We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Bucharest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Bucharest to your Saves list
InterContinental Bucharest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Blvd Nicolae Balcescu, Bucharest 010051, Romania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in Bucharest
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good business hotel, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights for business with a nearby vendor. On arrival at about 12:30am, the receptionist noticed that it was my Birthday (the day before!) and wished me a good day. I mentioned that I had just traveled through 3 airports and 2 flights and he was the first person to have noticed. He said that this was a shame but that in honor of my birthday he would send up some champagne to my room. So, about 10 minutes later I was in my room with my colleague drinking champagne - a really nice touch - see the photo of the card. Little things really make a difference to customer service and means I wont forget my stay there!

Room was very clean, perhaps a little dated but in great condition with a large balcony (complete with a low handrail inducing vertigo - see photo) and good choice of TV channels.

We only used the hotel for breakfast but it was good quality; lots of choice, many breads, cereals, fresh fruit and creamy scrambled eggs which are sometimes difficult to find in big chain hotels.

Hotel arranged car service to/from airport and office was reasonable cost and good quality. Drivers were friendly and used large comfortable Mercedes; recommended when temperatures are >35C.

Overall a good choice if in the area for business and probably OK for tourism too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the nice words about your stay at the InterContinental Bucharest. I am very happy that my colleagues really made your birthday a memorable one. It is great to read that.
Thank you for recommending us and thank you for choosing InterContinental for your stay in Bucharest!

Looking forward to your next visit!

Best wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    218
    63
    14
    12
See reviews for
35
95
81
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I still consider this hotel to be the best accommodation option within walking distance to the Old Town area. Great views, with outdoor balcony. Great choices for breakfast in modern restaurant. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, great selection of TV channels, nothing in really a modern 5 star hotel in Bucharest - but as old old style 5 star hotel this place is good. I have a Gold Ambassador membership which give you access to the 'exclusive lounge' with great views and a room upgrade. Check out the prices and see if it is added value for your stay. The small entree meal portions appear smaller than last year in the lounge (just have 2 plates :) ) , the service and standards are still very high. Gym, pool, etc- Are all good additions. There is much cheaper accommodation options in the vicinity, but i prefer to pay the additional to stay here. Staff as always were pleasant and efficient. Located very central in the CBD - no problems about personal safety.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at the InterContinental Bucharest. I am glad to read that our services were to your liking and you had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us.
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Bucharest and thank you for all your recommendations.

Looking forward to your next visit!

Best wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

When I arrived at the InterContinental Bucharest I was happy with the accommodations. I was to take up residence for a little over 2 weeks. I had a big room on one of the top floors, along with a lounge area in my room. Great view of the city and the Palace of Parliament. Old carpet and linens but descent and clean.

I was there about a week and a half when I was asked to move rooms at 1 am. I had worked very late and got back to the hotel around midnight. I went to my room and took a shower and was called around 1am to tell me they needed to move me because the water and electrical we're not working. (Which they both were). I asked to speak to a manager, but for the remainder of the time I was there, he apparently was not to be found. A bellman moved me to a room on a much lower floor with a smaller very uncomfortable bed, no view, no lounge area and the shower didn't work. I called to tell them the shower wouldn't drain and they said they had no other rooms. I had to use the disgusting non draining shower for the rest of the time I was there. Also the secondary lock was not working. Also when I had arrived they said breakfast included in my room. When I was moved to a lower floor that apparently changed too.

The weekend before I left I came down with the flu. I had went out and came back around 4pm. My room had already been cleaned. So I fell asleep thinking I was fine and wouldn't be disturbed. The maid didn't just disturb me but she actually came in my room twice after that even though I had put the DND sign out after the first time. I couldn't lock it so I ended up putting a chair in front. Again...no manager to be found.

The staff was not friendly. Except the bar tender who was really great. It is a convenient hotel but after that stay I will definitely never go back

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the InterContinental Bcuharest. I regret that you had a less than desirable experience with us. I have considered all the observations and addressed them accordingly.I apologise for all the inconveniences experienced.

I do hope you will come back and have enjoyable moments with us.

Best wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maasmechelen, Limburg, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night, friendly, excellent service, clean, nothing bad to say. Breakfast was also ok. For people who want to relax, they have a welness and a nice sky lounge.
Thanks a lot for the upgrade, that was a nice surprise, very nice room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review about your recent stay at the InterContinental Bcuharest. I am happy to read that you found our hotel and services to your liking. Thank you for recommending us as you do.

