choice of a glass of Prosecco as a starter.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best Regards,
Alin Muj
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    24
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
9
4
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

More 4 star than 5 star, but don't let that put you off. Good location near to metro to get you into city centre, walking took us about half an hour at a stroll. Liked the colour changing wash in the corridors. Room was big, light and airy (we had a corner room on 3rd floor). Lovely big bed. Funky decor to room. Very secure to get to rooms as you needed to swipe your room key in lift to activate the lift. Good breakfast selection. Surprised hotel bar was closed at 12pm when we got in looking for a drink. Don't let the first impression of the hotel (down a relatively narrow road access approach) put you off either. Staff were very helpful. Would I stay there again? Yes. Enjoyed out stay. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshal Garden H, Front Office Manager at Marshal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you very much, at the beginning for choosing Marshal Garden Hotel, but specially for taking your time to share your experience and your impressions of your stay at Marshal Garden Hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are really grateful for your kind comment, and please be sure that we have shared your review with all the personnel, so we do thank you for your kind words!
Your well-being is our concern and we shall strive to provide best services at all times, and we will improve as well some services, and you will see that at your next stay with us.
We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Marshal Garden Hotel during your next visit to Bucharest, and please do not hesitate to contact me.
Kindest Regards,
Alin Muj
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Pros: comfy bed, large room, good shower
Cons: annoying automatic light in cupboard which kept switching on and off. Bathroom not particularly private. Service ok, but quite laid back, and certainly not eager to go out of their way to help

Overall it compares to a premier inn/travelodge in the UK and would probably be rated 3*s.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshal Garden H, Front Office Manager at Marshal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Marshal Garden Hotel for your stay in Bucharest and for taking your time to share your thoughts with us.
Your comment regarding the cupboard light was really helpful, which it seems it had a sensor problem, and we repaired it.
Thank you once again for your constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comments have been discussed with the management team and the necessary steps have been taken to ensure that you will feel every single time you are coming the five star experience.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best Regards,
Alin Muj
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

When you walk up to the door of the Marshal Garden, you will see a sign with the name of the hotel and below that, five stars standing confident. I don't know if this was a typo or how the Romanian star system works, but don't be fooled, this is no five star hotel.
I'm not saying it's bad for the 55 euros (for a single room, no breakfast included) it cost me for a stay in August, just that it is no five star.
First with the cons:
- Housekeeping was superficial, to put it nicely. They stayed in the room for no more than 3 minutes (felt like watching an F1 pitstop) and did the very basics (had an ashtray in the balcony that was not cleaned in the 11 days I stayed there)
- On a Saturday night they had a wedding party or something on the fifth floor and the music was deafening 3 storeys down until 2 a.m. with total disregard to their customers
- When asked if I could check out at 4 p.m. instead of 12, I was charged with an additional half day although the hotel was clearly not full.

And the pros:
- Very decent WiFi
- Spacious rooms of the "design" type hotel
- Good and quiet location

Overall, good value for money, but they are trying to sell themselves for something they are not.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshal Garden H, Front Office Manager at Marshal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Mr Valuable Guest,
Thank you for taking off your precious time to review us on Tripadvisor, regarding your recent stay at Marshal Garden Hotel.
All the team members in Marshal Garden Hotel are dedicated to making our guests satisfied and to enjoy their stay.
Along with that we are always trying to improve in every aspect and our customers’ feedback is very important in order to achieve this.
I would like to assure you that we did discuss all your comments with the top management, and we took all necessary measures.
Regarding the late check out, it is international, you do have to pay for it at 16:30 everywhere in the world, and in that day, we had two big events in the evening, occupying all of the rooms.
We like to keep our guests well informed and make their stay as pleasant as possible, so we will make sure that your next stay with us will be a certain pleasant experience, and I am sure that this one was not really mediocre, as you told this to us at your departure.
We do apologize for all the inconveniences that did not make your stay as pleasant as you would want, and we certainly looking forward to welcoming you again at your next stay in Bucharest.
Kind Regards,
Alin Muj
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Hotel staff very professional and enjoy to help
Spacious rooms, good bed, good restaurant, nice rooftop terrace.
It was very convenient to use hotel shuttle services (costs less, gives more comfort and safety than a taxi and you are always in time)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshal Garden H, Front Office Manager at Marshal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Mr Cristi,
We really appreciate and thank you for taking off your precious time to review us on Tripadvisor, regarding your recent stay at Marshal Garden Hotel.
I am glad to read that our team fully managed to fulfill your expectations and that you enjoyed our rooms and service, specially the shuttle service, which offers great value for the money.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Kindest Regards,
Alin Muj
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very good location. Hotel staff very attentive and always there to help. Great terasse on the hotel roof with beautiful view of Bucharest. Restaurant is good and prices are ok for this kind of hotel.
The only improvement they must do is the air conditioning which is not powerful enough in the whole hotel. In the room it will never go below 24 degrees celsius and that only if you keep it ON 24h a day!
Overall, very good hotel to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshal Garden H, Front Office Manager at Marshal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you for taking your time and sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us at Marshal Garden Hotel.
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the view from our beautiful terrace and all our services.
Thank you for your recommendation regarding the air conditioning, we did double check it after your departure, and the chiller was repaired.
We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Best Regards,
Alin Muj
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

First off, let me start by saying, this hotel is very nice, the staff is great, and the rooms are extremely clean, there is a caveat though. The air conditioning never dipped below 25 degrees Celsius, which is very warm, too warm to sleep comfortably for my tastes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshal Garden H, Front Office Manager at Marshal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
We really appreciate and thank you for taking your precious time to review us on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy that your stay with us was comfortable and enjoyable as we always struggle to offer the best services for our guests.
We do apologize for the inconvenience with the airconditiong, as at that time we really did have a problem, and for sure at your next stay with us you won't feel it any more.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Best Regards,
Alin Muj
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marshal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshal Garden Hotel

Address: calea Dorobantilor, no 50B, sect 1, Bucharest 010574, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 159 hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Marshal Garden Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MARSHAL GARDEN HOTEL is a a new built 5* hotel located in Romania, in the heart of the capital city: Bucharest, within an area with important tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marshal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marshal Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.