Looking forward to your next visit!

Al the best,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Location - bang in the center of Bucharest ...right next to the "Romania 0" marker.
Service - was good. One or two people at the front-desk need more training.
I had to call them several times for getting the drainage from my bathroom sink fixed.
Breakfast was excellent
Room Service - Being a vegetarian, i found very very limited options ... The vegetarian curry was good.
Room - was average size ... would have loved it had it been a little bigger.
Bathroom amenities - very good.
Internet speed was okay.
Each room has a balcony, but what is really missed was a chair in the balcony :(
Since the hotel is right in the middle of the city, the view from balcony on the higher floors is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at a higher floor facing towards uniry square. These rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at the InterContinental Bucharest. Thank you for recommending our location. I am happy to read that you had a nice stay with us and you enjoyed the overwhelming view from your balcony. I have noted all your observation to be considered for future actions and to make your next stay a great one.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

All the best,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

A huge reception/lobby. Friendly staff which possess English quite well.
2 restaurants, a good sporting facility (22nd floor) and a nice Bar.
Rooms are well equiped and decorated. The floorcarpet in the rooms and hallway looked like new, spotless! Good working and silent airco. Flatscreen TV. Minibar plus condoms? Standard "Elsafe" big enough for a 13 inch laptop. 2 comfy seats, good bed and a clean/complete bathroom also upto higher standard. All together a very good hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the very good rating you offered to the InterContinental Bucharest and for appreciating our staff skills.
I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel facilities are up to your standards. Your specific mentions about different hotel areas are very valuable for me and my team.
Thank you again for being our guest and for recommending us as you do.
Best wishes,
Stefan Frank
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
1,240 reviews 1,240 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
635 helpful votes 635 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Apx. 6 months after our previous stay at the hotel, we returned for a 2-night stay during a weekend in June.

We were lucky enough to be granted an early check-in at apx 11:00.
Our Club junior suite on the 8th floor was lovely, with two king beds (one in the living room and one in the bedroom).
The room featured a wonderful jacuzzi and HUGE Agraria toiletries (100 cc, which is VERY rare for hotels).
Our welcome gift included a huge bowl of fruits, 2 bottles of water and a bottle of wine.
The only downside to the room was that the door to the balcony and the huge windows were not sound-proof and you could hear each and every car honk and motorcycle pass-by during the night.
The rest of the room features were identical to the room we stayed in during our previous stay.

During this stay, we managed to try out both of the hotel's restaurants, the bar and the Club lounge. They were all very good, and I've written separate reviews on them.

One person truly stood out throughout our stay - the chief concierge, Mr. Catalin Malureanu. First of all, he is as nice in person as he is in the hotel's page welcome video. Secondly - he demonstrated a very high level of professionalism and customer care, and for that - he ought to be commended.

Bottom line - yet another great stay in this lovely hotel.
If travel takes you to Bucharest, make sure to check out this hotel, as you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't settle for anything less than a Club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Bucharest for your second stay in Bucharest and for praising our services, the hotel facilities and the team.
Your feedback regarding the sound-proof balcony doors will be addressed internally, in order to improve our guests’ experience here, in the heart of the city.
I will gladly share your wonderful words with all the team here and I am looking forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Bucharest.
All the best,
Stefan Frank
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bucharest

Address: 4 Blvd Nicolae Balcescu, Bucharest 010051, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#7 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Business Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering above the city skyline, InterContinental Bucharest is one of the city's favourite international high-rise hotels, a distinction owed to its ideal location, fine appointments and impeccable service. Experience the Club InterContinental Lounge on the 21st floor of the hotel for a memorable stay in a relaxing, private and elegant setting designed to fulfil the expectations of the business travellers. Immerse yourself in the beautifully designed pool, with panoramic city vistas on the 22nd floor. Dine at Corso Brasserie, offering a contemporary Romanian menu and glass walls overlooking Bucharest. For a fine dining experience, try the Modigliani Pasta e Carne, one of the top Italian restaurants in Bucharest.The Old City Center, the Romanian Athenaeum Concert Hall and Cismigiu Gardens are just a few minutes away from the hotel. You’re also within walking distance of Bucharest’s business and shopping districts. Start your Bucharest's itinerary with the amazing city view from your room balcony! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Bucharest Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Bucharest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.